We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ladybird Restaurant

Ladybird Restaurant
57 Hang Buom Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
84 9261863
Improve this listing
Ranked #254 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went here last night based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews, but the experience was so lacklustre that it prompted me to create my own account here. The squid with garlic and butter was just greasy and bland, with no seasoning. The duck with lemongrass and chilli was borderline tasteless, with grey duck that looked and tasted more like beef and next to no chilli. We asked for some extra but it never arrived. Next up was the beef skewers with sesame, which was OK and probably the best dish of the night but we didn't actually order it - we asked for the beef satay and confirmed twice with the waitress but still ended up with the wrong dish. We ate it anyway because at that stage we just wanted to finish eating and leave. The cocktails were pretty decent and cheap, which bumps this up to a two-star rating. Of course, we ordered them first and they took a lifetime to arrive.

There was also a rat running around the ceiling just above the dining area. True story. Avoid this place unless you have no taste. It's possible they've toned down the flavours to suit a safer western palate but it shouldn't sacrifice actual quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    16
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 star because of decent pricing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I lunched there, ordered a starter (butter and garlic squid) and then the shrimp/cashew nut combination (yes I like seafood). The two dishes were brought more or less at the same time so if you want a hot meal I recommend you order the main course as they bring the starter. Both dishes were quite satisfying but frankly looked and tasted like nr 45 and 67 at my favorite Belgian chinese restaurant : in other words rather generic Asian food. People looking for really authentic Vietnamese food should probably look elsewhere.
Plus : friendly and (almost too) quick service, nice tables, relatively clean restaurant, price including half a liter of Hanoi beer including tip about 6 euro. Therefore upgrade from 3 to 4 stars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good sized meals, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family ate here for a late lunch, the staff were friendly and efficient. The service was great and the food fantastic. My daughter got the BLT, which was a good portion and we all looked on enviously! When my American burger arrived I was very happy, tasty and great value. The balcony was wonderful to people watch in the old quarter. I can't speak more highly of the wonderful staff, I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great balcony”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had sound meals here at a good price. The average rating is because my partner found her fish a bit oily, which was a contrast to other meals we had in vietnam. Great balcony to chill and people watch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a great place for a meal. The venue is beautifully appointed in a low key way and the food is excellent and very good value, with a varied menu. The staff are always smiling and very attentive - thank you. Importantly, the house wine is well priced and drinkable - not easy to find in Hanoi!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladybird Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ladybird Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladybird Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.