We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Hotel

Spring House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Save
You added Spring House Hotel to your Saves list
221 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Jubail
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NICE HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet and location is vey near all places to see for first-time visitors to Ho Chi Minh. I will surely check-in again in this hotel if I have again the chance to visit Vietnam.

Ted Borlongan
Philippines

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
20
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A nice hotel which is very centrally located and who are very frank and open with charges and prices (one less stress in hectic Saigon). You are bang in the start/end of Pham Ngu Lao road which puts you 2 mins away from Crazy Buffalo/Go2; 15 minutes away from Vinhcom Centre/Post Office/Cathedral and 2 mins away from some of the central eats of the city.

Rooms can be a bit congested but ideal for those on a budget. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the 1st or 2nd floor rooms, or the ones with lift access. Some rooms can be at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

HCMC, Vietnam-Spring House Hotel
221 Pham Ngu Lao Street
District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
www.vietnamspringhotel.com This doesn't work BUT it's on their brochure.
Try; http://www.springhousehotel.com.vn/about.php
Email: info@springhousehotel.com.vn
Tel: (84-8) 837 8312
Fax” (84-8) 837 8311
Yes friends, I have stayed here before. It is the place I choose to stay when in HCMC. IF you get the right room, off the street, it is “fairly” quiet except for the incessant honking which is typical in all Vietnamese towns. Honks instead of braking-get out of my way, I'm coming through regardless!
I chose a deluxe double for 22USD and even though there are variations of “deluxe doubles” once you find/get the one you want-nice! Now after changing from a smaller room to “here”, I have firm but semi-soft bed, larger than a mini-fridge, closet, small desk, pretty large bathroom with toiletries, small flat screen TV with 6 English channels, clothes rack, air-con and fan with no free water and no free breakfast.
Right on the main hippie drag. Countless amenities right around the corner. Tours, buses, what do you want? Someone will sell “it” to you. Mekong Express from Phnom Penh parks right across the street. Free wi-fi and it is “good”, plus computers for use (2) 30” free, at reception. Friendly enough folks. New to me is the FIVE PERCENT charge for using your credit card to pay for the room. In 2007 when I last stayed here and made notes it was 3%! ALL these 3, 4 and 5% charges are, according to Visa International, illegal! Yes, and IF you don't want to pay the extra charge go get C A S H, man! That is the other option. They will charge you the extra 5%! Life! Many floors, many different size rooms. Look first! I stayed 9 days here and got a HUGE discount of 1 dollar/day off. So, $21.00 per day. NOT complaining.
Note: they did check on me, worried I guess, since I didn't go out the last 3 days-sick. That's nice of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked a suite at this hotel for our last night in HCMC and were very pleased with the size of the room and the bed (huge!). The room was a bit dated but clean and perfectly adequate for the price we paid. The location was great, near lots of restaurants, shopping centres and attractions. Breakfast was OK, not great and staff were helpful. Overall a good experience and good value hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spring House Hotel is a quiet, sophisticated respite from the noise and chaos of the Pham Ngu Lao area. Spotlessly clean, furnished with rattan and bamboo furniture and live plants. Front desk is efficient if not overly friendly. The hotel is located directly across the street from HCMC's central park - go there at 5:30 in the morning to see hordes of local people taking exercise and dance classes, playing badminton and exercising their chihuahuas. The friendly hotel guard/doorman will help you cross the street until you get the hang of it. Don't be fooled by the crosswalks, traffic in HCMC does not stop or slow down for pedestrians!
For $15 I got a decent sized room with a/c. wifi, cable tv, ensuite bath with plenty hot/cold water, mini-fridge. If the hotel wifi is slow you can often get a better connection with the ABC Bakery next door (dine there once to get password).
Note: At all hotels in Vietnam, make careful note of your date of arrival and departure, they will often "accidentally" try to charge you for an extra nite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We chose Spring House Hotel after looking at about 8 other hotels/guest houses in District 1. We have found that the best way to go about finding accommodations that match your needs and budget in SE Asia is to see the rooms and bargain on a price before agreeing to stay 1 night. If all is well in the morning extend. We got a double en suite room for $15 and ended up staying 4 nights. The room was not fancy, but well appointed with bamboo furniture and artwork. The room was very clean, the mini-bar prices were reasonable and the staff was professional. We did not have any problems with our bill and all charges were correct.

We liked the location because it was across the street from the park, near many bus companies (Sihn Tourist around the corner), restaurants and bars. While the area has many eateries targeted at tourists, there is some good street food to be had if you look around.

While it does not include breakfast, this hotel is one of best that we have come across for under $20 USD. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We paid USD 15 for a night and for the services we got, it was worth it. Nothing fancy worth raving. Just about okay. Breakfast wasn't included. Location was very good, bang on the road. I am terrified of the roaches in Saigon, reason I moved from a hostel in an alley to this one on the main street.

AC did not work, but I did not need it so bad then, so it was okay. Wi- fi was really fast in the room though it did not work in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 221 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 332

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.