We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sherwood Residence to your Saves list
Sherwood Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Pasteur Str, Dist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Sherwood residence. Its location (District 3 - but walking distance to District 1) was good. We had a 3 bedroom, ensuite apartment, which was a little dated and worn in places, but clean and spacious. The washing machine and drier were handy to have.

The included buffet breakfast was great - one of the better breakfasts we had on our trip. The menu and food quality for the dinner we had in the restaurant was okay - pretty "standard" fare.

The pool and games rooms were fantastic for the family to have some "down time".

I was stunned at the charging for WiFi - it was the only place we stayed in Vietnam that charged, and at $15 US/day, it was very expensive.

The staff were helpful at all times.

There is a supermarket across the road from the rear entry of the establishment, which was very handy. Initially it appeared that there were few other decent dining options nearby, however a good explore of neighbouring streets soon found us some decent restaurants.

The shuttle bus into the city went regularly. Drop off points were at average restaurants - we were suckered into thinking they must be okay restaurants if they were recommended by Sherwood - not so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sherwood Residence for your last stay in Ho Chi Minh City and for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback about our property, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

Your praise about our team’s helpfulness and breakfast has delighted us and we are glad that we were able to make your special stay one to remember.

The comments you have made on internet fee as well as our group owned restaurants have been noted and discussed with our management team for revision and we do equally appreciate for letting us know about them.

Looking forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future we remain with

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    88
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
192
19
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is semi centrally located in district 3 and is very comfortable and secure. Wifi was 15usd per day which is ridiculous considering every other place I stayed in Vietnam both cheap and expensive had free wifi. There is a free hourly shuttle to district 1 which takes you to the lacklustre and overpriced western restaurants that are owned by the hotel chain. This would be a great place to stay for business travel or if you had afamily or group as it is serviced apartments rather than a hotel and has kitchen and laundry facilities and a supermarket next door. However if you are a tourist visiting for afew days you would be better off in a hotel in the central district 1. This place is very expensive compared to what you get elsewhere in Vietnam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the comfort and security at our property, though the comments you made on internet price are most welcome and have been discussed with our Management.

As for our 4 group owned restaurants: Japanese Kissho Restaurant, German Gartenstadt Restaurant, Amigo Grill Restaurant and Cafe Central we do very much regret that we have not met your taste.

Indeed you are right, we are a serviced apartment residence rather than a hotel, as our spacious and fully equipped apartments (82m²- 143m²) allow long term guests as well as families or business traveler on an extended stay to feel "home away from home" though we are operating with all hotel facilities needed.

Once more, thank you very much for your comments and we do hope that you had a safe trip back home.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first stop on a very long flight from Europe. We booked on the recommendations from this site and were more than pleased with not only the legendary upgrade but the service , friendliness and facilities of the Sherwood Residence. The pool and games room were well patronised by our 2 children aged 10 and 6. The location is actually better than we had been led to believe. You don't necessarily need to take a taxi to get to the centre but it is a good idea if you are not used to the heat. We mainly did our touristy things in the morning after the huge buffet breakfast and then retreated back to the pool in the afternoon just to get a break from the heat. Someone did some thinking when they designed the pool area too because they have taken into account that not everyone wants to have the sunlight on them despite wanting to swim. Half the the pool is under the shade of the hotel. We were extra lucky to be there during weekends when they serve free ice cream and popcorn, Bonus !! The apartments themselves are great. Beds on the firm side, bathrooms are spacious and have everything you need. We managed to use the washer and dryer at least twice and the swim wear automatically went straight in after the pool sessions. We didn't have much call for the fully equipped kitchen but if you need it, it should suit your purposes. I should also mention that we ended up staying here twice. After going up north and doing Hoi san, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi we just had to go back to the Sherwood for another couple of days. The kids basically demanded it and we could not say no. The second stay was just as good as the first but this time we concentrated on the attractions and facilities in the immediate vicinity. We revisited the "Pho Co" restaurant just around the corner in 211 Ter, Dien Bien Phu street. Best Vietnamese food we had during our entire trip. Just parallel on Pham Noc Thach there are a few Spas to choose from. We settled on Rosies Garden where my wife got a great body and face package and the kids got spoilt with massages.

