We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously dishonest airbrushing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel Saigon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-19-20 Ton Duc Thang St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outrageously dishonest airbrushing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Somebody got a copy of Paint Shop Pro - this hotel, unlike the picture, does NOT have the Saigon River lapping at its doors. Nor is the road in front a quiet, narrow street - it's in fact a 4-lane highway, bustling with taxis, motos, buses, SUVs etc. If you were thinking the photos suggested that this hotel was situated in an undiscovered quiet zone, and bucked the trend of the usual noisy traffic that one can expect elsewhere in HCMC, think again - it's not an honest depiction of what you'll find there.

Inside it's hardly any better - very dated and in need of a major facelift (unless of course you get the room they've modernised for the sake of their website photos). While the lobby is passable, the rooms are atrociously outdated - paint peeling off the ceilings and walls, rust in the pitiful bathroom, windows bricked up (that's if you have one). If only the housekeeping had done something to salvage any feelings of positivity, but that was also a major let down.

Breakfast was simple but adequate, just be careful to get there early, because when things run out, well... they stay run out - even the basics.

On the plus side, the location is pretty central - being only a 10 minute walk to Lam Son square (City Hall, The Rex, The Opera House, ...). This walk will give you the opportunity of passing several rather better hotels - plenty of opportunity to regret not having booked them instead.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    70
    82
    19
    12
See reviews for
35
55
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the pictures they have been unashamedly photoshopped! The river is not as would seem right beside the hotel it is in fact separated by a 4 lane busy a-road! The room was falling apart - wallpaper peeling away from the wall, toilet seat had come away from the toilet due to rust, the view out the window was blocked by a brick wall and no hot water! I will upload pictures to back up my review

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

like the structure of this hotel, good view of Sai gon river, the habour.The location is near destinations and street restaurants like in Ben Thanh market.Overall, rooms rate is pretty expensive, staff is attentive and friendly, the food is delicious.Anw, I enjoy this hotel for next time if possible.

Room Tip: choosing high floor is the best choice 'cause it's noisy at low level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I stay in 5* hotels in south-east Asia I usually expect a 4* room with a 3* service. Here I got a 2* room with a 2* service

We thought we'd book a little luxury before moving down the coast - it was laughable.
I'd much rather have stayed in a hostel.
The website shows a lovely, grand building sitting on the river front. We got there and it turns out it's not on the river front as there's a crazily-busy, 8 lane, main road separating it - good luck crossing it by the way.

For a relatively expensive price we paid there were no windows in the room, the staff weren't particularly helpful and the breakfast was lousy. If you want luxury stay elsewhere, if you want cheap stay elsewhere - it's noisy and horrible.
Free toiletries, large room and the tourism/trip planner attached to the hotel were good things.
Thank God we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for one night, arrived very late but checkout was still open and helpful. Room was clean and had everything we needed but did smell of stale cigarette smoke. There were no smoking signs in the lobby and hall but none in the rooms so maybe it is allowed. Other than that it was everything we expected it to be for the price paid. Relatively good location depending on what you are in town to see, good choice of options at breakfast buffet, comfy bed and a good hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the riverside hotel for 1 night it cost $60 for the worst night sleep we had in the 7 weeks in hcmc.a lot of the good photos are of the 5 star hotel next door (regency riverside ) the staff are rude and so is management.room was dirty and so was the bed sheets.we hated it and urge people not to stay.we had stains all over the sheets but management didn't won't to know about it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Some people must want the life of Paris Hilton from some of the slagging I've seen about this place. If you want 5 star service and accomodations, go pay 5 star prices elsewhere. For simpler folks, this place was fine and the service was good. Our rooms (3 different stays) were clean, quiet and normally furnished with a funky charm of its own. At $35/night, what's there to complain about? Try getting that in London, Paris, New York, San Francisco..etc. even Manila! Not going to happen! Plus, you'll need body guards in those places...we walked around Saigon from this place for 2-3hrs a day and had great fun because the whole district is loaded with shops, bars, restaurants, pho places WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE and a great open air food market is just a few blocks away...get off your lazy butts complainers! The fun floating restaurants are a few feet away at night and the food and service is excellent as the wildly lit boat cruises up the Saigon river for an hour or so with a crazily out of place pseudo Hawaiian fire eating baton twirling bikini girl show that is simply hilarious...what the?? Anyway, I like this place and plan to return to the Riverside Hotel on my next trip back....P.S. The original cook in the restaurant was superb but apparently not there on the 2nd stay as the food was not as good...morning buffet was always great...so much to eat..need those calories for the 3 hr walks around Saigon District 1 taking it all in! Get out and explore the area! Great location!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 18-19-20 Ton Duc Thang St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.