We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xu Restaurant Lounge

Xu Restaurant Lounge
75 Hai Ba Trung Street District 1 | Near Hyatt, Caravelle, Sheraton & Intercontinental Hotels, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+848 38248468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The first night arrived HCMC, I spent good time there, didn't try the food,only cocktail, average drink but atmosphere is great. Nice music and didn't see working girls around. Good for relax after working, or warm up before go to others bars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuSaigon, Sales & Marketing at Xu Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear CaraMia820,

Thank you for visiting Xu! We're glad to hear that you like Xu atmosphere. Hope you can try our modern Vietnamese food next time. And we do hope to welcome you with warmest greeting!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    113
    46
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but very pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We tried the 7-course degustation menu with free flowing wine and cocktails.
The food was very good - think traditionel vietnamese food but elevated to actual restaurant level.
All of the 7 courses had 2 sometimes 3 items on it. And we only had issues with two items. One was an excessive use of garlic with the pumkin pure and the other issue was a lack of salt on the lamb - which was easily corrected with the salt on the table.
One thing we had a bit of an issue with was the fact that they charges us for a bottle of still water - even though we had free flowing wine, beer and cocktails. They should in my opinion have counted the water with the other free flowing drinks. The drinks were mainly good, but their 'exotic vietnamese cocktails' were a bit to exotic!
We ended up paying about 4.7 million for the meal for two people - beware that an additional 5 percent service charge and on top of that 10 percent VAT is added to the bill.
Good food but a bit to pricey.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuSaigon, Sales & Marketing at Xu Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Danishdesigner,

Thank you for visiting Xu and taking time to post your nice review! As you said, All of the 7 courses had 2 sometimes 3 items on it. And that's also reason for us to set the price that it's worth. One more thing, we're sorry for putting you in unclear information about tasting menu with free flow wine, cocktails, beer & mixed drinks. Italian bottle of still water, you’ve ordered, is not included.
One more time, thank you so much for your constructive review! We'll fix it. And we do hope to welcome you with warmest greeting! Wish all the best for you in 2013.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here with a tour group for a degustation dinner with matching wines, and what a meal it was. Not a bad dish among them and the nitrogen frozen sticky rice was a real winner.
Great atmosphere and attentive staff even if they had trouble understanding the Australian idiom.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuSaigon, Sales & Marketing at Xu Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Schlepper1939,

Thank you so much for visiting Xu and your compliment! We're glad to hear that you had a good experience for your dinner. Look forward to serving you soon in the future with Xu warmest greeting!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fabulous east meets west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

gracious, savvy staff. youth, energy and smarts all wrapped together with terrific food in perfectly planned portions. a real treat in a side street location.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuSaigon, Sales & Marketing at Xu Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jandsboston,

First of all, thank you for visiting Xu and taking time to post your good review! We're really greatly delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything at Xu and that also encourages our team so much. It's our pleasure to serve you. We do hope to welcome you back soon in future and wish all the best in 2013.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location and great ambience. Very European, in fact full of expats or foreigners! Despite the trendy looks, it is also a good restaurant: very creative contemporary Vietnamese cuisine. A bit expensive but worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuSaigon, Sales & Marketing at Xu Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear LolaGina64,

Thank you for visting Xu and your nice review! We're glad to hear that you had a good experience. Hope that Xu is always a good choice for you and wish you all the best for 2013.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xu Restaurant Lounge also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Xu Restaurant Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xu Restaurant Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.