We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel- only one issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Hotel Saigon

Save Saved
You added Northern Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel- only one issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Northern Hotel for three nights in a Deluxe Northern Suite, which was spacious and lovely. The hotel is in a fantastic area, walking distance to shops, restaurants and sights. The only issue we had with the hotel was around payment and using a credit card. We asked if we could pay in cash at the end of our stay and our credit card was scanned as security in case payment was not made. When we checked our account the amount owing plus more (a security deposit) was 'pending'. At the end of our stay we were told the amount pending would be refunded in two weeks yet we had already paid in cash. We are unable to access this money now for two weeks. I would think twice about handing my credit card over again. A frustrating end to our lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Bec i,

Xin chao!

Thank you very much for taking time to post your nice comment on Tripadvisor, it is highly appreciated!

I am very glad that you enjoyed your lovely trip with us and you also have been able to relax and experience our cozy Northern Suite. Besides, we are more than happy to hear that your overall stay with us was satisfactory.

My valued guest, for the issue of your credit card, kindly understand us due to this is our bank owner policy. When the Hotel verify guest’s card, the bank will keep this amount for at least for 2 weeks (in some case, it keeps for 3 or 4 weeks, depend on what kind of credit card and the oversea banks), and this regulation should be applied for all hotel and resort in Vietnam at the moment. I have double checked with our bank this morning, so please do not worry for the verified amount, it will be released and back to your account soon.

Once again, we thank you very much for staying with us, and look forward to have a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    135
    53
    13
    1
See reviews for
23
77
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Location is great and staff attentive but not quite warm, essentially I think because it is fundamentally a businessman's hotel and it has more of a professional, less tourist focus.
The aircon didn't work our first night and the staff dealt with it very well by upgrading our room as an apology.
It's not ultra luxurious and wouldn't recommend it for somewhere special, but its beige/brown 70s charm and helpful staff, make it somewhere I'd recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear EFK2012,

Xin chao!

Thank you for your message here on Trip Advisor and your positive comments in general, we really appreciate.

For the staff matter, we will have our weekly meeting to go over these and giving best solution to improve our service, as our team always strive to treat guests in professional way, nevertheless, we have to make it more tourism like you mentioned.

Please let me know when you are back in town, and if you give us a second chance, we shall show you what we are reaching a perfect choice hotel in heart of Saigon.

With best regards and grateful thanks for your recommendation.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Currently staying at this hotel (2nd night of 3 night stay) - seems to be mainly business people here. Staff are helpful when asked. Breakfast buffet is mainly asian foods and lots of fried stuff, but al a carte eggs can be ordered, so something for everyone. Our 1st room was a smoking room so we asked to be moved for our second night due to smell, and staff obliged. We did mention it was our honeymoon but didn't receive any acknowledgement - however for location and price I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Chicadee79,

My Team joins me in thanking you for choosing the Northern Hotel Saigon for your honeymoon.

We are happy to note that you appreciated our facilities and services. It is our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a Comfortable and memorable stay with us.

My friend, regarding to your vacation, please be aware that all of guests stay with us for their honeymoon trip, the Hotel will appreciate by giving a sparkling wine to enjoy the sweet accommodation. If you are still in the Hotel, please feel free to contact us for our lovely gift.

I do hope you and your husband will have a great memory in Saigon.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in the Northern Suite for 4 nights. Room was large and well appointed. Clean with good service however the restaurant is expensive. No hesitation in recommending!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Affie85,

Good afternoon from Northern Hotel Saigon!

Thank you very much for your review and I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with our comfortable Suite. We have in the meantime updated our Main Menu and also introduced a wider variety on local and international food with a reasonable price.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Northern again for enjoying your accommodation and food & beverage in the near future.

Kindly let me know if I would be of your any further assistance

Sincerely yours,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights and had two rooms one for us and one for our daughter traveling with a 9 month old baby. The staff went beyond their normal duties to make life easy for us even taking the baby whilst we had breakfast. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the food enjoyable. The beds offered a good nights sleep as the hotel is a little off the beaten track in District 1 and so not so noisy, but still close enough to be able to get around and enjoy the sights. With so many hotels in HCMC you are not lost for choice in any price range. This hotel is good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Ceejaybeeaust,

Warmest greetings from Northern Hotel Saigon.

It gives me great pleasure to read your review of our hotel, especially your comments about our staff. We always strive to exceed customer expectations and this would not be possible without the dedication of our employees. Your positive feedback has already been translated and put up at our staff notice board and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us to improve our services even more.

Thank you again and if you have a chance to come back to Ho Chi Minh City, please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Best regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Northern Hotel rated a 3 star property offers superior quality to what I would normally expect from such a rating. The location is convenient being just a couple of hundred metres from the Sheraton , the Caravelle , just around the corner from the excellent Annam Gourmet Market, and within easy walking distance of some excellent restaurants and shops. ( However it can get a little seedy around this area at night ).

The hotel rooms are of reasonable size with quality fittings and modern design features, a comfy bed and good sized marble bathroom. We stayed in the superior and the deluxe rooms and for an additional $US12 the deluxe offered far better accommodation being a corner room, significantly larger, with windows to 2 sides and views of HCMC, and glimpses of the river. Breakfast was adequate if uninspiring.

We stayed here twice over the past year (firstly after escaping from the abysmal Spring Hotel) and found it to be of a consistent standard. For about $US90 for a deluxe we think this hotel offers pretty good value, everything considered, and is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Briard8888,

Thank you for coming back and enjoy your stay with us.

I would like also thank you very much for your positive review. We pride our self as a family friendly hotel and thus it gives me pleasure to read that you love our hotel and its services.

My friend, great thanks for your comments regarding the quality of our services like Deluxe room with nice Saigon view, comfortable bed, helpful staffs, good location…etc. I will be sure to share these with all my colleagues. Comments like these acts as a great motivation for us to continue offering the excellent services we are always focusing on.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and your positive comments on your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is quite nice, the staff helpful, and the beds very comfortable. We have stayed in other hotels but we keep returning here. The cost is reasonable a very good value! Breakfast is included, good buffet. Will continue to stay here each time we return. The only downside is the neighborhood in general, is improving but still a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Insfavorite,

Warmest greetings from Northern Hotel Saigon!

Thank you very much for staying with us during your sweet time in Ho Chi Minh City.

I would like also thank you for writing a positive review of our services such as staffs, room facilities, buffet breakfast...etc on Tripadvisor, it is highly appreciated.

Besides, Your feedback has already been translated and put up at our staff notice board, and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us to improve our services even more.

I do hope the Hotel could have chance to host you again for your upcoming trip to Saigon.

Kindly let me know if i would be of your any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel Saigon

Address: 11 Thi Sach St, BenNghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel Saigon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saigon’s central business district, we are just a short walk from the major entertainment and shopping districts including Opera House, War Remnants, Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office… Take a stroll and explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Northern Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.