We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Temple of Literature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant

KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant
59 Van Mieu | Dong Da District, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3 747 0337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,013 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Next to Temple of Literature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

How can you not appreciate what KOTO is doing. The food was great and the staff was all smiles. A great place to spend your money and feel perfectly happy about it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    369
    126
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Many travelers, though serving dishes with average level taste in Hanoi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Almost all guests were travelers from foreign countries. We supposed that this shop is praised in popular travel guide books. However, the dishes were not exceptional and not worth spending limited lunch time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food was average but service from the kids were good! I had ordered both asian & western & i say go with the Asian cuisine. it tasted alot better!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food and well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Such an amazing setup and well worth supporting. The food was great and servers were very well mannered and their English was clearly well practised.. We will defo visit the Saigon one when we there... Highly recommend this place and it's right next to the temple of literature which was a great place to visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and for a great cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Came across this by chance and so glad we had dinner there, in fact we went back for a second time during our stay. 1st time we sat upstairs opposite the bar, casual seating which was nice. The waitress was a trainee and just lovely. Her English was ok however, it was so nice to see someone trying so hard and smiling so much. I wish her the best of luck. The 2nd time we sat downstairs, and on both occasions went early 5.00pm, once 6pm you really need a booking.

Food on both occasions was awesome, hot and flavoursome. Desserts are a little ordinary but the ice cream selection is yummy. By Australian standards this restaurant is incredibly cheap so we had no hesitation in buying a brick to help them build more restaurants to support disadvantaged kids in Vietnam.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOTO on Van Mieu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.