We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with good service to good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Save Saved
You added Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #65 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Skogas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with good service to good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good Hotel with good service to good price with a very nice and friendly staff.
Walking distance to the centre of Saigon, but difficult to walk because of the heavy motorcycle traffic and traffic culture.
Nice room.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor room have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    120
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
109
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
L.A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Greeted at the front desk by two of the most genuiely happy people I have ever met on a reception desk. Our room wasn't ready but they invited us to breakfast. You don't get most hotels doing that. This was a great introduction to their cafe/eatery area. There was no coffee facilities in the bedrooms iirc, but you could come down here 24/7 and get a far better one from the machine. As well as the lovely spread of food, eggs were available to order.

We managed to get a topcashback deal when booking so upgraded to the next tier of rooms. We didn't have a view but it was a very spacious room. The bed was very comfortable and both the room and shower area very clean. The only annoying thing was the windows overlooked a small courtyard and noise carried in the early moring. Well, early when you're on holidays.

Staff on reception saved us making the same mistake after our first experience when we dined at night at a nearby resturant on the main street. A few minutes walk away and down a side road is great area full of far more authentic places to eat and full of atomosphere. Thanks team! They also helped us choose a tango show to see (yes, touristy, but hey!)

The main street from the subway is ok, a bit run down, but if you walk one street back it all changes. Much nicer district! You aren't in the centre of town here, but after going to the centre on a Sunday when it was quiet and deserted I'm glad I was here. The train doesn't take long to get to the centre and I would stay here again. Far nicer than just a city chain hotel.

Great laundry service where my clothes came back folded like my mum used to! There is a lovely gym/spa area and a pool but we didn't get a change to use it.

Most impressive was on our last night when booking a very early mornign cab to the ariport they offered to have some breakfast ready for us. This was most appreciated and a lovely way to end the stay. All the staff were brilliant, from the front of house staff to the cleaners who even though they didn't speak English, still made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel early January and booked a Deluxe Twin Room for 3 nights. The room itself is quite spacious, and my mom loved it so much that she insisted on staying at this hotel for our next trip. Location wise, being a Muslim, it was pretty hard for us to get Halal food around but the doorman hailed a taxi for us whenever we wanted to go out. We stayed at the 6th floor, there were no noise, excellent cable tv, small hairdryer, kettle (but no cups) and the bathroom comes with a tub is pretty nice after a day spent wandering around the city. The only downside would be that during breakfast, they served pork/bacon and we had no other choice but to eat only breads/salads/fruits. However, for the price I paid, I'm happy enough with the service and the facilities. Location wise, its pretty far from District 1 but then, everything is a taxi ride away! Vinasun is pretty reliable but we almost got cheated when we got our balance back so it is wise for you to pay for the exact fare stated on the metre. Hope this review helps!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms as they are on higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff of ths hotel are very polite and most helpful, even after check out they provided awesome service by keeping all our luggage safe for the whole day, free of charge!
The room we stayed in was in good condition and very clean, although the bathroom could have used a renovation but that didnt bother us at all. For Vietnam, some might call it pricey, but we only stayed for 1 night and found the cost of 30USD quite OK. Location is great with bars n reataurants in close proximity. The war museum is definetly worth a visit and also in walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors are most often my choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Guest Relations Manager at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we highly appreciated all your comments about our hotel. Your comments will be very helpful for other Tripadvisor travelers who are now considering to choose our hotel for this city staying.
We hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Ms. Tien ( reservation@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have no particular beef with this hotel. It's in a great location, the staff were incredibly friendly and the rooms suited our needs perfectly (although maybe slightly on the small side). But in the end it's just not worth the price you pay for what you get. I'd have to imagine that you're paying a significant amount for the location, but there are other hotels in the area that charge less.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Guest Relations Manager at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your taking time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is wonderful and very detailed, we have certainly noted your positive and negative points so that we can have appropriate actions to make the service better. Concerning hotel room rate, next visit you can check our hotel website to get some special promotions which offer you best rate and best offer. Anyway, thank you for being with us during Ho chi Minh city trip.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Ms. Tien ( reservation@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my south east asia honeymoon tour. This was our third country in and It was actually my first time to visit Vietnam. The hotel staff were really friendly and nice. They welcomed us with a smile and Kevin was very easy to get in contact with through email to confirm bookings etc.

The room was clean and easy wifi access to my iphones and ipads. The laundry service was quick and easy. The booking of tours through the front office was straight forward and you pay at the time of checkout. We did the cu chi tunnel tour 1/2 day which my wife and I enjoyed. The breakfast was also amazing! I think my wife loved the pho in the morning and went for seconds and thirds.

The hotel is located in district 3 so a bit far from district 1 but the location has some great restaurants along the street and there is a convenience store around the corner. To get to district 1 it is a 20-30 min walk or so. pretty easy just exit the hotel.. go along the street until you hit a bakery and turn left and walk all the way until you hit the famous landmarks like war museum, notre dame, ben tranh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for first time travelers to vietnam and I would actually go here again if I visit Vietnam again.

Thank you so much for making our honeymoon trip in vietnam a very safe and enjoyable time.

Dave

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Guest Relations Manager at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We highly appreciate for your kind comment about our hotel. We can honestly say that it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. All of us thank you for your recommendation and take time to share your holiday experience with other Tripadvisor members It is great to hear that you liked our breakfast. Once again, thank you for your high recommendation about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Ms. Tien ( reservation@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The English speaking staff were by far the most helpful and kind we met during our trip staying at 8 different hotels. The room was well equipped and clean.
Our room had windows to the road and like in the rest of Saigon you must expect some noise from the road.
The hotel is locates about 15 minutes walk from the central market.
Our room did not have any carpet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Guest Relations Manager at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we would like to thank all your reviews on here. And there is a lot of things we have to say thank to you more and more. Surely we will improve much in the future, just make your our hotel service will be great for our guest. We hope we could create a specific service with well-training staffs. Everything we do will make our guest feel very special when they arrive our hotel.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Ms. Tien ( reservation@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Thao Hotel is located between Saigon City Center and China Town, two busy areas with full of entertainment, shopping and business centers.More than 40 rooms with our fully luxury amenities and modern design, Thien Thao Hotel is the right place for your both business and leisure purpose.Come to us, you not only enjoy the comfortable and convenience services but also have a feeling of "feel like home" by our friendly and experience staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.