We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt for Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sherwood Residence to your Saves list
Sherwood Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Pasteur Str, Dist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Oslo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spoilt for Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first stop on a very long flight from Europe. We booked on the recommendations from this site and were more than pleased with not only the legendary upgrade but the service , friendliness and facilities of the Sherwood Residence. The pool and games room were well patronised by our 2 children aged 10 and 6. The location is actually better than we had been led to believe. You don't necessarily need to take a taxi to get to the centre but it is a good idea if you are not used to the heat. We mainly did our touristy things in the morning after the huge buffet breakfast and then retreated back to the pool in the afternoon just to get a break from the heat. Someone did some thinking when they designed the pool area too because they have taken into account that not everyone wants to have the sunlight on them despite wanting to swim. Half the the pool is under the shade of the hotel. We were extra lucky to be there during weekends when they serve free ice cream and popcorn, Bonus !! The apartments themselves are great. Beds on the firm side, bathrooms are spacious and have everything you need. We managed to use the washer and dryer at least twice and the swim wear automatically went straight in after the pool sessions. We didn't have much call for the fully equipped kitchen but if you need it, it should suit your purposes. I should also mention that we ended up staying here twice. After going up north and doing Hoi san, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi we just had to go back to the Sherwood for another couple of days. The kids basically demanded it and we could not say no. The second stay was just as good as the first but this time we concentrated on the attractions and facilities in the immediate vicinity. We revisited the "Pho Co" restaurant just around the corner in 211 Ter, Dien Bien Phu street. Best Vietnamese food we had during our entire trip. Just parallel on Pham Noc Thach there are a few Spas to choose from. We settled on Rosies Garden where my wife got a great body and face package and the kids got spoilt with massages.

I can't really identify any cons about the Sherwood. One thing I can give advice on is that you don't actually need to use the Airport shuttle service. Even though it was great to have someone standing there with my name and a huge smile when I arrived it is actually cheaper if you can just grab a cab. Look for Vinasun or MaiLinh like everyone recommends. They will drive you straight to the door for 150 000 instead of the 700 000 for the shuttle. I booked it because I wanted something safe and predictable in case I was in a zombie like state after the flight over.

So back to the postives , like the title says our whole time staying at the Sherwood was just an exercise in how spoilt we could get. As you can guess I not only recommend this place, it is perfect for the start and/or finish of your Vietnam experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive and complimentary feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

We at 'Sherwood Residence' strive to make every guest satisfied and leave us with excellent memories of their stay. Guests' satisfaction is our main priority and that you have been satisfied with our facilities, services and friendliness is our very big reward!

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized. That your kids have “demanded" to come back to our property has made us very proud.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember!


Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    91
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
195
20
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Perfect for a family. Just feel bad, I wasn't able to get the name of the girl in the Front Desk who was simply the most helpful personnel I ever saw in all the hotels I have been to. While waiting for our Tour Guide, she approached me and asked for the Tour Guide's number and called him to let him know we're waiting already. That's how nice she is. Completely recommending Sherwood Residence. Plus their Shuttle Service by the hour is truly very helpful. The only downside is their breakfast, nothing special. Another plus point is the washer and dryer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was most pleasing to read that one of our receptionists has created a lasting memory of your stay here with us and has provided outstanding service that you have never experienced before. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our entire team.

The comments you made on breakfast are most appreciated and have been discussed with our Food & Beverage team for improvement.

Looking forward to providing you and your friends with another unforgettable stay in the very near future we remain with

best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bed apartment. The apartment is large, spacious and clean. The apartment has a kitchen, with washing machine ( very handy ) and 2 bathrooms. The swimming pool is a nice touch, and we found it no trouble in finding some loungers to spend a couple of hours towards the latter part of the day. There is a nice area with table tennis , a pool table, and a separate well equipped gym. Breakfast was fine, although a couple of times the service could of been better. The hotel runs a regular free shuttle bus to downtown, which is about a leisurely 15 to 20 mins walk away. Most evenings we walked downtown and walked back. There is a co-op to the rear of the hotel as well as a decent restaurant. Also the war remnants museum is only a short walk away. We stayed here mainly because of the convenience of having a 3 bed apartment, and the Sherwood ticked all of our boxes nicely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback and comments following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you and your family have enjoyed our various facilities tailored for families and that we were able to "tick all of (y)our boxes nicely" is a comment that we are very happy to receive and proud off.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we do hope to be able to welcoming you and your family in the very near future for another "Sherwood Experience".

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The services offered were beyond our expectations. The rooms are spacious and clean. We highly recommend this hotel for its location and the outstanding customer service that they provide. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your brief and extremely positive feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

The entire Sherwood Team is delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations and that the daily trainings we are providing has made your stay a memorable one to remember. We do believe in customer satisfaction and that you would highly recommend our property is our biggest reward.

Hoping to be able to welcoming you and and your friends back one day in the near future, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyng
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just a 5 minute taxi ride from down-town Saigon this hotel is more of an apartment block than hotel. We had a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 large bathrooms, full kitchen as well as both a washer and dryer. The rooms were well appointed with large sitting room, dining table balcony with views over the city etc... The swimming pool area was great with comfy sunbeds, a large pool and also a smaller childrens pool. Table tennis and pool tables were available for use and there was also a small childrens play area (indoors) for the very little ones.

There are always taxi's waiting outside the hotel with someone there to ensure you get a proper metered taxi and that they know where you are going.

A lovely place to stay with great facilities, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. There is also a Co-Op supermarket just behind the hotel which is very handy for drinks, crisps etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your comments and review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

Our spacious apartments are designed to accommodate long term bookings as well as families on a short vacation trip and we are going the extra mile to ensure all our guests get that something special and experience an excellent stay to remember. You were able to experience both!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!


Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped for a total of 5 nights. Lovely hotel with a good location. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which had everything you possibly need. It was good to have a kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer, fridge and freezer. Apartment modern and clean. The pool area is particularly nice and quiet and pool spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun loungers and not heavily used. Had room service first night and food excellent and good price. The hotel is a short taxi ride from centre (only cost £1-2) and is within short walk of war museum. The hotel does have a free shuttle bus as well but taxis are so cheap and plentiful we just got one of these. Not much of a bar at the hotel but we just want out for food ad drink. Breakfast was good. Not a massive amount of choice but plenty enough even for a fussy 7 year old. Staff very friendly and helpful. Is a lot cheaper than the big hotels in the centre and gives plenty of space and facilities in the apartment so particularly good for families. I really enjoyed stopping at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delightful to read that you have enjoyed our "excellent" room service food, "good" breakfast selection, friendliness and helpfulness of our entire staff and that we were able to make your special stay one to remember.

We do hope to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment and were happy with the location, size and cleanliness. Breakfast was great and the pool and gym excellent. Only negative was we booked a transfer from the airport which cost us $45 but caught a taxi to the airport at the end of the stay and it cost $5!!! Still don't understand why so much different. Supermarket around the corner, ANZ ATM across the road. War Remnants museum and reunification palace in waking distance. Shuttle service is good but we also enjoyed the walk into town which was ok even with 3 kids (4, 5 & 8).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

The entire team is delighted that you have enjoyed our services and facilities as well as the close location to most of the attractions in Ho Chi Minh City.

The comments you made on our personalized airport pick up with property owned bus are most welcome and have been discussed with our management team.

We hope to be able to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Address: 127 Pasteur Str, Dist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.