We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Save Saved
You added Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed room 402 for 2 nights 10th and 11th February Service was very good,secure parking for our scooter.Room was at the front,was fine but a bit on the small side. Shower was great,had a mini bar etc. A kettle was supplied with 2 tea bags but no cups.
There is a business across the road at both afternoons played extremly loud music from about 4pm.Annoying.
Breakfast was ok,choice of Vietnamese or eggs.Lots of places to eat close by.The road is very busy and is a two way street for scooters but only one way for cars,which really annoys taxi drivers,they have to go the long way and will try to charge you more.From the airport we paid 160000 for a voucher taxi from the airport., and because he was made to drive further refused to take our suitcases out of the car.
Because we have a scooter in HCMC have never walked far so cannot comment on how easy it would be to walk to the tourist areas.

We left HCMC for 4 days and before leaving booked the same room for when we returned for 2 nights 16th and 17th Feb. When we returned,they had only one room available,even though we booked,and the room was a windowless smaller room on floor one at the back, right near the cleaning staff's HQ, very noisy.We left and found another hotel ,returned and told them we wanted to check out.The desk guy wanted one nights payment,even though we did not get the room we had booked.When my wife,who is Vietnamese mentioned Trip Advisor,he quickly changed his mind and only charged 50% for the cancelled room.I just wonder if my wife did not speak Vietnamese what would have happened?
Be careful when making a booking,we made the booking face to face,internet bookings may be even worse. I was dissapointed that we were mucked around .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Director of Sales at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we apologize for the situation came to you. We were unlucky when made you unhappy, it is our fault. Normally we often ask guest which room they like, window, bathtub, front of view or back of house for their return. But this time, our staff was not enough to take care you about that, so they reserved room in the back of house without your expectation. We are pleased advise that our staffs were discount your room rate to 50% because he received his mistake. After that he tried arrange other room with window as your expect but you reserved other stay. We were unfortunate enough to lose your happiness and will do not reiterate this situation in future. Otherwise, we thank your comments very much and hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Best regards,

Kevin Nguyen ( sales@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    120
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
107
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Erbil, Iraq
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

we stayed in the front suite of the hotel on the 7th floor and although the room is bright and clean the floors are disgusting ,the bathroom is large and the surfaces are clean but the lack of a clean carpet really does spoil the whole effect . we stayed here for 5 nights and found the location awful , if you want to walk into the city it is a good hour away , we are the walking type of people who like to mix with locals and see the "real vietnam " oh dear ... the pavements are the parking lots for all the motorbikes and as they use the space to also ride along , not the safest place in the world , a taxi from the hotel takes about 10 mins and costs about 50.000 dong . (taxi to airport is about 150.000 dong)
the smell of urine is also very strong in alot of places around the city

the breakfast is fine , although it would really help if the staff smiled , as with the rest of vietnam nobody smiles or welcomes you to anything .
there are a few good food options close to the hotel but they envolve crossing the streets so not so easy . i took the "mulan " granmother approach in the end , just dont look and keep walking .
the best coffee -in my opinion can be had by going to the junction of cao thang and 3 thang 2 , not to far away , the place is easy to spot as it has a large pot outside and the music is making the cups jump ! (28.000 dong per cup ) another good place for food is ao coffee on dien bien phu (only need to cross over the road and walk around the corner a bit ) the food selection and taste is very good and the coffee shake is wonderful .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Director of Sales at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we highly appreciated your reviews on here. We are planning to remove this carpet next month because last few months we had high occupancy. We knew that we could get problem if guest feel not happy with our three years carpet in room 701. But unfortunately we have no enough time to do it early than your arrival. We thought if we did not finish before your arrival we will get complaint from you. About Ho Chi Minh city street, it is crowed same with your opinions on here. Surely you could not walk properly even close or far from center. Almost world travelers felt tired if they tried to walk in this city, a lot of traffic, motorbike look like to cover you all the time. So the best way to reach somewhere you like, use a taxi. Otherwise, we saw you are happy with our hotel staffs, food and dining around, it is a target we would like to offer our lovely guests. We would like to make you happy, enjoyable in our hotel and explore specific lifestyle in this city which you never see around the world. Surely, if you come back to stay with us in the same room next time, you will see how we doing well than.
Hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Best regards

Kevin Nguyen(sales@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very nice staff and the rooms beautifull .
We'll come back soon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Clean, small and professionaly run! Rooms are kind of small but with good bed and nice flat screen. We were first directed to rooms 201/202. Right at the front of the street which it could be a little noise and didn't like the smoking sme, bell man kindly called front desk and they moved us to 203/204(not connected but ok).
Mr Kevin was very kind and awarded us with free pick-up at the airport. Simple breakfast but ok, too! Not at the frenzy area, but for a small amount you can have a taxi arranged within 10 minute ride!

Room Tip: The higher the better! 204 big king size bed and 203 no window room, but ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the thien thao in early january, 2012. when we arrived we discovered that our room was not available due to an air conditioning problem and that they had made arrangements for us to stay at a different hotel (boss hotel) for the first night. the staff apologized profusely and promised that we would be shifted to a room at the thien thao the next morning. when we arrived the next day, they had upgraded our room to a suite and knowing that it was our honeymoon, they had scattered our room with rose petals and even delivered a cake to our room. the service was excellent and the staff were very helpful. it definitely made up for the room mix up on the first night. the room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable (for asia). the only downside is that the location is not the greatest and the guest staying in the room next door decided that smoking in the hallway was an acceptable practice, and so our room smelled of smoke periodically. overall a nice stay in ho chi minh city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My friend and I arrived at Thien Thao shortly after midnight. Regardless of the ungodly hour, the lady at the reception still wore a smile and warmly welcomed us. The hotel itself is just a 10-minute walk away from the center and is very unassuming. It instantly won points for its cleanliness and friendliness of staff. Plus all of them--from the waiters to housekeeping--spoke good English. Our room did not disappoint and had everything we expected--from the cold A/C, strong shower with hot water, crisp bed linen and LCD TV. Included in the room rate was breakfast which offered delicious Vietnamese favorites as well as various Western dishes. WiFi in the lobby and in our room was incredibly fast. Perhaps the nicest touch was the helpfulness and attentiveness of the front desk staff who made arrangements for our onward journey to Cambodia--we just gave them the dates and they took care of the rest! Overall a very quaint hotel with a personal touch at fantastic value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 205 faces the back street and is very quiet; only one small stained glass window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at Thien Thao Hotel after re entering Ho Chi Minh City after a side trip to Bangkok. As we previously stayed in District 1 we thought we would stay in a different area.
Our front room was very spacious with a king size bed, TV, wifi, small fridge plus a generous seating area. The bathroom was large clean with toiletries supplied. Breakfast is included in the room rate.The staff were very pleasant and spoke good English.
Although we did not stay long, our room size in Thien Thao Hotel would be an excellent base for an extended stay in Ho Chi Minh City.
A great attraction of this hotel is the room rate, extremely reasonable for its features and location. Although, not in District 1 there is a bus stop close by with bus number 2 bus going the short distance to Ben Thanh Market and the centre of the city ( cost approx. 20c ).Taxi is also available at the door.

Room Tip: Room 601 was very spacious and although at the front of the Hotel the noise was not a problem. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Thao Hotel is located between Saigon City Center and China Town, two busy areas with full of entertainment, shopping and business centers.More than 40 rooms with our fully luxury amenities and modern design, Thien Thao Hotel is the right place for your both business and leisure purpose.Come to us, you not only enjoy the comfortable and convenience services but also have a feeling of "feel like home" by our friendly and experience staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.