We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for a great cause” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Lai

Huong Lai
38 Ly Tu Trong St. Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 6814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food for a great cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Highly recommended restaurant.
Located in an elegant colonial building I'd suggest booking ahead as this place is popular.
Enjoy beautiful food while making a difference to someones life. We did however, find the atmosphere & other patrons a little stuffy but the friendly staff make up for it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    173
    102
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant as we were advised the owner had created opportunities for homeless children. The food was very food. I enjoyed the prawns in the coconut. The food was fresh and meals devine. My family committed very highly on their meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food with relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxed restaurant with friendly staff. Easy and cheap to catch taxi from district 1(cost me $2). Asked waitress to recommend dishes and decided upon lemongrass pork rib and tamarind prawn with garlic rice (both lovely). For rice, 2 mains, 2 red wines and some water it cost me $19. Waitress was so lovely, she came running over when I was finishing off my rice with chopsticks and told me it was okay in Vietnam to use your spoon to eat rice. Would go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Apparently all the staff are former homeless children which has been trained by the restaurant owner. I must say, that this restaurant provided one of the best service I have ever got. Very professional and always with a smile. On top of that, the food was very good and tasty. If you want to dine at Huong Lai, be sure to make a reservation, the place fill up really fast!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a restaurant run by a Japanese guy helping train kids off the street. We found the service to be really warm with good English spoken.

The food is not too challenging for a western palate and is one where you can find options that suit the whole family. We loved the beef with lemongrass.

It is to be found via a nondescript doorway with a spiral staircase leading upstairs to a very busy restaurant . Busy with good reason.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huong Lai also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Huong Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Lai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.