We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Ca La Vong

Cha Ca La Vong
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 931 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Visit this street after a long day of sight-seeing for a traditional dish of fish fried tableside with herbs, spices, onions, peanuts, and rice noodles.
California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This restaurant is listed in the 1000 Places To See Before You Die book and is also listed in my Frommer's Vietnam Guide book as a place to go to when in Hanoi for a meal. I think it is time for this restaurant to be de-listed. Yes, it is unusual go to a restaurant that serves only one dish. But, I did not find the one dish that fantastic. This coupled with a less than appealing environment of poor service, questionable hygiene, and lousy decor makes me give this restaurant only 2 stars.

By the way, even finding this restaurant is difficult. There is a restaurant across the street with a bigger sign with the same name. If you really want to go to the original restaurant, make sure you look for the number 14 street number.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    130
    114
    85
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

It's a charming little restaurant which sells only one item, fried fish cooked in lots of very fragrant oil. It comes with vegetables, rice noodles and peanuts. The vegetables soak up the oil and taste amazing with the rice noodles. It's quite expensive though. For a few pieces of fish, vegetable and rice noodle, it cost VND170,000, which is a lot when you compare it to the prices of other places in Hanoi. All in all, worth a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with this place at all. Doing what it does well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went with great trepidation after reading all the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. We got to the place slightly anxious that we would accidently end up in the 'wrong' Cha Ca La Vong but it was all perfectly civilised. We climbed a steep flight of stairs and what we saw was very reassuring - two rooms filled with locals tucking in happily to their meal.

The place does serve only one dish which was fine with us (we were not there for a buffet of international selection after all - we hear that the cha ca wannabe at no 17 has a whole menu of other dishes - maybe you can go there if variety is what you are looking for).

Service was prompt and efficient. It wasn't effusive and we did have to get in one of the server's faces a little to be noticed and given a table, but it was not personal and if you have ever been to one of the small eateries in HK / China, it's par for the course. They gave us the English printout and bothered to ask us in English what drinks we would like.. That's good enough.
I'm not a big fan of fish generally but the combination of the sauce, dill, vegetables and the fish sauce on the noodles was pretty good. Who knew that dill deep fried could be so tasty?

On the way out, we had a good laugh as we walked past the other shop, Cha Ca La LVONG, with the English words on its door and its neon sign.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“At least I visited ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This place is on the must-visit list in Hanoi, serving only one dish: Cha Ca. It is cooked in front of you, and served with rice noodles. Very hard to manage if you want veg food, as the main staple is a rare freshwater fish formerly reserved for royalty only. The setting is in an old house in the old quarter of Hanoi. They say you must try this once before you die, but maybe not for me. Go if just to satisfy your curiosity and see how it's all done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

our company often come here to enjoy the dinner together in the special vacations. The food is delicious. Quick services and friendly staff.
The price is a little bit higher than other local food but still acceptable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Ca La Vong also viewed

 

Been to Cha Ca La Vong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Ca La Vong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.