We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giang Son Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giang Son Guesthouse to your Saves list
Giang Son Guesthouse
283/14 D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Like others, we booked a front room through agoda and when we were arrived we were put in a back room with no window. We were not happy, but were able to work it out with the kind front desk who put us in the room we should have had 2 days later. The front room was much nicer than the back room, but both were decent for the price with good bathrooms. A little tight in the back room and considering the price difference, definitely go for a front-facing room if available!

Breakfast was nothing special, but the staff are very friendly and helpful at all times. Great location right downtown and near bus pickups which was really great for us as we had an early bus to Cambodia. Only annoying thing about our 2nd floor front room was that's the wifi was spotty and didn't get the signal nearly as well as we did in the back room.

In the end, a decent little place well worth the price!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    94
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
16
103
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Giang Son 2 over New Year. Initially we were a little disappointed as we'd booked a front room (which should come with window) via agoda but when we arrived we were given a back room with no window. The room was a decent size and pleasant enough but a few little touches could have improved the rooms no end - for example, a lamp and a mirror would not have gone a miss. The location is ideal and the staff very friendly. We were treated to free food and beer downstairs on NYE which was a lovely gesture and was enjoyed by all the guests. Breakfast is included in the price but is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent two nights (18$ per night) in a double room in the Giang Son guesthouse. We made a reservation by telephone two days in advance. On the first attempt we went past the small alley the hotel is situated in, but found it on the second attempt. The staff was english-speaking and very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and too spacious but had enough space for our 2 backpacks. It has a nice terrace on the sith floor where you have nice view over the surrounding buildings and is perfect for a having a last beer of the day ! It is very close to the park and most of the sights are in walking distance. Around the corner the street is full of nice bars. We booked the Cu Chi tunnel trip through the hotel which was fine. After the trip we were allowed to take a shower despite we weren't going to spent another night in the hotel. The hotel also arranged transportation to the airport. Overall we were very satisfied with this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Giang Son is situated just on the edge of the heart of the Pham Ngu Lao district in a back alley, so you are shielded from the craziness of the city, but still very much within walking distance of all the action.

The hotel and the room is great value for money, clean beds, decent size, very very clean and beautiful toilets (the best we had seen throughout Laos and Vietnam), they had computers to use and a nice dining area. You also need to leave your shoes downstairs which helps with the cleanliness.

The staff are helpful, however the lady at the front desk spoke limited english which made it difficult at times.

Try to avoid booking tours through them as they take about a 30% cut (our Chu Chi tunnel tour was 126,000 VND wherelse other tour operators were offering 90,000 VND).

Apart from that, it was a great stay but don't go with high expectations of the front desk people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are a family with 3 children and when i've read on TA about overbooking I thought that there is a lot of people complain about a lot of thing, but finally, they are leave us without a room!!!
I sent them about 10 mail in 3 monts cause i've reserved in September to stay in Christmas time, and I wish to be sure about the existence of rooms.
We came here and first 3 days everything was ok about our rooms reservation also if the hotel is very cheap, the breakfast too basic, the personal do not anything to upgrade the shabbiness , but the hotel is quiet .Tthe hotel is like all the others in BP zone , despite LP said, It hasn't anything better, apart quietness .
Then we went in central vietnam and when we come back they gave again the rooms. When we went in Mekong delta and we came back instead they said us there is no availability!!! Aftter a reservation of three monts old , that I have renew a lot of time and at a family with 3 children!
So they have take us to a near hotel ( dirty and noisy, terrible!!!! ) so, finally when we are told them I will review on TA they said us to not pay the night.

So I think they make all time overbooking and do not anything to improve situation. Anyway, the hotel is very shabby , and the rooms without windows are claustrophobics, also if is clean, but LP review is overstimate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in four guesthouses during my time in District One in Saigon. All of them were of similar quality, but this place was just lacking in effort. It is ranked like number one in the LP Vietnam book so of course no matter how staff behave or act they will get customers. That clearly shows. They don't even try. The other places i stayed at at least made an effort. This place could have a dead body in its lobby and backpackers would still check in.

My concern is that like other top rating places in LP, this guesthouse will just get worse and worse. It has no incentive to try anymore. It's a decent choice right now (clean/quiet/good Wifi/location) but if you walk around the area you can find stuff just like it, only newers with staff that maybe cares more. So anyway, I would just look around cause I imagine this place is going to go downhill over time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose Giang & Son because it was top pick in the Lonely Planet and it lived 100% up to our expectations. For a mere 20$ you get a nice, clean room with window view. Excellent and very helpfull service. The reception girls are hotel managers, travel agency, taxi company and bank all in one :)

The location is right in the middle of the backpack area, but hidden away so you don't have any of the noise at night.

Thanks, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Take a room with window, only small surplus charge. Ask advice on anything, we were never disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Address: 283/14 D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giang Son Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.