We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Ca La Vong

Cha Ca La Vong
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 876 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Visit this street after a long day of sight-seeing for a traditional dish of fish fried tableside with herbs, spices, onions, peanuts, and rice noodles.
singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's an old traditional place, I guess. But I find the food unexceptional. It's not grilled fish, it's fried with a generous serving of oil. The fish isn't particularly tasty. You can safely give this a miss.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    96
    128
    112
    84
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grill Fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hmmm I wouldn't said it was nice food nor bad, it's all depending on individual. For me is just ok , but the price is too expensive for a few pieces of fish

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Only one choice: fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant in the Old Quarter of Hanoi is well-known and popular with locals and tourists. You eat what is served, and you help cook it. First rice noodles, greens, cilantro, lime wedges, and fish sauce arrive at the table, along with a laminated card telling you there is only one choice (grilled fish) and giving the price. Next comes a little gas hot plate with a skillet in which pieces of fish are already sizzling in oil (not "grilled"). The greens are added and stirred in. We threw the cilantro in, too. You cook this concoction until you think it is done. Then you layer in your small bowl cold noodles, hot fish and greens, fish sauce, and chopped peanuts. The waitress came by when we had taken all the fish and greens out of the skillet. She poured off the extra oil, tossed in the noodles we hadn't eaten and some fish sauce--a noodle dish was ready in a few minutes..
Enjoyable experience--no frills, yummy fish (no bones). Give it a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I doubt if 1/2 of the price is the admission ticket of visiting a heritage restaurant, we pay 170000 per head, but each of us can only share 3 little piece(9V battery size) of fried fish, some veggie and a bundle of noodle. All 5 of us need to top up a load of baguette at the bakery at the opposite road. Taste is OK. You can have a seafood noodle in a nice decorated restaurant with just 105000 here. So I will not go again & won't recommend it to friends.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing...I want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I read about this restaurant in an in-flight magazine, and decided to check it out. Thank goodness I did! The food is amazing!

The good: promptness, fish, veggies, noodles, beer, value

The not-so-good: I dined solo and was placed at a table with a couple, who clearly didn't want me to join them. They asked to be moved, and this happened again with another couple. I know this is done because the place is so popular and gets crowded, but maybe put solo diners at one table...would save some awkward moments.

Overall, this was one of my favorite dining experiences ever!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Ca La Vong also viewed

 

Been to Cha Ca La Vong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Ca La Vong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.