I can't really identify any cons about the Sherwood. One thing I can give advice on is that you don't actually need to use the Airport shuttle service. Even though it was great to have someone standing there with my name and a huge smile when I arrived it is actually cheaper if you can just grab a cab. Look for Vinasun or MaiLinh like everyone recommends. They will drive you straight to the door for 150 000 instead of the 700 000 for the shuttle. I booked it because I wanted something safe and predictable in case I was in a zombie like state after the flight over.

So back to the postives , like the title says our whole time staying at the Sherwood was just an exercise in how spoilt we could get. As you can guess I not only recommend this place, it is perfect for the start and/or finish of your Vietnam experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive and complimentary feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

We at 'Sherwood Residence' strive to make every guest satisfied and leave us with excellent memories of their stay. Guests' satisfaction is our main priority and that you have been satisfied with our facilities, services and friendliness is our very big reward!

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized. That your kids have “demanded" to come back to our property has made us very proud.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember!


Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Perfect for a family. Just feel bad, I wasn't able to get the name of the girl in the Front Desk who was simply the most helpful personnel I ever saw in all the hotels I have been to. While waiting for our Tour Guide, she approached me and asked for the Tour Guide's number and called him to let him know we're waiting already. That's how nice she is. Completely recommending Sherwood Residence. Plus their Shuttle Service by the hour is truly very helpful. The only downside is their breakfast, nothing special. Another plus point is the washer and dryer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was most pleasing to read that one of our receptionists has created a lasting memory of your stay here with us and has provided outstanding service that you have never experienced before. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our entire team.

The comments you made on breakfast are most appreciated and have been discussed with our Food & Beverage team for improvement.

Looking forward to providing you and your friends with another unforgettable stay in the very near future we remain with

best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bed apartment. The apartment is large, spacious and clean. The apartment has a kitchen, with washing machine ( very handy ) and 2 bathrooms. The swimming pool is a nice touch, and we found it no trouble in finding some loungers to spend a couple of hours towards the latter part of the day. There is a nice area with table tennis , a pool table, and a separate well equipped gym. Breakfast was fine, although a couple of times the service could of been better. The hotel runs a regular free shuttle bus to downtown, which is about a leisurely 15 to 20 mins walk away. Most evenings we walked downtown and walked back. There is a co-op to the rear of the hotel as well as a decent restaurant. Also the war remnants museum is only a short walk away. We stayed here mainly because of the convenience of having a 3 bed apartment, and the Sherwood ticked all of our boxes nicely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback and comments following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you and your family have enjoyed our various facilities tailored for families and that we were able to "tick all of (y)our boxes nicely" is a comment that we are very happy to receive and proud off.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we do hope to be able to welcoming you and your family in the very near future for another "Sherwood Experience".

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The services offered were beyond our expectations. The rooms are spacious and clean. We highly recommend this hotel for its location and the outstanding customer service that they provide. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your brief and extremely positive feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

The entire Sherwood Team is delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations and that the daily trainings we are providing has made your stay a memorable one to remember. We do believe in customer satisfaction and that you would highly recommend our property is our biggest reward.

Hoping to be able to welcoming you and and your friends back one day in the near future, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyng
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just a 5 minute taxi ride from down-town Saigon this hotel is more of an apartment block than hotel. We had a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 large bathrooms, full kitchen as well as both a washer and dryer. The rooms were well appointed with large sitting room, dining table balcony with views over the city etc... The swimming pool area was great with comfy sunbeds, a large pool and also a smaller childrens pool. Table tennis and pool tables were available for use and there was also a small childrens play area (indoors) for the very little ones.

There are always taxi's waiting outside the hotel with someone there to ensure you get a proper metered taxi and that they know where you are going.

A lovely place to stay with great facilities, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. There is also a Co-Op supermarket just behind the hotel which is very handy for drinks, crisps etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your comments and review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

Our spacious apartments are designed to accommodate long term bookings as well as families on a short vacation trip and we are going the extra mile to ensure all our guests get that something special and experience an excellent stay to remember. You were able to experience both!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!


Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Address: 127 Pasteur Str, Dist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#42 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.