We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kim Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/18 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was quite satisfied with the location of the hotel. Although there are plenty of other hotels nearby too. The travel agency where we booked our day tour to CuChi Tunnel and Mekong River Rides is at the main road just round the corner of the alley where the hotel is located. There are shops, restaurants & pubs nearby. The Ben Thanh Market is just a few streets away..although a cab ride is quite reasonably priced too. The rooms are clean & comfortable. I am also quite satisfied with whatever service there is..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
41
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Initially booked into more expensive hotel with no atmosphere . while dining in Bue Vien laneway spotted this gem. Clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Have been thrilled with the move Balcony rooms great with tables and chairs on a terrace on top floor. Highly recommend for being in heart of the action with the bonus of quiet laneway. Many restaurants in lane and great food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony to watch the action in the lane. Although balcony is small there is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Kim hotel for 9 nights total while using Saigon as our base in the South for excursions, shopping, and even two, two day trips ( Mekong Delta and Cat Tien National Park). They kept our luggage safe while we were out of town.And they were honest! (I add that after reading other reviews about hotel experiences)

The hotel is very well located in an alley off of the main road in the heart of the backpackers district in Q1.It is close to restaurants , travel agencies and only a few blocks walk from the Ben Thanh Market.It is not cheap by Vietnamese standards since the rooms cost 21-27USD per night and breakfast is not included. However, the rooms are quite large, clean, with TV, safe,AC, windows, a very small balcony and even a working elevator which we appreciated.

Yet I can not say that I am so enthusiastic due to the overall attitude of the hotel staff! At first , when the Vietnamese owner told me that there were few reviews on Trip Adviser,I was surprised, but I quickly understood why: it's due to the service and the attitude of the staff! The rooms are great! But the staff is almost indifferent to the tourists who stay at the hotel! Two examples come to mind: They sigh when you wake them up to get back into the hotel after 11:00 PM , since 2 or 3 sleep on the floor in the reception area - as is the case in all of the hotels. At breakfast, we always ordered the same coffee and tea , yet we had to ask for milk every time.

Sounds like I am spoiled , yet after 3 weeks in Sapa, Hanoi, Hue, Can Tho and Hui An dealing with smiling, helpful Vietnamese who went out of their way to please and help us in any way they could, we came to expect the same attitude, service and "little extras"in this family run hotel in HCMC.

Little extras? When we checked out of the other hotels we were always given bottles of mineral water. Even though it was very hot (37C) in HCMC and even though we left for 2 two day trips, we never received any water. Instead they made sure that someone ran up to the rooms ( 2 rooms, 4 people) to check the fridge in the event one of us had taken something which we had not yet paid for, even though we were returning to Kim hotel two days later.And despite the fact that cheaper rooms were available, which we requested every day, we were systematically assigned to the 24 USD and 27 USD top of the line rooms. The few dollars extra was not the problem for us, it was the attitude with which we were uncomfortable!
In conclusion, if you don't need any help and prefer to be ignored this is the place to stay since the location and rooms are truly excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong N, Owner at Kim Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello,
As the owner of Kim hotel, I am apologized for my staff's attitude toward you during your stay at our hotel. Thanks to your review, I was able to address the problem to the staff.
Unfortunately, we don't offer free drinks at our hotel since we have a minibar service in room. I hope you will forgive us on our policies.
As for the room, it was the high season the room was fully booked, so we were unable to change the room for you. We owe you an explanation and an apologize.
Once again, I am appreciated for your review that help me to improve the service at our hotel!
Sincerely,
Loan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We actually stayed at Kim Hotel 2 (same website for reservation), the second branch and probably the newest of this hotel. Great location in the lively Backpacker's district, very friendly staff! The room and the rest of the hotel were extremely clean and everything was recent. The bathroom with a large shower and a little window was especially nice.

Be careful since some rooms have quite small windows, but this is indicated and you can always discuss it with the staff.

I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kim Hotel for 6 nights. Initially we had reserved for 2 nights, then extended to 3, then 5, as we discovered the charms of Saigon. Kim Hotel was a comfortable and secure place to come home to. We came back for another night as we transited from Siem Reap to DaNang, and the kindly let us leave a bag there while we were away.

We booked the 3-day Mekong Delta tour with TNK Tours through the hotel and were pleased with what we got for the price. Very good guides with TNK. A friend booked the 2-day tour through the hotel, which was with a different company, and she did not have a good experience.

Pros: central location, good fast Internet throughout the building, nice staff, very clean, an elevator to carry bags to upper floors, excellent and cheap coffee, reasonable minibar prices (same as at local market), lovely rooftop deck

Cons: in the backpacker ghetto, so sometimes loud at night, some rooms have no extra plugs for electronics (so you may have to unplug the refrigerator to recharge)

Overall, a nice place to stay, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

this was our secind time in this hotel,the first time was for one night and we booked through a agency,[end of january],the second time was in february and we booked through their website.the rooom we booked through the agency was for a deluxe room with a large balcony, however the room we booked through their website wast for a 1st class room with small balcony.we only realized this was the same room we had the first time round although we had paid for a deluxe room.so make sure you get the room you have paid for,apart from that we had a nice 4 night stay the staff are nice and the room clean and comfortable,great location,there is a very good and cheap 24 hour restaurant bottom of this road food good and always very busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in a small soi with lots of other hotels and restaurants. Very close to main streets with lots of shops. The staff was most helpful and kind. The single rooms are huge and have bathtubs. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. They even have an elevator - a huge plus for hotels in Vietnam which usually have a ton of stairs. All in all, great stay. I will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hotel

Address: 40/18 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kim Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.