We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elegant Inn to your Saves list
Elegant Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed in May 2011 and took my daughter back in July 2011, I walked in and was greeted warmly hugged by the ladies it was so beautiful, this is a spotlessly clean hotel, the staff are the most helpful and it takes the stress out of HCMC. If you want tours they organize everything. I could never say enough to advise what a great spot this is, close to the action but not in it so no noise. Food massages shopping all right there. Should be no 1 in HCMC. Thanks Duc, Nang, Nghia, Hue, Hoa, Son,Hoc you made mine and my daughter Jo's trip great. Dont forget Im sending my niece Nicole to stay with you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    160
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
188
63
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We are extremely delighted with this hotel. It feels ike we have a family in Ho Chi Minh. One time, Duc offered their umbrella when it was raining. We returned them at once because the rain stopped after a few minutes. When we booked a tour with them, they hired a taxi at their own expense so that we would not walk to the tour agent office which was the assembly place. I stayed with my mother and my daughter. We returned only yesterday and I couldnt wait to write my review. The room is immaculately cleam with bathroom amenities and free bottled water. The staff were all smiling and willing to give suggestions so that we would enjoy our stay. This hotel is highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a place to stay during our one month CELTA course at ILA. We looked at about 5 other hotels, and we didn't find any other place that greeted us as warmly at Ngoc at Xuan Mai.

Ngoc and Duc (the owners) have such a warmth about them. They genuinely care about all of their guests and make you feel like family.

All of the staff at Xuan Mai are exceptional. If we ever needed anything they went out of their way to help us. One day I was sick with minor gastro. When one of the staff found out, and realised that I hadn’t eaten any breakfast, she insisted on going to buy some rice soup for me, and when she couldn't find any, she made some for me herself with a cup of herbal tea. It was perfect and just what I needed. So lovely!

The rooms are reasonably priced and the accommodation is comfortable and basic. It’s a great place to stay if you want a convenient location, comfortable living at an affordable price. The bed was comfy, the air con worked well, TV with cable and DVD players are available to hire at request, daily room service including 2 small bottles of water a day and breakfast is included. There are 3 different choices at breakfast, Pho, American and Vietnamese pancakes (its tasty but don't expect any resemblance to the pancakes you’re thinking of), tropical fruit to start and tea or coffee (hot or iced).

When we left for a 2 week trip to Hanoi they looked after our bags and then we stayed with them for 2 weeks again until we found a more permanent place to stay. We were sad to say goodbye.

Room Tip: You are able to view the rooms before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Have stayed here 3 times (in the 8 years I have been travelling to Vietnam) now and is the best place for less than $25 / night.
Nothing is a problem for them
They all speak fluent english, even the cleaner which is very very rare and makes your stay so much more comfortable.
The rooms are immaculate too.
Great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Xuan Mai for 6 nights in March. We had stayed here for a few days in December, as well. It is a simple hotel but is very clean, well located and run by some of the nicest folks we met during our 6 months in SE Asia. Some of the staff have very limited English but they always welcomed us with a warm smile and a hello. They went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast isn't great but it is absolutely fine. The hotel is just around the corner from the heart of the backpackers area and, as a result, there is easy access to restaurants, shopping, and tour companies. The rooms are a bit noisy but we didn't find that a big problem. The internet in the lobby works well and is free. It's great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

very convenient location for the old town and back packer district. breakfast cooked to order on the roof terrace is served with a smile and a mug of good english tea! Air conditioning can be a bit hit and miss. Big clean bathrooms and comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Staff were lovely, rooms large and clean, tv, sink, bathroom with large bath and one double bed and one single with two of us staying in the room - the young lad who worked on reception continuously had a smile! I had no hair dryer in my room so popped down and asked for one and one was bought up to my room. We also had a flight at 11pm and paid half the money for a room to have a shower in and rest until we were picked up (by a crazy taxi driver - I must warn they like the sound of the hooter in the car). We came back late from a night out to the hotel all shuttered up but someone came and let us in who was sleeping in the lobby waiting for us! Lovely hotel and like I mentioned in the title don't let the outside turn you off! Also if your craving some pub grub go to Bernies Bar and Grill - we went on a Friday night with a live band - they were brilliant and food lovely - also free beer with every burger!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.