We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Level of satisfaction dependent upon the tower allocated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Hai Long

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hoang Hai Long to your Saves list
Hoang Hai Long
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52B-62-64 Pham Hong Thai str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Gibsons, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Level of satisfaction dependent upon the tower allocated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked through Agoda for three nights at $50+ for a superior twin.

We were allocated a room on the 10th floor of the west tower (presumably the oldest of the three combined hotels). It was OK - clean but quite small with one little window. The noise level was quite high. The exercise room was above us, and so was the room used for storage by the cleaning staff. The elevator and the stairs were also noise creators. In retrospect we should have demanded a better room.

The selection at the breakfast buffet was good, though replenishment was quite slow and there was (explicitly) no pork dishes available.

The location is quite central, although we would recommend further east in the Dong Khoi area.

Room Tip: Get into one of the newer towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    146
    95
    20
    9
See reviews for
35
77
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked a room at Hoang Hai Long using Expedia for 3 nights in early January. I called the hotel around 11:30AM to inquire room availability for an early check-in (officially check-in is 2 or 3PM). They said to come in as they have a room. Upon arrival at the Hoang Hai Long lobby, the front desk personnel ushered me to what they call a new tower. They walked me past a dining area into another building. They said welcome to Alagon, the newest member of the Hoang Hai Long Group, and which just opened less than two weeks. Found out I paid $60/night on Expedia for a Deluxe room at Hoang Hai Long Hotel and ended up with a $100/night room in a brand new hotel:

• Brand new room in a brand, spanking new hotel with grand opening on 12/25/2012
• Spacious room, in all white, with elegant décor
• Nice design and layout and with attractive hardwood floor – see photos
• Tile/marble bathroom, glass-wall shower with multiple shower heads
• Free wifi connection, but it was inconsistent
• Great breakfast with hot western items in a large dining area with many tables. This dining room seemed to be common to all three towers (Hoang Hai Long, Hoang Hai Long 2, and Alagon). The Alagon tower itself also has a few dining tables to add to those already in the larger, common dining room
• Accomodating front desk staff and management. The manager gave me a discount for an upgraded room on high floor with view of the street
• Negative – safe is not yet bolted to bottom of closet; can be picked up and carried out

Although this hotel is new and I enjoyed my stay, there are two things that they should do to make it more attractive: 1) lower the asking price. The full price for my room is $100, which is very high for a 3* hotel in that area and 2) bolt down the safe in each room.

Finally – this is a tip to all travelers to Saigon (HCMC): Book hotel rooms ahead of time using online travel agencies such as Expedia and Agoda. They offer significantly lower prices than booking directly with the hotel. I asked 3 or 4 different hotels in Saigon in person for their room prices. Without exception, their quoted prices in person are higher than those on Expedia and Agoda for the same room and same nights.

Room Tip: Ask for front room (view of street) on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hoang Hai Long for 4 nights. We had a great time here, it was within easy walking distance for the market and other attractions. The rooms were of a great standard for a 3 star hotel. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. The buffet breakfast was great, although the tea was rather weak so I would recommend taking your own t-bags. We did have one evening meal in the hotel which we didn't enjoy very much. If we ever came back to Vietnam, we would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel were one of the most attentive staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in (and I'm no traveling rookie). From the moment you walk in, the staff is ready to sincerely help you. They recommended great activities, booked tours for us, guided us towards great restaurants, and even notified my husband that his wallet was in view and that we was a target for pick-pocketing (which you must be mindful of in Ho Chi Minh). They stored our luggage and gave us a room at a half-day rate since our flight didn't leave until late.

But the best thing is that it's totally affordable. For the value, this hotel is the best around. Rooms are clean and simple, everything you need with no elaborate frills. For us, an active traveling couple, it was a great choice. It is nearby the large park and right in the middle of all the city action.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel staff seemed fearful of getting into trouble. We had a split stay here and there was a great kerfuffle when we left without paying for a future airport transfer. The hotel rang the tour we were on and asked the guide to get the money from us even though we were fully paid and we had left our luggage. We felt like criminals! A shame, interesting location and ok rooms if windows are not an expectation. Good beds, good shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst the rooms were clean and of a decent standard, there was zero sound proofing and I constantly heard a phone ringing which I later worked out to be located in the hallway outside my room which I can only assume the cleaners used to communicate with each other. The bed was rock hard as well, but the wifi worked in your room which I now realise is a luxury in Vietnam. The breakfast was good compared to other hotels I have subsequently stayed in, in Vietnam. I came as part of a group tour so cannot comment on value but I wouldn't stay here given that the main purpose of a hotel is to sleep! The front desk staff speak very little English which became very frustrating especially when you have a genuine issue that needs dealing with and you either get told when breakfast is being served or offered a newspaper!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the new hotel Algoda which is linked via the restaurant, which has better sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed 3nights in this hotel. Great value for money. Clean and good breakfast provided. The rooms are however not very sound proofed. We could hear people talking in the opposite room and the TV needs to be upgraded to a flat screen). Location is excellent. Within walking distances to all the 'must see' city attractions eg the Ben Tahn market, cathedral, war museum, water puppet show. Plenty of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoang Hai Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Hai Long

Address: 52B-62-64 Pham Hong Thai str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 1)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Hai Long 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hoang Hai Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Hai Long, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;