We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location outweigh negatives!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 16 Le Lai Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Direct Cash Refund 03 USD
Ranked #52 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Daly City, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent location outweigh negatives!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

all reservation request ignored. deluxe room with view, high floor. instead, we were placed in a 1st flr room that is facing a wall.breakfast buffet, lots and lots of variety and excellent location is its redeeming quality. the waiters ignored us, evrytime, in the dining room. obviously they had preference for western people, we're not. hotel management, pls take note!

Room Tip: ask the side B. this has hardwood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    320
    87
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
205
58
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

our travel agent requested a quiet room, a suite with a kingsize bed. They gave us the family suite on the second floor at the front of the hotel and we didn't sleep for the ongoing street noise. they moved us to a 'suite' the next morning which was a small room with too much furniture. This wasn't a pleasant place to stay. The cyclo drivers outside the hotel were brutal to deal with. Just remember that there are no accomidation bargains in saigon. This was one of them even though we paid $90 per night.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our 1st hotel in Vietnam, we were very impressed. Fantastic location, modern,clean property with lovely room. We had a junior suite at the back of the hotel.
Mega comfy bed, beautiful bedding, fluffy towels, and a fantastic large bathroom with a jucuzzi corner tub/ shower and even a loo with a slow closing lid...This was our Saigon "best buy".
Whilst in Saigon we had our feet done at a fish spa with Garra Rufa fish, I can reccommend this to anyone. it was 100000VND ( approx £3 ) each per 1/2 hour session.
Also whilst in Saigon we had new glasses (Specs ) made for about 1/3 of what we pay in UK...... £70 as opposed to £317 in UK . email me if you want more info.
The room had nice wooden floors, a wall mounted large LCD TV and a comfy sofa.
The buffet breakfast was an amazing assortment of delicious items.
I cannot fault this hotel. 10/10

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed here on 2 occasions and both rooms were big, clean, comfortable and reasonably quiet considering the location. Yes, its right next to a mad busy road, but our room was at the back and let's face it, if you're going to stay in Ho Chi Minh City, you can't really expect anything too peaceful. Perfectly located for the Ben Thanh Market, probably too convenient!

Hotel staff were very helpful, polite and professional. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

The busy park and traffic circle in front of the Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa might be seen as a negative by some travelers, but we thoroughly enjoyed watching the action--the amazing Saigon traffic and the people playing and exercising in the park from before dawn to nightfall. It was also a pretty easy to walk to many of the interesting tourist sites.

Our room was upgraded on arrival (I notice this seems to be a common experience) to a spacious junior suite. The front desk folks were all welcoming and helpful; Ms. Thu Thuy in particular was a delight. There appeared to be several large tour groups staying here at the same time, and it made the lavish breakfast service somewhat noisy and the staff had a bit of difficulty keeping the supplies of some foods replenished.

One thing I wouldn't recommend is the pedicure service at the Spa. Obviously, my experience could have been a once-in-a-million event, but I got a bad cut on one of my toes during the cuticle trimming, and the tech didn't seem to even know what to do about the bleeding.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwangju, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2011

Pros

1.) Location: Close to Ben Thahn market yet blocks from the “nothing-but touristy” area, hence no overflow of street vendors and gap year students.

2.) Staff: not a one problem, ever- they even threw in a complimentary breakfast for the half day we purchased.

3.) Restaurant- pho for breakfast every day!!! (along with fresh fruits and juices)

Cons

1.) A tad overpriced: I visited a friend of mine in the “nothing but touristy” area and they were paying one third of what we were paying- the place was incredibly small but clean and livable- think of this hotel as a luxury if you need a 3 star hotel but not a necessity if your budget is much tighter.

2.) Tub leaked: pretty self explanatory

Overall, this is an really nice hotel if you have 50 or 60 USD to spend a night- if not, its not the end of the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just returned from our first trip to Vietnam and we are in love!! We stayed here for 3 nights before heading North.
The location of the hotel is brilliant, lots of good places to drink and eat just around the corner. The Market is just across the road which is only open during the day by about 6pm it is shut. The drinking place right outside Pho 2000 (on the corner by the hotel) is a great place to sit and watch the world go by and contemplate crossing the road! A daunting experience at first but fun after the first attempt - walking straight out in the road without looking and not making eye contact with the scooter drivers was very strange! The room we were in was a little small, there was just enough room for 2 of us with 2 cases. The bed was comfy and the shower etc worked fine. We had breakfast included and this was OK. Selection was reasonable. Staff on the reception/tour desk were very helpful. When we return to Saigon we will definitely stay here again just for the location.
If you don't stay at this hotel, be sure to visit Saigon and Vietnam as it is a fantastic country!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa

Address: 14 - 16 Le Lai Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Star Tan Hai Long Hotel & Spa. Located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city, next to Ben Thanh market,closed Shopping and entertainment centers . ..8km from Tan Son Nhat International AirportTan Hai Long Hotel & Spa comprise 106 rooms and suites, Non-smoking floors and specially wooden floor for rooms and suites.All rooms and suites boast breathtaking nice view of city and Ben Thanh Market view. KL Spa is décor’s Asian contemporary with the quiet spaces and reach a highest of relaxed, with high - grade of therapy – PEVONIA product, professional and skillful staff. Emphasizing blend between nature and lives beside the color harmony of space, gives a feeling really peaceful of relaxation…Whether you are on business trip or on vacation in Ho Chi Minh city. The Tan Hai Long Hotel & Spa is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Hai Long Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverland Central - Tan Hai Long Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.