We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Cafe

Ciao Cafe
74 D Nguyen Hue | Dong Khoi Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
(08) 823 1130
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went to Ciao Cafe on our first evening in HCMC.. It was a Saturday night and we got there about 11 in the evening, not many people in and we found out they were about to close, they stayed open for us and served us a super meal at a very reasonable price.. Food mainly Thai.

Nice surroundings on the 2nd floor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    40
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QLD, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ordered 2 drinks first and they didn't have ingredients for one, ordered another and came back didn't have ingredients for that either. Can't tell you about the food as couldn't be bothered with the place after drinks fiasco, service was bad, girls too busy giggling and gossiping. Menu was uninteresting unless you want fries or a burger . Maybe just good for a coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Horrible - bad service, bland food, overpriced AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Don't waste your time at this place, unless of course you like overpaying for bland food and terrible drinks. Other reviewers seem to like this place for the "atmosphere". If "opium den" is your idea of nice ambiance then sure, go here for the lack of windows, dark decor and claustrophobic feeling. Just be sure to order the cheapest thing on the menu, anything else will be a disappointment. Our table was covered with a sticky substance from the last guest and the staff were annoyed when we asked them for a cloth to clean it. Our waitress was rude and too busy playing with her phone to take our order, tell us the wifi password or bring us the bill. There are so many nicer places within a 2 block radius that it's a mystery how this place stays in business. It certainly isn't due to their food, drinks or "atmosphere"...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I love the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We hung out in the corner with book shelf full of comic books, that is nice and unique. The service was ok, the price seems a little higher than what I know, just a little. Other than that, I would definitely spent my time there again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“To Good and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was brilliant and great service. In walking distance from Grand hotel Saigon Vietnam. When a boy had too much chilly they came and gave him lettuce and a drink. And there was no pay for that! But a bit expensive

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Cafe also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.