We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Phong Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoang Phong Hotel
Save Saved
You added Hoang Phong Hotel to your Saves list
219/8A Pham Ngu Lao Street | district 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, Great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel itself is well-located, although initially hard to find since you'd have to get inside a small alley from 219 Pham Ngu Lao Street. Probably looking lost, a kind man came to us and helped us find the place.

Being walking distance to pick-up points of bus lines for tours such as Mekong Express makes it very convenient for guests. Furthermore, it's just a couple of minutes away (via Cab) from City Tour points, Ben Thahn market, and Saigon square.

Travelling with two other friends, we stayed at the family room.
This room was not that spacious [probably because we had so much stuff =)], but the beds were comfortable and clean. Despite being at the backpacker area, the place was quiet and I can guarantee a good night's sleep.

Most importantly, the comfort room did not disappoint.
It was clean and the space was just right, with hot and cold shower available.

During our stay, it seemed that they were making repairs to the room right beside ours and we could hear the noise from drilling and hammering. Fortunately, it was not during the night, so we did not mind that much. One thing that disappointed is that on our last day, someone people came in to install a hair dryer in the comfort room while were in the room. I wish that they did that after we checked out instead. We could have done without the hairdryer.

As for the food, breakfast was already inclusive in the room rate. The variety of breakfast choices can meet the needs of different customers, with the taste being average. Just enough to get you going for the day. I compliment them for their coffee (strong tasting coffee..just the way i like it) and milk, which we enjoyed.

A good hotel overall where you can say you got the value for your money. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

the hotel is very accessible, room rates are very affordable (which includes breakfast)clean and practical. all staffs were accommodating too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The rooms smell very good. I had the chance to visit their 3 rooms of different standards, from no-window room to twin and double bed room with window. So, bear in mind, they might not share the same hardware appliances. But the 3 are all very practical and comfortable rooms. The location is a bit difficult to locate, but you ust head to the shop No 219 along the busy Pham Ngu Lao street, beside the 219 shop, there is a small lane leading to the "8A" which you turn right of this lane. HCM has good postal address system, I think.

Staff so sweet and courteous, family run business. Is very convenient for me to take the many express buses to Phnom Penh. Selection of restaurants and bars nearby.

Room Tip: Well, there is no much view even if you pay for window rooms. I rather have complete darkness for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 night with an interval during our mekong delta tour. Rooms were a bit smelly and the carpet was wet due to 'i don't know what'. Beds were comfortable however and quiet, knowing the hotel is in the middle of the backpacker area.
Service in the hotel is great. You could really ask everything to the staff! Breakfast is average.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed 9-11 August 2011. Hoang Phong hotel also known as golden wind hotel.. is really a great hotel. free wifi, also they have business centre, excellent location on the backpackers area, staff are very helpful. the money that we paid is really worth it. I will really recommend it.
nothing to say about it. the best hotel in ho chi minh guaranteed. :D

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We book this hotel through Agoda. Value money. It 's located in the small alley of Pham Ngu Lao St.
The room is really big, but does not have window. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel for budget travellers.
Tips: Booking Hochiminh airport transfer at Your Local Booking website is cheaper than booking at hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Clean, comfortable bed, great location, friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoang Phong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Phong Hotel

Address: 219/8A Pham Ngu Lao Street | district 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, Hoang Phong Hotel is nearby lots of famous sightseeing, restaurants, shops and tour agencies (5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh Market and 30 minutes drive to airport). All 32 rooms are decorated modernly, elegantly with A/C, cable TV, mini bar, closet, writing table, slipper, reading light. Our hotel has elevator and almost rooms have big window, some have balcony with 4 types: standard double room, superior room, twin room, triple room. We want to bring the most comfortable staying for you. Home away from home!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Phong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.