We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best surprise ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Norfolk Mansion to your Saves list
Norfolk Mansion
17-19-21 Ly Tu Trong Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Dayton Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best surprise ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

To our amazement the Norfolk Mansion was the best we could have ever imagined.
From beginning to end. The rooms were immaculate even the hall corridors were polished
daily. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, to the point of recognizing which
floor were in and swiping their card to access our floor. These small things make you want to
stay longer and want to return. The daily breakfast on the balcony was always a welcome
treat with a good variety of items to choose from. I can only say that I would not hesitate
to stay there again. The location was perfect within walking distance to almost everything
we needed. Hats off to the general manager job well done

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
5
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had 5 nights here at the end of our trip round Vietnam and couldn't have stayed in a better place. The 2 bedroom unit was huge and the location is fantastic- walking distance to everything. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and they accomodated us on our last day very graciously as we had a late flight out of HCM. Breakfast was quite good and their room service was excellent. Air con was essential and worked very well. We would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem excellent. We had one on the street and couldn't hear any noise from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsleofMan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Incredible value for money. Best of both worlds, the privacy of an apartment with the convenience of a hotel. From check in to check out, which is tomorrow, we have found staying at the Norfolk an excellent choice. Location is good only 5mins from the centre. Very clean. Excellent helpful and welcoming staff. Great free wi-fi. I would recommend the Norfolk mansion and would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed there recently, we first spent four nights here when we first arrived in HCMC, from the time we hope of the the plane where we meet, to the time we left the service was first class, we stayed in a standard 2 bedroom apartment it had everything you need whilst away,the sound proof windows where fantastic blocking out the busy 24/7 noise of HCMC, the staff in reception where very helpful and truely friendly, there is a little shop within the hotel that has all you need eg water, beer, cigs,toiletries and more,

The location is perfect everything worth seeing is in walking distance, this hotel is perfect for first timers in HCMC , the amazing shopping centre and markets are all with in 10 min walk, they gave a book with a map, we did a walking tour from the map to see all the major attractions.

We where that impressed after touring up in north and central Vietnam, we booked again and stayed in the executive 2 bedroom apartment, all the staff remembered and and welcomed us home,lol, this place truly did feel like home.

I can truly say we will be back and have no prob recommending this place to anyone,
This hotel really understands the western traveller,
Love this place looking forward to coming back

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family eg mum dad and kids go the pay the extra for the executive 2 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a nights stay here and really enjoyed it. Breakfast was good. Air con was great. Apartment was a good size for a family of four. Location was very central and within walking distance to lots of tourist sites. Vincom shopping mall was close by and had a great food court. Breakfast was nice and they had great Pho too. There is a small supermarket directly next door which is good for bread, milk, drinks etc. Norfolk Mansion is in a nice, leafy area of Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in the Norfolk Mansion Apartments for one week. Had a two bedroom apartment all to myself. Apartments are an excellent size and would certainly recommend them for a traveling family. The apartment I was in had one room with a double bed and ensuite, and a single bedroom with access to the 2nd shower/bathroom. Good sized kitchen, if you where ever to get the urge to cook and a good sized living area to sit in.

The sound proofing in the rooms is excellent. There is a busy road directly in front of the hotel and you wouldn't have known about it - possibly a combination of the double glazing and my 13th floor location

Facilities in the hotel "looked" fine, never used the swimming pool, but could look down on it from above and people where using it.

Staff where very friendly and helpful, although very quick to come into the apartment to clean it up in the morning if the "Do Not Disturb" sign is not on your door!!!

Breakfast was included -actually nice to not be looking at a massive spread off food, more than enough of a choice for my liking.

Free WiFi was included.

The only complaint I would have is the pillows in the room. They do exist, but they are so soft as they are next to useless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in this apartment on 7-9 July in a group of 5. The apartment had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. The master bedroom had a king bed and a bathtub in the bathroom. The other room came with a double bed. Another bathroom outside the 2nd room had a free standing shower and a washing machine. The living hall was huge it could fit 12 people at one time. Although the kitchen was too small compared to the size of the apartment, but the amenities were excellent, complete with a microwave, an oven and a kitchen stove. There were also plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, knife, cutleries and kitchen utensils as well as a kitchen sponge for cleaning. All you need to bring/buy is soap for washing clothes and dishes.

My mother loved this place so much that she refused to follow us on a trip to Cu Chi! My sister who is known to be picky and petty on almost everything also gave thumbs up for this place.

What I liked about the place:
1) It's super clean, it's literally spotless!
2) Service was top notch. We asked for extra bed and when we got to our apartment, they were already hotel staffs waiting outside the apartment to install the bed for us. Hotel staffs were eager to help us with directions and getting a cab throughout our stay.
3) Check in was fast. We had earlier asked for early check in, and when we arrived at the hotel at about 12.30pm, our room was ready for us.
4) We also asked for late check out since our flight home was at 9.00 pm and we wanted to leave by 5.00pm. At first, the front desk only allowed us to stay until 2.00 pm but later extended it to 5.00pm without extra charge!
5) The hotel gave free city map but we took some time to get used to it since the map left out a few hotel landmarks such as Caravelle Hotel, Park Hyatt, Rex Hotel etc (I think they purposely leave out other hotels and only keep the city landmarks).
6) The swimming pool looked clean but we didn't get to take a dip though.

The drawbacks:
1) The location is a bit out of the way from the city attractions although it's still within walking distance. It took us about 10-15 minutes to get to the Central Post Office.
2) There's no view from our room except for a construction site.
3) Breakfast spread was small for vegetarians.
4) We first wanted to book directly from the hotel so I emailed them to enquire about the hotel but only received a reply days later. When I emailed them again, I had to wait for another 3 days before receiving a reply. Since it was nearing travel time, we decided to book via Agoda, which was a big mistake. We initially paid USD350 for 2 nights stay but had to top up another USD210 for the other 3 guests when we checked in, since Agoda only quoted rate for 2 guests. If the hotel had replied to my emails earlier, I'm sure that the confusion wouldn't have happened.
5) The bed was too hard for my liking I had trouble sleeping but my sister liked the bed. However, all 5 of us unanimously agreed that the pillows were too soft.
6) One of my sisters had rashes after the 1st night. We were not sure whether it was bed bug or the rain outside (it could be acidic, you never know).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (the ones not facing road) ensures a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Mansion

Address: 17-19-21 Ly Tu Trong Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within walking distance to the city center, close to business destinations, famous landmarks, Norfolk Mansion is an oasis for rest and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of city life where you can truly relax and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Norfolk Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Mansion Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.