We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic lovely restaurant and cheap beer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Kitchen

Asian Kitchen
185/22 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Area, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
(08) 836 7397
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Beverley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic lovely restaurant and cheap beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice during our few days in Saigon. The food was fantastic, the portions were more than big enough and the beer 10,000 vnd. It's off the main street down an alley and well worth checking out. So much cheaper than the bigger places occupying the corners on the main road. We loved it. Oh and free wifi :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    14
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Cheap Beers, Good Vietnamese Iced Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We didn’t dine here but have stopped by for a Beer and an Iced Coffee. This restaurant is in a cool location, just off the beaten path, so it’s a bit quieter. They have cheap Saigon beers at 10,000VND per bottle. They have good Vietnamese iced coffee, it’s a bit more expensive than other places at 20,000VND, but you get a much larger serving. The staff is very friendly and always made us feel welcome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

vietnam what a friendly place.arrived very tired from the uk,for a few weeks relax.found asian kitchen,even in the lonely planet for many years.
staff were friendly and the place is an escape from the hustle and bussle of street life.
i have now eaten here 3 times and every meal has been very good.
the prices very good for some very tasty food.
would recommend to anyone,family/single/group travellers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great tast of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you like Vietnamese food that is the place to go, a lot of variey on the menu and a good and cheap choice of beers.you can eat outside or inside, I beleive the inside tables are better coz of the street vendeurs + the beggers are constently walking on the footpath and stop to any white person one after, anoying! but the price are in good range and the girls and the young boss are fantastic, very friendly .

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Asian Kitchen Restaurants became one of the few restaurants we returned to several times in Saigon.
The food was quite good, the only trouble being to decide which dish to order from the huge menu.
Staff are friendly and it is easy to make friends as there is regular customers, often expats that you will meet again when you come back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Kitchen also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.