We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine food, first class service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Lai

Huong Lai
38 Ly Tu Trong St. Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 6814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,744 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Genuine food, first class service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Perhaps the most important point is the level of service - it is first class! Excellent English is spoken, and Ha attended to all our needs. The food was good, but could have been in larger proportions - for the price paid, I would have (and have had) expected more. A big 'no no' is red wine served from the fridge - although this was immediately corrected without any fuss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    150
    35
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I agree with some reviewers here at Tripadvisor that Huong Lai is somewhat pricey. You can definitely get some good food in HCM City for less. On the other hand the food in Huong Lai was delicious and the staff is nice, very polite and provides a fast and efficient service.
It is a little place on the 2nd floor of a small building with a decent atmosphere. I think it is worth visiting for a lunch or dinner if you are in the center of the city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice location, great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We tried a standard set menu which was a great way to try some new things and the food tasted very good. We didn't like the purple soup and the desserts but thats more personal taste than anything else... The service was great, definitely a place to recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on the strength of other reviews but have to be frank that it is over rated by quite a lot.

The restaurant is nice enough with very friendly service. It is also very good that the place is employing disadvantaged kids however the food does not match up to expectations.

We had spring rolls which were nice if a little oily. Our mains of spicy beef in satay and squid with chilli and lemongrass were a little bland with small portions. The food is not bad but is not different from what is available in street cafes at a much cheaper price and far inferior to some of the excellent Vietnamese restaurant food available at a similar price.

Overall, if you want to eat standard Vietnamese food in comfy surroundings with good service then this place is worthwhile. If you want superior Vietnamese cuisine then go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely room and good food. This restaurant deserves custom for the quality of food and the great atmosphere and service. There is no compromise as it is a social enterprise as well. Great set menus

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huong Lai also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Huong Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Lai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.