We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skewers

Skewers
9A Thai Van Lung Street, District 1 | 9A Thái Văn Lung, Q.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3822 4798
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,525 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located near the Opera House, Caravelle and The Park Hyatt Hotel (5 minutes walk). Skewers has been open since July of 2000. The restaurant has 2 level, ground floor with 30+ seating, bar area and open kitchen. 1st floor with 12 tables, plus a cigar/smoking lounge. Skewers is open for lunch and dinner only. From 11:30 to 2pm and 6pm to 11pm. The kitchen last order is at 10:30pm. The restaurant is good for groups, wine tasting, lunch, special dinner, entertaining clients, romance, delivery and reservation.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A taste of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After travelling through the SE Asian region for the last 4 weeks this was one of the best restaurants we have visited. Billed as a Mediterranean restaurant it cleverly blends Vietnamese style with European dishes. Do not miss the sizzling prawns they are wonderful!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    74
    20
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great food! Highly recommended for a Mediterranean menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

As we felt like a change from excellent Vietnamese food, we ended in this highly recommendable restaurant. The menu is about Mediterranean food and everything we had was perfectly cooked. Excellent service. A great value!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Food is so so but service is fine.

Very average and nothing special after my opinion.

Will probably never be back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
919 helpful votes 919 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were staying at the Legend Hotel and Skewers is just outside their back door, so we decided to give it a try. It’s seating is over two floors and I felt the first level although a bit noisy was more atmospheric. Service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The menu has a nice mix of Mediterranean dishes with fish, chicken and steak. Most classics come with a twist, changing up the flavors. We enjoyed the starter of your choice of 4 dips and choose the salsa (just OK, a bit hot) guacamole (good) hummus (very good and had a smoky flavor) and baba ganoush (loved it!). For my main, I order the Greek moussaka which was much lighter with a tomato base vs. béchamel and a very healthy portion. I enjoyed it but wasn’t expecting something different. My husband had steak ordered medium; it arrived very rare and a bit tough. He also asked for a small salad in place of the potatoes and received it.
Overall a pleasant evening but with so many restaurants to try in Saigon, it wasn’t a fantastic dining experience, so we didn’t return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Restaurant menu is varied and international. There is something for all. Food good, service great atmosphere very nice was at the second floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skewers also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Skewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skewers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.