We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal before a long train trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant

KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant
59 Van Mieu | Dong Da District, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3 747 0337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,043 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great meal before a long train trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were taken to this restaurant by our guide prior to our train trip to Sapa. Thinking that it would be something quick and easy to get us through the long overnight journey, this was a pleasant surprise. We had multiple Vietnamese courses and everything was so tasty. The meat was tender and service was spot on. The restaurant also offers western food. I can't comment on this. All food in Vietnam is great, but this was the best by far.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    434
    145
    26
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service, great cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a wonderful evening at koto. The service was second to none, and the food was tasty with the following exception of my duck which was quite fatty and chewy. I would definitely recommend the desserts, we had the matcha cake which was the best sweet I've had in Vietnam. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another great meal..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant. The first time was in July 2013 as part of an organised tour group and we all thought the food was wonderful and the service excellent. I am now back in Vietnam with my husband and I wanted to return again. We went there for dinner and had the the mixed combo to share, the five spice duck and the chicken breast with lemongrass. We thought all meals were beautiful. The service was excellent, very quick and attentive. There were a number of tour groups in there at the time but that did not bother us. For the meal and a few beers and water it was about $34 dollars. Very good value for the quality of food. It is also supporting a wonderful cause by providing training and employment opportunities for those less fortunate. So glad we could experience it again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food at a busy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

One of us had Vietnamese food and the other Western - both were tasty. Service was slow butt with a warm smile, and they were very busy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A training institute that delivers and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to Koto because it was a hospitality training institute set up by an Australian to help street kids. My husband has a hospitality training background so this was must do for us. The food was great and the kids were fabulous. We sat on a long fusion bench and ate a leisurely lunch before heading out to the airport. A great end to a short visit to Hanoi. What a wonderful to do, to provide skills to kids so they can have a future. Well done Koto.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.