We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, pleasant, cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hanoi Westlake to your Saves list
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Calm, pleasant, cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Funny to find a resort in the middle of the city. It is in fact kind of a resort... Even though the swimming pool isn't that big.
They have a cooking class every first Sunday of the month for kids and its very well organized.
Beginning of march the theme was Easter eggs.
The lounge is nice though too many pillows on the sofas ;-)
Very calm, I put a 4 for the room as our view was on a pile of junk on the other side of the water at 50m.
In between the airport and the city center you can walk for 5km or you need a taxi to access the old quarter.
On the other side at 700m the beginning of the expat quarter with a lot of restaurants and a lot of minimarts.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment from your recent stay with us. InterContinental Hanoi Westlake is built on the surface of the West Lake offering our guests a resort feel.
Your children can enjoy the cooking class which we organize on every first Sunday of the month with different theme for each month.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    403
    122
    35
    31
See reviews for
159
476
67
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Whilst the rooms are a little small. Compared to other hotels in Asia the staff are not very helpful at all. The day we checked in the door and front office staff not friendly at all. We had booked a club room, which was a disappointment when we have stayed in other club rooms. The offers and choices for the evening cocktails are not abundant like other places we have stayed. You will wait a while if you request room service, which is disappointing. The breakfast is good, but not enough Asian choices. The hotel environment is very nice and enjoyable to walk around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear kerrynsaman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you find the hotel environment nice and enjoyable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience the quality of service you received from our staff may have caused. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. We have taken note of your feedback and assure you that proper measures will be taken to improve the quality of service we offer.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is a new construction built into the lake: several small buildings on top of the water. The result is an unusual Intercontinental hotel in a very peaceful and nice place. My room was in one of the pavilions on the lake and it was quite large and nice. Staff is very kind and the breakfast is extremely rich. A couple of small issues (ceiling shower not working and the bar loose my order) did not spoil the staying but they show that there is room to improve.
Moreover the WiFi should be extended to all rooms, whereas now it is only available in the common areas (wired connection in the rooms).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.
I would like to update you that all our guest rooms now have WiFi coverage to bring our guest great stay experience.
I will share your comment with the team to make sure we meet the highest standard in serving our guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel provides a wonderful base to explore the city of Hanoi. Well positioned on the beautiful lake, the team here are great at sharing knowledge of the city, so you know where to go and explore the best of it. Hotel team coordinate taxi's for you and the cost of short ride to city is very cheap. Having explored the city, go back there and enjoy the peaceful serenity. Hanoi is bustling and busy but back at the hotel, the rooms are very large, lake views are amazing and the service is genuinely friendly and warm. Peaceful serenity for sure and sitting at the sunset bar ( at sunset of course ) is truly magical. I would always choose the club option for sheer value and true luxury offerings.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake, sit on the balcony and enjoy the ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agreed with you that Club InterContinental bring great value to our guests.

Our hotel has a unique location in Hanoi where you can relax and enjoy the quiet and peaceful environment although not so far to the city center, only 10 minutes by taxi.

I am very proud that my team can anticipate your needs. I will share your comments with the whole team to recognize their efforts.

Thank you to sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a luxurious five star business-class hotel but it's not opulent, so don't expect grand atriums and original artwork adorning the walls. Do though enjoy the rooms built over the water as they're comfortable and well designed. I had a separate bath and walk-in shower, desk with a usable chair, small terrace over the water (very relaxing) and a switch by the bed that turns off ALL the room lights (so many hotels fail with this simple wiring job). Wi-fi is free everywhere with a good signal. When you're there do have a drink at the pavilion bar - it's very serene and they will bring food for the restaurants if you want to eat there. Breakfast is also comprehensive and efficient too, with something for every cuisine and culture. Sadly the swimming pool is only really good for leisure and it was a little cold.

Now for the downside. You're not in the city centre so although there are a few things around I don't recommend you stroll out too far. Best is to get a hotel taxi and expect a fifteen minute ride to restaurants and picturesque places. Also watch for the mosquitoes - being waterfront they love your legs for dinner.

Overall though very comfortable in-line with the Intercon brand. I'd stay there again and I got US$100 a night including breakfast which really is an excellent rate. Recommended if you don't mind needing a taxi to get anywhere worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try for a room over the water. The best ones face away from the hotel and offer panoramic river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Every room in our hotel has a balcony with furniture where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the famous West Lake. Our Sunset Bar on the water between pavilions is also a very nice place for you to see the panorama of the Lake.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a very nice stay for a night en route to Ha Long Bay. Great view, calm setting, spacious room, and good breakfast selection. The hospitality was helpful too. Enjoyed a drink at the sunset bar in evening, would recommend it for a relaxing spot. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It is glad that you have a great experience with InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. I will share your comment with my team to recognize their efforts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A bit impersonal, out of the city so you have the hassle of taxis . The rooms are fine and typical of an international 5 star. Suggest you request rooms on the 'piers' as they offer balcony and larger bathrooms.
Use hotel taxis where possible, the street taxis from my experience are nothing more than thieves, if they dont rob you with the fair, they rob you with the change, if they dont rob you with the change they will rob you with your inability to recognise the zeros on the notes. If you have gold false teeth dont wear them in public. They will park at journeys end in some dark corner and have there wicked way with your well earned. Be warned !

This is another international hotel that charges for wi-fi, except in the bar and eating areas.... of course. For this reason I wont stay here again, i find it annoying and it makes me feel like a touristy cash cow .
Other than that the hotel is fine, I would sellect one closer to the city next time, however if youve booked here you will be comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great that you like our rooms over the lake. Our hotel has a unique location in the city. The hotel is built on the surface of the West Lake where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful environment and not so far the city center. If you take the hotel taxi to the center it takes only 10 minutes. We always have a recommended taxi list for our guests available at the Concierge desk.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Address: 1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#37 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.