We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Northern Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Northern Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and loved it! The hotel is in a great location, only 20-25 mins from the airport, and within easy walking distance of many of the city centre attractions. The staff were really friendly and despite a small mix up with the room on their part, everything went smoothly. They didnt have any problems confirming our trips we had pre-booked with Viator, or calling us a meter-taxi, which seemed to be a popular scam whilst we were in Vietnam and Thailand, where hotels would only offer a set price to/from the airport with a chosen provider (at roughly double the cost of a meter-taxi) and woudn't call a different one for you. The staff here were more than happy to call whoever we wanted to use however.

Breakfast was good with a huge selection of fresh vietnamese and western foods. We stayed in one of the suites, with jacuzzi and super-king bed, which was definately worth the extra £7-8 per night over the standard rooms. Would definately reccomend to anyone who wants a comfortable place to stay after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Chris_soc85,

Xin chao!

My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel for your recent holiday in Ho Chi Minh City.

I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our staffs, good location, room facilities and breakfast, it is surely our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.

Whenever you travel to Saigon, we would like you to consider returning stay at Northern Hotel. We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.

With warmest regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    141
    61
    13
    1
See reviews for
24
79
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Northern Hotel for 4 nights recently and had no problems to mention. The rooms were large, very clean, and well appointed. The staff were friendly, very helpful and keen to please, and of course appreciative of any tips. Breakfast was plentiful, both Western and Asian fare available. The location was good and central to shops and eating places and a 15 minute walk to the market, and attractions. At night the street is a little dark but felt quite safe. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jenny F,

Xin chao!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and tips regarding your recent stayed at Northern Hotel Saigon on TripAdvisor, it is highly appreciated!

We are glad to know that you satisfied with our room, location and services standard from our staffs.

Should you visit Ho Chi Minh City again in the coming time, we are more than happy to welcome you back to Northern once again

Wishes you and family a health and happiness!

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were attending an Army reunion and spent two separate stays in this Hotel. On both occasions, the rooms were very good with an in-room safe, wifi, Refrigerator, mini bar, and the toiletries in the bathroom were excellent and replaced as we used them. There are two restaurants and two bars, one a roof top type. There is a tour desk, gymnasium, currency exchange and room service available with computer access in the foyer. The staff were excellent, going out of their way to be polite, helpful and pleasant on all occasions. It is a short walk from many of the major sights in the City, and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Graham074,

First of all, thank you very much for selecting the Northern Hotel Saigon as your choice of accommodation while visiting Ho Chi Minh City. Thanks a lot for sharing such a nice review to support all those good reviews on TripAdvisor website.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and satisfied with our room, in-room amenities, restaurant, location, and of course – the services from our staffs.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and your positive comments on your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was in district 1 in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. It was within walking distance of most tourist attractions. The hotel was clean. Our room was spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear David_judymynott,

Xin chao!

My Team joins me in thanking you for choosing the Northern Hotel for your recent trip in Saigon

We are happy to note that you appreciated our facilities and services. It is our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor and should you have any plans to return to Saigon, please do let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Yours sincerely,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely enjoyed my stay here. Just wonderful and excellent value for money.
Beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. Really liked the nice quiet location
and proximity to great restaurants and other facilities. Can highly recommend it

Room Tip: Go for the suite for the tiny bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Fender202,

Xin chao!

Warmest greetings from sunny Saigon.

Thank you very much for your kind review and it is always great to receive a positive feedback.

I also would like to thank you for your nice comments regarding our room facilities, restaurant and the Hotel location.

I have shared your review with all employees and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we continuously try to improve our level of service.

If you ever have any chance to come back to Saigon please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Thank you again and best regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a total of 4 nights. This was booked by our travel agent who assured me it was a good hotel. If I had been doing the booking myself I probably would have glossed over it. However it turned out to be a good choice. It is on the smaller side but has everything you will need, no pool if you want to swim. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel is very well located to the whole range of shopping experiences. The staff are obliging and keen to practice their English skills as they have mostly Asian guests. Breakfast was included and was quite good, but give the coffee a miss, or water down considerably. The little extra things are missing from this hotel but this is reflected in the price. All in all a good experience. No problems with paying by credit card as in another review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Norah_10,

Xin chao!

My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel for your recent holiday in Ho Chi Minh City.

I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our staffs, good location, room facilities…etc, it is our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon and please feel free to email personally and we shall ensure your booking is all in good order.

With warmest regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Stay here 3 nights, booked by our travel as part of our 4 day Ho Chi Min tour package.
Very nice hotel, clean spacious room, close to the port and other high end hotels. Tea & Nescafé 3 in 1 coffee sachets provided in room. Our booking includes free buffet breakfast, good selection of food. Hotel has free wifi.
There use to be cheap local eats on this side of town, but they disappeared, you now have to go to Binh Thanh markets and beyond to get to them, especially late into the night.

Taxi is cheap to get around the city.
Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear MRY01,

Good afternoon from sunny Saigon!

Thank you very much for staying at Northern Hotel, it is highly appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to read your review of our hotel, especially your comments about our location, facilities, and buffet breakfast at Melody restaurant. Your review has already been translated and posted on our staff notice board and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us.

Thank you again and if you have a chance to come back to Ho Chi Minh City, please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel Saigon

Address: 11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saigon’s central business district, we are just a short walk from the major entertainment and shopping districts including Opera House, War Remnants, Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office… Take a stroll and explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northern Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.