We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sound proofing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Hai Long

Save Saved
You added Hoang Hai Long to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hoang Hai Long
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52B-62-64 Pham Hong Thai str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 347 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No sound proofing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst the rooms were clean and of a decent standard, there was zero sound proofing and I constantly heard a phone ringing which I later worked out to be located in the hallway outside my room which I can only assume the cleaners used to communicate with each other. The bed was rock hard as well, but the wifi worked in your room which I now realise is a luxury in Vietnam. The breakfast was good compared to other hotels I have subsequently stayed in, in Vietnam. I came as part of a group tour so cannot comment on value but I wouldn't stay here given that the main purpose of a hotel is to sleep! The front desk staff speak very little English which became very frustrating especially when you have a genuine issue that needs dealing with and you either get told when breakfast is being served or offered a newspaper!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the new hotel Algoda which is linked via the restaurant, which has better sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    137
    87
    19
    10
See reviews for
32
83
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed 3nights in this hotel. Great value for money. Clean and good breakfast provided. The rooms are however not very sound proofed. We could hear people talking in the opposite room and the TV needs to be upgraded to a flat screen). Location is excellent. Within walking distances to all the 'must see' city attractions eg the Ben Tahn market, cathedral, war museum, water puppet show. Plenty of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm a Canadian and a former Vietnamese national (left Vietnam in 1978). I've return to visit Vietnam each year for the past 15 years, now. I've stayed at numerous hotels, from premium western hotel chains, to the smaller locally owned and operated ones and everything in between. From all of my stays, this hotel is the best bang-for-the buck. It is a well-run, professional and clean hotel, locally owned and operated, without the inflated prices of western hotel chains in close proximity. The price is a little more than the dives nearby for backpackers, but a lot less than what western hotel chains are charging in this area. Spend some time to find the best rate on this hotel and you will be extremely pleased.

Location:
This hotel is located beside the New World Hotel. The location is central downtown. Ben Thanh Market is a couple blocks away, maybe 2 minutes walking distance. You are in the heart of downtown.

Hotel
There are 3 hotel towers on this site, the first is Hoang Hai Long 1, Hoang Hai Long 2 was constructed after that and the newest tower is called Alagon. Each have their own entrance and lobby, but a shared dining room. I've stayed in all 3 towers. As I'm writing Alagon is still being developed. On the higher floors, construction is taking place. I'm a few floors below the construction so I can not hear any of the activity, but I'm told it is taking place. Alagon is the nicer/newer of the 3 towers. But all the rooms are just as comfortable and clean.

Service/Staff
For those who are english speakers, the staff are required to take hotel service courses prior to working - they are fluent in english, so you shouldn't have any problems there. It is not their first language, so keep your expectations in check, but communication is not an issue. Their service is exceptionally good and professional. They are helpful and friendly. Always smiling and greeting, as you walk by. They are very customer service focussed.

Food
The hotel provides a breakfast voucher for each day of your stay. The breakfast is exceptional. They have hot western breakfast food, like eggs, toast, cereal, pancakes. Maybe a dozen Vietnamese dishes as well as a Pho soup station. I've had good Pho in my time, the Pho station at breakfast is one of the better Pho soups you'll get in this city. They also have an assortment of juices, milk, tea, coffee and water. An arrangement of freshly cut fruit and yogurt, is available. My favourite dish has to be the pate. Locally made, no preservatives, just delicious when spread on fresh baguette. Very good and high quality breakfast and most importantly, free.

I've also had dinner at the hotel. The prices are extremely reasonable. They are the same as food costs out on the street. The kitchen is very talented and you can get authentic, fresh vietnamese dishes or western cuisine. Give it a try, it is cleaner and more convenient than dining outside at time.

Rooms
The rooms are well put together. The bathrooms and beds are exceptionally clean and tidy. No complaints at all. Rooms are what you would expect from a western hotel. The beds are comfortable. The mattresses are on the firm side, but not hard. This is on par for south east asia and not a knock on the hotel. As a westerner we are accustomed to sleeping on softer mattresses. I'm accustomed to a firmer mattress, so I sleep well. Each room has a flat panel TV, and thermostat controlled AC. The showers are hot. They use beautiful glass shower stalls with rain shower head. Very nice touch.

Internet
There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel and computers with internet in the lobby. The speeds are very good.


Overall, I am very pleased with the hotel, I will continue to stay here year after year. My only concern is I hope the prices stay reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and felt like part of the family. The service was great, the Manager Mr. Hien was very accommodating in arranging my room...the rooms were good size and clean, room service was efficient, the reception staff and the bellboys were excellent in helping me with directions and taxi service...I would even get hot tea while reading my book in the lobby..The breakfast had a good selection of Asian and Western food and good service, there was also a Tour Desk that booked all your needs for sightseeing . Am looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: ask for street view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very much a large group hotel. When we checked in three large groups had their luggage grouped in the lobby. It appears the hotel has expanded and now has an annex. Rooms in the annex are okay and clean, but a little worn looking. Have room safe and excellent wifi connection. There's a separate hotel entrance for the annex only about 20 meters from the main hotel entrance (a small hotel is sandwiched between the main hotel and annex) although both the main hotel and annex are connected by a common dining room. The breakfast selection is quite limited for Western food although there is a vast selection of Asian items. Located near the Ben Thanh market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Do not stay in the east wing of this hotel! Very small rooms, ours looked out at a dirty brick wall. Hallways are claustrophobic and cluttered with staff squatting outside the service rooms right outside the elevator.
Rooms come with a kettle and cups but no tea or coffee????
Pleasant lobby but a lot of steps up to it and vitually no seating area. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff at this hotel are the friendliest I have ever encountered, but maybe it's the Vietnamese in general. The rooms are a good size and well appointed and the bathrooms are very modern and stylish. The rooms are cleaned every day and the staff are very willing to help with anything you desire. Breakfast was included in the price and was always a good selection and very tasty. I really enjoyed my time at this hotel and found it to be such great value that we cancelled a weekend in Singapore just to stay longer here.
The hotel is located a short walk from the Markets, the Presidential Palace and the War Reminants Museum as well as other local attractions and some great restraunts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on or near the top floor. I was on the third floor and found I could hear noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre2556, General Manager at Hoang Hai Long, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Sir

Greetings from Hoang Hai Long Hotel

Thank you very much for your choosing our hotel during your stay in Ho Chi Minh city and appreciated for your valuable feedback regarding our services

It has been our pleasure to serve you and we want you to know that we truly value your supports, it has helped to keep our operation run smoothly and try the best to provide our guests with excellence services

We look forward to many more times of serving you, and wish you get home safety

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR
Pierre Phong Le
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoang Hai Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Hai Long

Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 52B-62-64 Pham Hong Thai str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 1)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#61 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Hai Long 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hoang Hai Long reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Hai Long, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.