We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, good location& great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elegant Inn to your Saves list
Elegant Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, good location& great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff and good value for money. We had an amazing time at the Elegent Inn "was Xuan Mai before". Service and staff were so warm, welcoming and helpful..Breakfast was basic included on the four floor with lovely view. Room was clean everyday by very friendly maid. Location was an ideal 5 min walk from everything you need. The staff even let us late check out until 2pm and weren't charged for it. For this price bracket in Vietnam, you can't get much better than this! We wished we had more time to stay in this place.

Highly recommend and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    160
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
185
63
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It seems the hotel has undergone a renaming and new management, but this hotel is truly a great value. I had an extended vacation, and stayed here over a month and a half (They were very willing to work with me on pricing for my extended stay which is a plus).

The management team was very helpful, and even personally guided me on a tour to Vung Tau for an overnight stay and city crawl. The service team was very kind and accommodating and able to communicate well in English. The hotel is conveniently located in the backpacker area, which can be a bit touristy, but as a visitor that may be more comfortable and much easier to transition towards. Room service was very efficient and clean, even on days where I only left the room for a few hours, I would always find things clean by the time I returned.

The only downside I can think of is the rooster that stayed next door for a little while, and woke me up a bit earlier than I would have liked a few days... But I suppose that is not necessarily something they could control, and after a few days it stopped (possibly because that bird was cooked into a delicious meal.)

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for those seeking a good value with a clean and quiet atmosphere, convenient location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, had a spacious room that was kept very clean with beds made and fresh linen everyday. The owner Ms Nang and her family were very very kind and helpful with everything and spoke very good English. We organized our tours and transfers through the hotel also which made life very easy. Was nice to stay at such a friendly, honest place. The location was also very good it is in the backpackers district. Another bonus was the free breakfast of eggs, bread and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hi, the owner is lovely and really helpful. Breakfast of fruit, bread and coffee was nice enough, but when we were there it was super quiet and really not a place to meet other travellers. maybe if there had been other people eating breakfast at the same time as us, we might have got talking, but it's more of a clean, functional place than a groovy, cute hangout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bretagne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Xuan Mai Hotel is a simple hotel in the centre of Hochimin city
The old women who manage the hotel is very helpful and kind
Room are simple but clean
Breakfast is the minimum you can found in Vietnam but for the price it is ok.
So a good hotel for two o three days , during you visit of Hochimin city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohol, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in Xuan Mai Hotel with my family a couple of weeks ago and this hotel is truly a gem in Ho Chi Minh City. Rooms are superbly clean and spacious and the location is just within the backpackers’ area. But what makes this hotel soaring above the rest is the exceptional service provided by the lovely Mrs. Nang and her staff ensuring our comfort when we were inside the hotel and our safety whenever we were out. The city tour arranged by Mrs. Nang was very affordable and fantastic. Our visit to Vietnam could not have been more memorable had we missed to select Xuan Mai Hotel. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A basic, but clean and well located hotel for seeing the City. Family run, well organised and able to sort out anything you need for reasonable cost. Very helpful staff and the breakfast Pho is the best start to the day.

Room Tip: Across the road is a soft drinks and ice cream shop. Great place to get 6 ice cold tonic tins for £1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.