We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi City Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just back to home and cannot wait to write a review. All staffs are very nice and helpful. The size for room is good enough, laptop inside the room, bed is comfortable. The location is not exactly in the centre point but good distance to everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    170
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
191
480
94
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nhulunbuy, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Sorry for the late review, had no computer untill now - Better Late than Never.

So, we stayed at this Hotel on our second leg of our Vietnam Adventures in May/June 2012. The service that we recievd from the moment we were picked up from the airport till we checked out was above expectations, the staff and management were 1st class.

This is a nice little elegant (as the name sugests) hotel, its located in the old quarter of Hanoi but that is the best part for travelers as you can expierence so much just out your front door.
We had booked a junior suite, but on arrival was given an upgrade at no extra cost, this just made our day as this was something we did not expect. We had only booked 2nights as we did not know what we wanted to do, to stay in Hanoi or travel up to Sapa or Halong Bay. We spoke to the gentalman at the tours desk located in the loby, he showed us what Hanoi and the North Vietnam had to offer, we then decied to go to halong bay on the day we were due to check out, the gentalman at the tour desk made some phone calls on our behalf to see what avaliablility there was on the boat cruises, on the day we were due to check out they were all fully booked so he offered to help us to arrange alternative days, indoing this he offered for us to saty another night then to go to halong bay the day after, we decied to do this as it was so much easier. He even arranged our accomodation when we were returning to Hanoi for Halon Bay whitch was real customer service if i have ever seen it, on departing the hotel to halong they noticed how much bags we had, as we were only going for one night they sugested that we take out an overnight bag and that they would look after our bags for us, when we returned our bags were already in our room waiting (this is such a nice touch as this kind of service in Australia is so hard to come by) we had a couple of other tours arranged through the gentalman in the loby and were not disapointed with the service( not to mention he made sure we were the only people on the tour so it was more private)

The Rooms are above quality and the beds were like clouds (whitch in Vietnam is a plus). Fruit platters every day and comp bottle of Hanoi Red was a great touch.

The Hotel has a small dining room whitch serves breckie in the morning - no buffet style but the quality and the menue was great - as it is such hot days there a lighter breckie is always better.
The Hotel chain has two other hotels located in walking distance - one has a resturant on the top floor whitch the food and the service was 5star.

I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone looking for someware to stay in Hanoi. I know on our next adventure to Hanoi this will be where we are staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This nice little boutique hotel has a good location (in the Old Quarter), nice, clean rooms and fantastic service provided by all staff at the hotel (yes, all staff). We had planned to stay at another of the Hotel Elegance group (Hotel Ruby) however the deluxe double room was not available so we took the room at the Sapphire instead.

The staff are friendly and helpful, explaining everything on arrival, suggesting restaurants to eat at, organizing taxis for us, and serving breakfast (loved the bircher muesli).
The deluxe room, although a little narrow, was more spacious than I expected (as it is long), and had a window looking into the corridor/light well, rather than the street, but this was still ok. There are some quirky features to some of the rooms such as the ‘throne’ looking toilets/basins (however not all rooms have these).

We stayed a couple of nights, then went on tour to Halong Bay, returned for a night, then went on another tour (to Sapa). On our last return to Hanoi we didn’t stay the night but arrived a the hotel, had breakfast, were given a room to shower in, then got an organized transfer to the airport through the hotel. The staff moved our bags around numerous times with all the coming and going we had – and didn’t seem to mind at all!

All our tour bookings were handled well and it made it easy going through the hotel. The staff looked after our luggage between trips so that we didn’t have to take it with us on each of the short trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful staff, very clean rooms, great breakfast, and right in the old quarter. Easy walking distance to touristy areas. Not a great big hotel, but the services made up for it. Tours offered by the hotel can be found elsewhere for a lesser price, but the quality can vary. We did book our tours with Sinh Tours which wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

just need to agree with pretty much what every one else says about this small boutique hotel. the staff are very helpful - my thanks especially to mr long - nothing seems too much trouble. i would have some minor quibbles with the breakfast and room if this were a 5 star or expensive hotel but what you pay represents fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very convenient location, room is clean and very comfortable, breafast was hot and tasty. Staff are friendly, warm, and very helpful, they really go out of their way to help guests, it makes a big difference.

We went back to the hotel 1 early morning, after we came back from Sapa by train, since we left our luggages at the hotel. They let us use the shower, brought us fresh towels and soap, even though we already checked out and it was 5:30am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely experience, unusual but great breakfast as you can choose off a menu, and lovely and clean room. Very central, right on hang bong street so easy to walk, and very nice staff! Go snd see the different streets around it. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#19 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi City Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.