We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floating Zen Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hanoi Westlake to your Saves list
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #88 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Floating Zen Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Book a lake facing room in a pavilion in the Westlake to extract you from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, shower and bath and double vanity make for a roomy stay. Choose your pillow from the pillow menu and feel the crisp white pure cotton linen on your skin. Drink a Hanoi Breeze (Lemon Grass and Mint!) cocktail at the bar, feel the cool breeze from the lake! Fantastic buffet oriental to western, try a vietnamese coffee (chocolate flavor with condensed milk!). Friendly helpful professional staff.

Room Tip: Pavilion room, lake facing (not hotel facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am very happy to read about your great experience at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. Thank you for your very valuable comments and we are excited that our team was able to showcase our property which resulted in such a great review.

Hopefully we will have opportunity to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Thank you
Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    408
    122
    35
    31
See reviews for
159
480
68
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The 1st impression the hotel give me when I stood outside it on arrival at 1pm 21st October was that it looks boring as the main colour theme was white. However, once we entered into the main building, everything was picture perfect. To me, the interior design was towards colonial which are quite rare these days.

The check-in was a breeze at the Club InterContinental after we were met by the Manager at the main lobby. We were assisted to our room, which is the King Club Westlake suite (Room 202), in the main building and it was splendid. Spacious and yet cosy, the layout was great. Both the living room and bedroom, with a balcony each, were perpendicular to each other which offer 2 different views of the lake from the 2 balconies. The views from the balconies were awesome especially in the mornings and evenings. The only flaw with the room was that the toilet and shower room was all in the same room unlike most newer hotels where they are separated. And worst, for some reasons, I was told by the hotel that to let the shower tap run for 5 minutes before water turns hot.

The recreation facilities were great other than pool was small and dirty. The gym was great. Located on the 2nd floor of a building linked to the hotel main building, it was spacious with the updated equipments. There were also steam room and sauna on the 1st floor where the Spa is located. The changing rooms were spacious too. The only problem I had was that, though the website stated that the gym is opened 24 hours, it was only opened between 6.30am to 7pm.

Breakfast was great at Club InterContinental. Good service and good spread of food. Besides the usual spread of choices at the buffet table, you can order a-la-carte from a menu. Definitely a- must try is the traditional Vietnamese Pho and not to mention its Vietnamese coffee.

The food was great. A must try is the Vietnamese spring rolls and ground shrimp on sugar cane from the room service. We had dinner at the Saigon restaurant and were quite disappointed at the quality. It was not value for money compared to the cafe in the hotel and at Phieu Tinh Tien, a Vietnamese restaurant located within a few minutes’ walk from the hotel.

A nice and windy place to catch up with friends over a drink and light snacks is the Sunset Bar, overlooking the lake. There are a couple of sofa and 4-post bed facing the lake which are nice for couples but you will need to go early to ‘book’ them. The night view was great but be prepared to see dark shadows lurking in the lake as they are fishermen fishing without lights in the lake.

Needless to say, the service was great and the staffs take every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable but special mention to both Nga Nguyen and Nieu Nga, from Club InterContinental, and Ha from room service. Be it advice on where to go or visit, how to get to a place and on local food and snacks, they were very helpful. Nga Nguyen even offered to buy for me local candies when I mentioned to her I was not able to get any local stuff at the Night Market.

Room Tip: Asked for rooms in the main building if you do not like to walk in the sun or wait for the buggy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your very valuable comment from your recent stay with us. I agree with you that Club InterContinetal is highly recommended. Sunset Bar is also very nice place where you can relax and enjoy cocktails when seeing the romantic view of the West Lake.

Especially our team always wants to deliver the best service to our guests and bring you the great experience during your stay.

Hopefully we will have opportunity to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our short stay in Hanoi while traveling through Vietnam. Not far from the airport, about 30min, and not far from the city. Avoid the taxi from the hotel, it costs more. If you walk to the main road, there are plenty of taxis, cheaper. The Saigon restaurant is great, try their duck salad, out of this world good. The rooms are cozy and clean, and the service is superb. I would stay here at any time, we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel has a very convenient location, about 30 minutes to the airport and about 10 minutes to the city center by taxi. The hotel is located on the surface of the beautiful West lake, that you can enjoy quiet environment and relax.
Our Saigon restaurant offers very delicious Vietnamese and Asian dishes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake was even better than we expected. The photos online don't do it justice! Gorgeous to look at, peaceful (except for the roosters crowing and dogs barking nearby at 4am) and sumptuous. Loved the little tips like th presidents'/ famous peoples' faces on pillows in the lounge, where we spent a lot of time in between trains and boats. The breakfast buffet was almost too beautiful to disturb and the staff were warm, friendly and attentive. Rooms are large and our connecting rooms suited our family with teens perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great that you love our Diplomat Lounge where you can see very famous people’s faces on cushions and enjoy some drinks here. I am happy that my team has delivered great service to you.

We hope to have opportunities to welcome you back with us soon.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Of all my Intercontinental stays, this hotel has the most professional staff and just makes you feel so welcome. Again, First Class Service! Ms. Queen Le, who works as Concierge is simply wonderful and you can see in her face how proud she is when recommending places to visit. Made me want to go see all. Too bad I did not have enough time. I will return and visit Sapa next year and of course spend another night at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am very happy to read about your great experience at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. I will share your comment with my team and recognize their efforts to deliver personalized service which Intercontinental stands for.

Thank you and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake is a huge well spaced out property in Hanoi. It is extremely romantic for couples as the rooms are surrounded on all sides by the lake waters. The hotel has excellent facilities in terms of a gym, spa, etc. The Sunset Bar again in the open is a beautiful place to sit under the stars and enjoy a nice drink. Overall, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake are the best versus ones in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am very glad that you enjoyed stay with us at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. Our hotel is located on the surface of West Lake where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful environment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for an extended stay after our 5 day Vietnam visit turned into a hospital stay, 2 surgeries and a medical evacuation to Bangkok. Rooms are large and comfortable. Restaurants good. Location lovely on the lakes with a nice cool breeze in the evenings. We stayed in a club room and were very well looked after by the club lounge staff. I unfortunately had only 12 hours to enjoy their hospitality whereas my husband stayed 14 days. Nga Ngyuen club manager was exceptional. Not only visited me in hospital but looked after my husband who spent hours in the hospital and driving backwards and forwards. This really is a thank you to her and her staff for their support and help from the hotel.Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your compliment to our staff. We are very proud to have such great staff. I will share your comment with my team and recognize their efforts to deliver personalized service which Intercontinental stands for.

We wish you and your husband all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Address: 1A Nghi Tam, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#19 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.