We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an OK Hotel and has a good location near Ben Thanh Market” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Lien Hotel

Thanh Lien Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thanh Lien Hotel to your Saves list
Thanh Lien Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 - 137 Ly Trong St., Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's an OK Hotel and has a good location near Ben Thanh Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Well, it's an OK Hotel, it has a very spacious triple bed room and a large bathroom with a bathtub and a complete amenities including toothbrush and toothpaste, razor, etc. The aircond works fine and cold, but the bed is very hard. The triple bed room is located on the 10th floor, but the elevator is only available until 9th floor. so you must climb up by stairs to 10th floor, but the bellboy is helping us to carry our luggage until inside the room.
The buffet breakfast is also quite ok and has a quite many variety of foods for us, the receptionist was quite nice to us and told us the directions to go to the good places.
Eventhough we only spent a night in this hotel, but I think it's a quite good budget hotel for a family who needs a triple room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
9
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The walls are so thin and somehow amplifying that you can hear fully and clearly the conversation of neighbors from all direction, when they shower, wash their hands, flush the toilet....we had kids yelling, singing and roaring on 2
Separate nights. The beds are hard the pillows soft, the buffet okay, lots of selection and the food is kept warm-ish. The washroom is good. Vietnam is infested with ants though and 6 floors do you no good. The service I have no complaints about. The really good thing is the location, backpackers area behind, main market in front, bus stops very close by and food stalls, restaurants and cafes scattered nearby. If you're a light sleeper or can get annoyed with all the noise, dont come here....OMG....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I would never come back to this hotel. Although the rooms are relatively spacious, the air conditioning is spoilt. When I requested a change in room, I was given a smaller room with working aircon without refunds. Their room service personnel leaves the laundry and leaves the lift for a long period of time. As there is only one lift, the lobby is always crowded as the lift cannot contain much. For the breakfast, the food served are all cold. Although the breakfast is buffet style, plates are not cleared when they start to pile up. In the toilet, the towels smell and the toilet bowls are yellowish.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I would never consider coming back to this Lien Thanh Hotel again. At check in they gave me a "luxury room with view to the street". Anyway, the A/C was not working and so the key to keep the power in the room on was also not working. They informed that the A/C is dirty and needs clean up, after 4 hours with multiple complaints, the hotel manager sent someone to clean out the A/C while we were in the room. We waited for them to clean up then left the room to go for dinner. The key to the room was not working so we have to give it back to the bell boy and we told that we can pick up the new key when we return from our dinner. We checked out and rushed to the airport for our flight back to USA. While checking in we discovered that there were many items missing from our bag. One Versace sun glass, 2 pairs of jeans (brand name of course), 1 shirt, 1 set of beat headphone, and all of my USP devices (i had 320g, 16g and 64g and these are thumb size). what upset me is the work data that on these USP. Never again i would consider or recommend my clients or friends to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was a horrible experience for us.We travelled to Vietnam for the very first time in 2010 and this Hotel was chosen upon our arrival in Saigon. First impression with the concierge service was pretty satisfied, but we could not said the same for their Hotel Receptionists, one of them was really rude and very uncooperative with us, however given the benifit of the doubt we decided to stayed for further observation for their action being questioned. Unfortunately the situation was not improved at all (it was an pleasant feeling everytime this lady on her shift; she has got the most unfriendly face)....therefore we were evacuated from this Thanh Lien Hotel after 2 nights of staying. We experienced another unforgettable moment when we checked out from the Hotel, This same lady was again purportedly did not include our deposite ($500,000 VN Dong) in the settlement. We came back after 5 minutes and asked her about our deposite money, she told us that as a Customer you need to reminding the Hotel Staff, and that is your mandate......Go figures......we will not come back to this Hotel, never again....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a bad feeling as soon as I walked into the hotel.

Arrived at the hotel at about 10pm and just wanted to rest. Bell hop walked into the room to have a chat trying to score a deal on tours etc. I just wanted him to leave and he would not. Quite unprofessional and I did not feel safe.

The walls are very thin and you can hear people talking in the morning, mostly staff yelling at each other.

Room clean enough but smelled a but musty with too much air freshener to overcompensate.
Furnishings really dated.

Beds were rock hard. Rock hard. I think this is a Vietnamese thing because my mother in law who is Vietnamese quite liked it, whereas I felt like I bruised from just laying there.

Breakfast asian food that you order off a menu.

On the upside it was really cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is great. Nothing fancy but all you need. Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff including gorgeous receptionists and security blokes. Aircons, plasma TVs, wifi, nice clean quality rooms. Close to Ben Thanh Market. Walk to centre of Saigon. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Lien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Lien Hotel

Address: 135 - 137 Ly Trong St., Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thanh Lien Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thanh Lien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Lien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.