We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird but wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Hotel
65 Hang Bac Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Weird but wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel has lots of character unlike new hotels in Vietnam. Its narrow and deep and quite dark inside but the rooms are large and fairly comfortable. Views from the rear rooms are just to the rears of other buildings whilst from the front are of the front of other buildings and the street. Its a city! We stayed for 8 nights in all, with nights away from Hanoi on the 5th and 6th floors and can't say that the noise at the front disturbed us at all. Think that the general street noise doesn't really travel that high. We were upgraded to an Executive room for a couple of nights which was very nice. Free access to the internet (in the executive rooms and in the dining room) was very useful.
Didn't realise for the first day or so that the motorcycles in the hallways were vintage - just thought that they were off the street. The continental type breakfast was pretty basic but sufficient.
The staff however are absolutely first class and could not do enough for their guests. They sorted out a mistake made by our agent for us really well and made sure that we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I loved this hotel. The staff were beautiful in spirit, helpful and went out of their way. Giang heated the room after a long trip from Sapa, fetched bread rolls from hoan kiem lake when I was sick, and become a personal guide on the moped around Hanoi..
The rooms were large, and the breakfast room was quirky. It became my home away from home for 10days. Noise was a problem in the rooms on the street side, but this is vietnam, and wouldn't you rather experience the chaos and culture instead of hiding away in a 5 star sterile hotel.. will stay there again on my trip.

Room Tip: room 602 has the best hot water and pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Queen Travel Hotel in December 2010. We found it to be very quirky - I was especially fond of the little indoor pond overwhich you had to cross by footbridge in order to access the reception desk. The rooms were very large and very comfortable and the bathrooms were complete with hairdryer which is always a bonus! Both our rooms had televisions, dvd players and their own computer with high speed internet access. Hoan Kiem lake was only a 10 minute walk away and there were plenty of good restaurants to choose from nearby. The staff were very helpful and even insisted on helping us to cross the road.

Room Tip: ask for a VIP room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

After a dodgy taxi from the airport that tried to take us to the wrong hotel we arrived at the Queen Travel Hotel and were really pleased with it. It's build in the traditional narrow and tall style with two rooms on each floor. The staff are lovely and really helpful and not intrusive. The reception area is really cool with a little bridge and pond with fish and turtles. Breakfast is served in a really cute room, it's pretty basic but nice and the coffee is great. There is free internet access in the breakfast room. We had an exec room which had internet access in the room. The bedroom decor was really quirky and the bathroom was a good size. The place is a haven in the slightly chaotic old quarter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Hanoi and it really was a great hotel for the money. The location is great, rooms really big and decorated lovely! all the staff were great and it was a bit like a home from home

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Great room, great breakfast and great staff in this lovely small hotel with heaps of character in the middle of the Old Quarter. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel which I believe is vital as the noise at the front may be a bit too much in the early hours. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at THE Queen Travel at 65 Hang Bac for a number of days during July/August. The individuality and quirky features were a joy - the dining room with low level table and cushions was wonderful - did you know Tom Hanks had issued an LP - I didn't until I saw the evidence in a hotel in Hanoi - wonderful but weird. The zen roof garden was a fabulous and peaceful refuge from the heat and noise of the Old Quarter. We went to the very posh and very expensive Hotel Metropole for a cocktail - fascinating in its own and expensive right. On balance - where would I rather stay? The stuffy and starchy Metropole or the warm and friendly Queen Hotel? Queen Hotel, no shadow of a doubt. Nothing was too much trouble - even our own huggy ride across town on the hotel Honda 90 driven by one of the hardworking and friendly staff. The rooms are fine - they have character - as well as effective AC, good bathrooms and free internet connection (your own keyboard and screen provided in your room).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Hotel

Address: 65 Hang Bac Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 507 Hotels in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.