We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pottery and Ceramics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bat Trang Ceramic Village

Bat Trang Ceramic Village
Bat Trang Commune, Gia Lam District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and...
Ranked #12 of 84 Shopping in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This traditional pottery-making village is an hour from Hanoi. Visitors can participate in pottery-making workshops and purchase already-made goods from local artisans.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pottery and Ceramics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to this village as we were lucky enough to be accompanied by two of the wonderful Hanoikids Nhat and Cuong. Apart from being taken into the workshops and seeing the various stages of pottery production (all hand done), we also got to go through the maze of narrow back streets and alleyways of the village until we arrived at the village temple and meeting place. This was an unexpected surprise and worth seeing if you are with someone who knows where to go (as we were).

I was hoping to buy some pieces of the beautiful traditional dragonfly pottery I had seen in various places around Hanoi and was not disappointed. There was a huge range of traditional pottery as well as modern ceramics and prices were very very good. I had read some reviews saying that things were quite expensive here. I am not sure what those people experienced however we definitely found things to be very cheap and affordable, especially as most items are completely hand made from start to finish. I only wish I could have taken home more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    88
    62
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a short trip from Hanoi and well worth the effort. You get to see people making all types of ceramic pots and plates and can wander into any workshop to watch them in all stages of the process and even buy something if you want. However everyone seemed happy to let you watch them and take photos. There is even a wonderful place that you can buy (or just look at) antique ceramics of absolutely mind-boggling detail.
Many places allow you to have a go at making your own pot - and help you in the process. You keep going until you are bored with it - which in the case of my partner was HOURS...at a very low price. Then they fire it and you can paint it however you like. Almost went back twice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmurano, Italy
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great experience making our own...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not sure why the negative comments, if you go to the right place there are lots of warehouses with real people making handmade ceramics, we even got to make our own...amazing watching them do this tedious work and make such little money, definitely a short trip worth taking near Ha Noi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“It's amazing to create your own ceramic products”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice market buying some kind of ceramic products such as bow,pot, vase and etc. And you can create your own ceramic product. It is amazing and wonderful when you see your product even it looks not nice enough :D

Then you can go to some artists house there to see the process of making ceramic products. You can have small talk with them and understand more about their hardness but full of passion.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good bargain for good ceramic presents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went there for one day tour recommended by the hotel where i was staying.

Nice market for buy any kind of ceramic products : bow, pot, vase, games , anything ..... Be careful with the price you bargain, always reduce 30% from what the seller says.

You could also take part into the workflow of designing your own product. This is very interesting and this made my day well-worth

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bat Trang Ceramic Village also viewed

 

Been to Bat Trang Ceramic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bat Trang Ceramic Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.