We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great cause!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant

KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant
59 Van Mieu | Dong Da District, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3 747 0337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,024 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food at Koto is incredible! we were fresh off the plane in crazy Hanoi, we instantly fell in love with the vietnamese food.
The service is excellent.
I recommend it anyone wanting authentic vietnamese food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    424
    145
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So glad we found Koto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hanoi was our first stop in Vietnam and after two days of wandering around eating street food we just wanted to sit down in aircon and eat some 'normal' food! We found Koto on TA and it was right around the corner from our hotel so we went ahead and booked.
My husband and I were both very impressed with the quality of the food, our only criticism would be that we really had to look around to get the attention of staff to order drinks (no big deal really!).
We ordered an entree, two mains, two beers and three ginger martinis and the bill came to 657,000vnd ($32.85) which we felt was an extremely good price.
I highly recommend the ginger martinis!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great tasting and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

If you're after reliably good Vietnamese food in a clean western setting then head here. I went there twice during my time in Hanoi and each time really enjoyed it. Great story and initiative behind supporting kids on the street. Won't be the most "authentic" experience but the flavours were as good as anywhere else we tried and less likely to get any tummy bugs. Make sure you try the honey prawns!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great food, service and a great story too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Koto is a charity which takes street kids and teaches them life skills. While I love to support this type of venture, I am normally a little dubious that service etc will be a little amateur.

However, there is no need to be worried here. The service is outstanding as is the food, a nice eclectic mix of Vietnamese and western dishes. I didn't even realize it was a charity until I read the literature on the table.

Hanoi has some of the best restaurants in the world so this place has to have high standards to compete, and it certainly does.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food, great fun, good project”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Don't go just because it's a great project to train up street kids into the restaurant business - go because the food is good, the atmosphere is great and it has a good feel to it. Service is OK (not great, but perfectly acceptable and certainly not the worst we had in Vietnam) and the trainees are well supervised. Range of Vietnamese and western dishes, including soups, noodles and Bun Cha.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.