We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Northern Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Northern Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice place to stay - pleasant staff and good rooms.

This place was recommended to me and I found their advice correct. It is well located. We enjoyed HCMC though it is not a place you want to stay for a long time.

Will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Michelle F,
Good morning from sunny Saigon!
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding Northern Hotel. Our team always looks forward to every comment submitted by our guests. A lovely comment like this is catalyst to continuous improvement of the delivery of our products and services.
Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us. We hope you can visit Northern Hotel Saigon again in the not so distant future.
Kindly let me know if I would be of your any further assistance.
With my best personal regards,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    141
    61
    13
    1
See reviews for
24
79
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found the hotel quite luxurious. The family suite was enormous, very clean and quiet. Good value for money. The only problems we encountered was the lack of interest shown to guests by staff. Our only stay in Vietnam where hospitality was lacking. Breakfast was lovely. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Robyn R,
Xin Chao!
Thank you very much for your great comment about our Northern Hotel Saigon on Tripadvisor, extremely room, location and buffet breakfast, I will surely share with all my staffs on next meeting, lovely comment like this is a great motivation for us to continue offering the excellent service as we are always focusing on.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please feel free to email personally and we shall assure your booking is all in good order.
Best regards,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice hotel. Not far from anything. Staff terrific. Manager, Mr Thanh, very pleasant and friendly. My friend had stayed there a number of times on business trips and he is pretty fussy. Room always clean. Would go back everytime.

Room Tip: End room looking towards river best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Richmojp,
Xin chao!
Warmest greetings from Northern Hotel Saigon!
My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel for your recent trip in Ho Chi Minh City. I am more than happy to hear that the hotel looked after all your expectation, and your comments in regards to our staffs and nice room. It is certainly our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.
Once again, I thank you very much for staying with us and your comment on Tripadvisor. We would be pleasant to welcome you back here when visiting to Ho Chi Minh City in the near future.
Best regards,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Arrival at the hotel is encouraging reception seems effective first. The rooms are cramped against poorly soundproofed and construction is 4 meters from the window. It will take several intervention for connection to the Internet and the best solution is to go to reception to utillisier one of three positions available to guests. The bedding is good. The breakfast is served in a room resembling a refectory without comfort, the furniture is basic. By against the terrace bar is nice and gives a good view over Saigon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Daniel P,
Xin chao!
My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel Saigon for your trip in Ho Chi Minh City.
I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our room, buffet breakfast and staffs, it is surely our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please feel free to email personally and we shall assure your booking is all in good order
With best personal regards,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The rooms on the 11th floor are very quiet. A plus point. Unfortunately the rooms are very old and shows many signs of wear and tear. Shower head stand semi broken, Bathtub shower water is inconsistent throughout. Hot and cold at irregular intervals.

Housekeeping is average but sloppy at times.

Buffer breakfast at restaurant was limited but acceptable quality. No egg live station, which many saigon hotels have/.

Most of reception & service staff were polite & friendly, except for 1 nosy bellboy, who ask me inappropriate and rude questions.

(In Saigon, its best to avoid talking to the bellboy at all. Most of them are always with preying eyes, especially on pretty women).

Room Tip: High floor, if you love quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lorenzsingapore,
Xin chao!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Northern Hotel Saigon. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations but please rest assured that your constructive feedback is very important to us.
My valued guest, please be aware that the Hotel has it egg station as located in the kitchen to hide it smelt, we just show the sample on buffet line, and guest will order for personal serving, let’s try it for your next stay 
Regarding to bellboy staff, I will take action for next management meeting, they would be warned in working behavior.
Hence, I am happy that the Hotel location and reception staff could find you well.
Hopefully you will give us another chance next time you are visiting Ho Chi Minh City and please do not hesitate to let me know if I can assist in any way.
Yours sincerely,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

northern hotel is our one night stay. The rooms are slightly small but top class finishes. Bed was very firm and comfortable. Bathroom compact but classy finishes. Front desk and services all well refined. Would recommend to a friend. We stayed at start of tour, so did not have a lot time use facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms appointed well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear k247,
Xin chao!
My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel Saigon for your trip in Ho Chi Minh City.
I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our room and staffs, it is surely our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon and please feel free to email personally and we shall ensure your booking is all in good order

Best regards
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a suite following a free upgrade.

Suite was very spacious with a nice view over the city from the 7th floor.

Staff were spot on and wifi was fast and reliable. Breakfast in the morning was very good for a 3 star hotel.

Location was also very good, with many good restaurants and bars only a short walk away.

No issues with smoking or the air con as mentioned in other reviews.

We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear RiciB,

Xin chao!
My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel Saigon for your recent holiday in Ho Chi Minh City.
I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your lovely comments in regards to our staffs, location, room and breakfast…etc, it is our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon and please feel free to email personally and we shall ensure your booking is all in good order

With my personal regards,
Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel Saigon

Address: 11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saigon’s central business district, we are just a short walk from the major entertainment and shopping districts including Opera House, War Remnants, Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office… Take a stroll and explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northern Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.