We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cha Cai Fish is pretty delicious but oily...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Ca La Vong

Cha Ca La Vong
14 Pho Cha Ca, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #347 of 861 restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Visit this street after a long day of sight-seeing for a traditional dish of fish fried tableside with herbs, spices, onions, peanuts, and rice noodles.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cha Cai Fish is pretty delicious but oily...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are Balinese and Chinese foodies so we were really excited to try this Hanoi institution. Overall, we did like the flavours of the fish especially the fresh dill, but we did not try the sauce. Even though we regular cook with shrimp paste in Bali, the consistency, smell and colour of the sauce was a real turn-off. Totally agree that service was horrendous. The only thing I was happy as that it inspired me to make a dish like this back a home, without the pool of oil!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    95
    125
    112
    84
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Locals haunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to this famous old eating establishment. We were the only westerners in the place which which to us said it all. The place is basic the food once you get the right mix of fish sauce and greens is ok. As there is only the one dish you go there because we can and we can say we have eaten in a family restaurant that is over 100 years old. If you are finicky don't bother but if you love a sense of why you are in Vietnam just go

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The fastest food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Cha Ca La Vong is a deservedly famous institution in Hanoi. The dish, grilled fish served with rice noodles, served at the table with a combination of dill, asian vegetables is seasoned with fish sauce and garnished with coriander and peanuts. It's an excellent dish and anyone who likes Pho, will inevitable like Cha Ca La Vong. So long as your a fish eater then this is a must try experience. The staff are suitably arrogant in a kind of funny French way. They know they have a winner and they know the people will come. It's USD$11 for the dish and a beer so talk that its expensive is just plain bunkum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not worth dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We heard about this famous restaurant and thought of giving it a try. We were quite early for our dinner which was about 6 pm. So, getting a table was not a problem.

I think they only served one type of food in this restaurant. As the staff could not speak English except only able to tell the price of the food there, we did not get to ask much about their menu. So, once you are there, they will just show you the price of the cha ca set and ask you to walk upstairs. They will know what to serve you without you ordering.

It was 17 USD for two sets which was quite expensive for what we got. The amount of turmeric fish pieces were quite little and the pieces of fish were small too. The set also came with two plates of green vege and two plates of cold rice vermicelli. However, it did not come with any drink and I think they only serve beer because when I asked them about drink, they only said beer. The taste of the fish was just okay. I did not like the cold rice vermicelli.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dish, but not everyone's cup of tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This dish is really really, really popular with all the locals here. But there's only one thing that can put off foreigners: the shrimp paste! It's got a really strong smell, as well as taste, and even some of us Vietnamese cannot get over it. However I'm seriously addicted to the sauce, and it perfectly complement the grilled fish! The experience is fun as well, as you can prepare the whole dish by yourself. All in all, you'd either love it or really hate it, as I could see some foreigners sat there struggling to get over the sauce, and there's no alternative available..

Correction for some of the reviews: the fish are grilled on charcoal, THEN deep fried.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Ca La Vong also viewed

 

Been to Cha Ca La Vong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Ca La Vong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.