We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...I want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Ca La Vong

Cha Ca La Vong
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #377 of 949 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Visit this street after a long day of sight-seeing for a traditional dish of fish fried tableside with herbs, spices, onions, peanuts, and rice noodles.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing...I want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I read about this restaurant in an in-flight magazine, and decided to check it out. Thank goodness I did! The food is amazing!

The good: promptness, fish, veggies, noodles, beer, value

The not-so-good: I dined solo and was placed at a table with a couple, who clearly didn't want me to join them. They asked to be moved, and this happened again with another couple. I know this is done because the place is so popular and gets crowded, but maybe put solo diners at one table...would save some awkward moments.

Overall, this was one of my favorite dining experiences ever!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    132
    118
    86
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good experience in Hanoi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ordering this Hanoi favorite here is so easy since they only serve one dish. Beware though it is deep fried and not grilled as the menu suggests. They are very generous with the delicious greens and refill if you eat up. The extra herbs made up for the oily fish. Definitely a favorite with local families.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cha Cai Fish is pretty delicious but oily...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are Balinese and Chinese foodies so we were really excited to try this Hanoi institution. Overall, we did like the flavours of the fish especially the fresh dill, but we did not try the sauce. Even though we regular cook with shrimp paste in Bali, the consistency, smell and colour of the sauce was a real turn-off. Totally agree that service was horrendous. The only thing I was happy as that it inspired me to make a dish like this back a home, without the pool of oil!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Locals haunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to this famous old eating establishment. We were the only westerners in the place which which to us said it all. The place is basic the food once you get the right mix of fish sauce and greens is ok. As there is only the one dish you go there because we can and we can say we have eaten in a family restaurant that is over 100 years old. If you are finicky don't bother but if you love a sense of why you are in Vietnam just go

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The fastest food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Cha Ca La Vong is a deservedly famous institution in Hanoi. The dish, grilled fish served with rice noodles, served at the table with a combination of dill, asian vegetables is seasoned with fish sauce and garnished with coriander and peanuts. It's an excellent dish and anyone who likes Pho, will inevitable like Cha Ca La Vong. So long as your a fish eater then this is a must try experience. The staff are suitably arrogant in a kind of funny French way. They know they have a winner and they know the people will come. It's USD$11 for the dish and a beer so talk that its expensive is just plain bunkum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Ca La Vong also viewed

 

Been to Cha Ca La Vong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Ca La Vong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.