We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sane oasis in an otherwise crazy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hanoi Westlake to your Saves list
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #88 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sane oasis in an otherwise crazy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Booked on-line and was so very pleased to have gotten a room in the bungalows on stilts in West Lake. The alternative was rooms in the main building and really not sure how I lucked out!
Hotel was festively decorated for Christmas with what seemed to be a blind/ sight impaired group of teen carolers in the lobby Christmas Eve--nice touch!
Took me a while to get a grip on the usd/dong conversion but all receipts had the dollar equivalent on it as well.
Concierge desk had good suggestions.
Perhaps because I had also booked a limo pickup from the airport, when I arrived I was already checked in and escorted by "Twee" by golf cart to my room. She suggested a $60 a night upgrade for breakfast buffet, and access to the Business Center for computer access and nightly Happy Hour and all day snacks. A bit pricey but overall worth it!
Unlike previous posts, I found all staff interactions positive and English understandable,,,hey it's their country and can't expect perfect diction!
Had a massage out by the pool which was lovely too.
Would definitely come back,,,,if I had a compelling reason to return to Vietnam.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    408
    122
    35
    31
See reviews for
159
480
68
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

If you want the real Vietnam experience with all the glorious hustle and bustle of Hanoi, then the InterConti Westlake is not for you. However, as we had just finished a very full-on tour of Vietnam, this hotel was perfect for some much needed rest and relaxation before heading home. Highs = Incredibly comfy beds, stunning views of Hanoi and delicious cocktails in the Sunset Bar. Lows = No manicures/pedicures in the spa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We just spent three nights here. As my husband just said, the biggest problem with this hotel is it's location. Hanoi is noisy, polluted, and not pretty at all. The hotel was very nicely decorated for Christmas and all the staff was nice to my family. Being December, the pool was pretty cold but my daughter did dare to go in for about 20 minutes. The breakfast buffet was very nice too - yummy waffles and omelets. The Italian restaurant was just OK; the pizza was too greasy. All the restaurants at the hotel were expensive. The rooms were decent with a nice view. Each bathroom has shutters in it that cannot be locked so privacy may be an issue for some.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
1,355 helpful votes 1,355 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The hotel is located in a more affluent part of town far away from the dizzying craziness of the Old French Quarter, beautifully designed with executive rooms built over the lake to give you a sense of floating calmness from the balcony.

Our Exec room 645 was furnished in tasteful contemporary Asian designs with soft lighting & lamps. Our Ambassador upgrade didn't get us a suite but a stylish room over the water. The free pillow menu had under-sized pillows but the room pillows were quite divine anyway. King-sized bed, 1000 TC sheets, robes, slippers & quality Elemis bath products in the generously sized bathroom with shower large enough for 3 people if you like to have fun. There were 2 wash basins for him & her & super large wall sized mirror, such thoughtful designing allow couples to not only shower together but to enjoy the rituals of bathing & companionship..

The Club Lounge is located at the other end of the hotel & from experience, staff were reluctant to walk the entire way to show Club guests the facilities but they were at least well dressed, that’s a positive?! The Club Lounge is not as spectacular as the hotel’s design but the canapés during Evening Cocktails was superb if not limited in variety. The Sunset Bar is a beautiful location on the lake shore to have a few rounds & watch the stars come out preferably in the company of a beautiful lady or two. Staff here seem as if they are contractors rather than InterContinental staff & not really of high standard.

The hotel layout is a resort style setting with tree-lined walkways which guests uncomfortably share with hotel golf buggies. The exec rooms on the lake resemble European mansions & are tastefully lit up at night however these rooms are plagued by insects from the lake prompting signs on the balcony doors warning guests not to leave doors open. The cheaper Deluxe & Standard rooms are located with the reception building so if staying in them here's a tip, ask for the Pool View rooms behind whom have great views of the huge lake.

Although it’s a nice location its not within walking distance to any of the city’s main attractions & will cost approx $10 USD for a taxi to the Old Quarter of Hanoi. Hotel guards refuse xe-om motorbike riders access to the front even if guests are on the back so save yourself the embarrassment & walk in from the gate where you can also find them waiting for business, fares to Hanoi are approx $3 USD.

Unfortunately our stay was affected by front desk Vietnamese staff who seemed lazy & really only displayed professionalism when around Caucasian guests, this is sometimes known as having rats as employees although the Hanoi Westlake InterCon is certainly no garbage dump. From a virtually non-existent Priority Club program, to staff who neglected our benefits, charged us for our Ambassador privileges & had staff trying to chat up my 2 lady friends, one being my gf, it doesn’t seem quite 5 star to me but looks the part, it’s like paying someone to take your wife out, you feel cheated.! We were assured by the hotel general manager William Lau that changes were in place but his response seemed robotic & rather defensive, i suspect he is well aware my concerns.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

this hotel is situated at the westlake at a short distance from the city center of hanoi, between the airport and the center. it offers rooms in bungalowstyle on the water or alternatively rooms in the mainbuilding on the border of the lake. we first had a room in a "bungalow" on the water: really exceptionnal because these rooms give you the impression of living on the water: really fantastic ! the rooms themselves are spacious, modern, have nice furniture and are very clean. the highest standards are respected here ! on the second day we unfortunately got very "noisy" neighbours in the room next to us. they made so much noice during the noight that we asked the following day for another room. without any problem we got another room in the mainbuilding on the topfloor. a very nice and spacious room as well: and this time: also very quiet ! thanks for,that ! the whole hotel is really exceptionnal. very nice and friendly staff, nice restaurants and everything very well kept. this hotel is to me the best in hanoi and even better that the so much praised metropole hotel, which is much more cramped than the intercontinental westlake. only small minbus are the mosquitos that live on the water. so you better keep your windows closed during the night !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

A year ago I told this hotel was #1 in Hanoi. I still believe it is the case; however its gradually loosing its excellence. General staff attitude is less pro-active and helpfull as before- room are the same ; they could use some ectra maintenance. Its still a very good hotel but is on the way back...so Intyercontinental Hanoi its you choice whether to imrove. Restaurant seemed also lost in quality compared to a year ago....nothing dramatic but need to upgrade quality! If it keeps going down then next year they would fall into average category.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

perfect location on the lake, quiet location lovely rooms with great bathroom. perfect friendly staff who were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Address: 1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.