We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel to finish your holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Hai Long Hotel 3

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tan Hai Long Hotel 3 to your Saves list
Tan Hai Long Hotel 3
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Ho Tung Mau St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel to finish your holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was in ideal location facing the Financial tower, nearby to restaurants and bars. The breakfast was standard with no surprises. Wi-Fi was a bit hit and miss and would need to be sorted out with reception. The drop off to the airport was hassle free and perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    142
    39
    8
    14
See reviews for
25
79
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I booked this hotel through internet. That was a lucky strike. The location was perfect in the center of town. 150 m and it was anm water. Service and friendliness, SUPERIOR. Clean rooms, eingerrichtet new. 10 points for all staff. Again and again. Thanks,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in Jan. and had a great experience. We arrived very late, past 1am so we were ready for a good nights sleep. We informed ahead of time about our late arrival and when we showed up they had all our information already pulled up. Check-in was quick and easy, we had an upgraded room which was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful and had no problems giving us suggestions on where to eat and directions to local attractions. Breakfast was good, we went towards the end of service hours and there was still plenty of food options: typical noodles, rice, and vegetables, as well as cereal, toast and breakfast rolls. The only thing to be aware of is the hot water seemed limited so take quick showers.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Tan Hi Long 3, a fantastic hotel, was clean and tidy perfect location to all attraction’s, including BenThang Markets, river cruises, shopping
Precincts, bars and restaurants, and it’s just around the corner from a street food type food court which was excellent and very cost effective
The rooms are very stylish, clean and very comfortable; the staff are great helpful and very friendly, upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite room for a small cost which we were happy to pay the extra $10US and upon returning to stay for 4 nights post our Mekong Delta trip our upgrade was free. Their sister hotel had a 40% discount on a day spa option which we gladly took up and it was sensational experience this was offered to us on checking in. The breakfasts had a good selection of fresh food and varied daily
We really enjoy staying here and would gladly recommend to those looking to stay in Saigon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I cannot emphasis how big Ho Chi Minh City is, and the fact that as a company who like to wander and get lost in the city, it was always good to get our bearings when we have something like the skydeck building as the compass.

I have to recomed the street food market at the corner towards the river.

As for the stay, I would say that it was decent, breakfast was satisfactory, however not amazing. Staff was very kept to self, which can be a good thing.

Negatives:

- Wouldnt recomend for familys as street noise on weekends can be rather loud. Would book on higher floors.

- No aircon hallways, if things like that matter to you.

Positives:

- Rooms we clean and kept that way, and beds were comfy as exactly seen in pics.
- Location suited my demographic, e.g. next to bottle shop and a convieniance store, again this may not suit everyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that my family and I did NOT expect 5 star accommodations for a 3 star price. We were fully prepared for an outdated room, occasional bugs due to the tropical climate in Vietnam, and bellhops who don't smile. As long as the room is clean, area is safe and the service staff somewhat friendly that's perfect for us.

However, my family and I checked out after only 3 days even though we had intended to stay for 2 weeks. (We ended up at Tan My Dinh, which was a great experience.) Our reasons for leaving were:

1) ANTS! We were shuffled in and out of 3 different rooms on the 7th floor (we only booked 2) and each one had ants running all over the writing desk and walls.

2) HORRIBLE reservation service. We had pre-paid for 2 Premium Deluxe rooms, but upon arrival was told that those rooms were sold out, so we would be upgraded to Suites. Fine. However, the next day we were moved to a Deluxe room (lower rate than a Premium Deluxe) because all the Premium Deluxe rooms were sold out. And, we would have to pay $9 extra to keep the Suite.

Needless to say, it was a frustrating conversation. After we left the counter, the guest behind me received the same speech. They would upgrade him for free then move him around when a Deluxe room becomes available.

3) Hallways are NOT air-conditioned, which probably contributed to the horrible ants problem.

4) Passports are NOT in a locked box. You're asked to surrender your passport upon check-in to deter guests from leaving without paying, which we were okay with. However, we soon found out that the passports were placed in a drawer that is unlocked and easily accessible by anyone. BIG SECURITY RISK!

5) Dirty towels. We came back from a long day of roaming the city and found that housekeeping did not provide us with bath towels. Fine. We called the front desk and a bellhop brought up two towels, but they were dirty, damp and one had what appeared to be a blood stain.

Another reason why we left, but was not a result of the hotel is the location. The hotel is across the street from Bitexco, but that's about it. Ben Thanh Market is a 15-20 minute walk away, which is not a problem until you realize that crossing the street is a real life game of Frogger. This is NOT an ideal place for families with young children or the elderly that want to explore the area on foot.

Some good points about this hotel are:

1) Breakfast is complimentary and they offer a decent assortment, including pho.

2) Wait staff is very friendly. They'll help cook your meals and clear your table quickly.

3) Bellhop is quick to help with your bags.

Overall, I wish we had the same experience as other guests who stayed here. I highly recommend Tan My Dinh, which is similarly priced.

Room Tip: If you're at a hotel and on the fence about booking, ask for a tour of their rooms. We vetted a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A great location next to the Bitexco tower (makes it easy to find always!), and accessible to many of the HCMC attractions. Staff were helpful and friendly, it was our first experience of accommodation in Vietnam on arrival and was positive. Good breakfasts with a selection of local and western food, clean and well-sized rooms and en suites. Value not as good as some other hotels we stayed in subsequently, but still good given its location, service and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are larger and less susceptible to noise from people moving in passages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan Hai Long Hotel 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hai Long Hotel 3

Address: 65 Ho Tung Mau St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tan Hai Long Hotel 3 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tan Hai Long Hotel 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Hai Long Hotel 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.