We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judge a restaurant by how they handle a hurdle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
18 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Judge a restaurant by how they handle a hurdle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

So there was a rat. Right next to our table in the garden. But, this is Hanoi - rats are everywhere. And what impressed us about Green Mango was how they dealt with the rat. We were shifted upstairs and inside, had a ten percent discount applied to our bill, and were given free dessert of our choice. So, for us, yes rats are gross but they handled this hurdle really well. The staff were very anxious to make things right for us after the rodent appearance and I would still recommend Green Mango to other travellers.

As for the food, it's very good. A similar menu to the Hoi An Green Mango including the wonderful foie gras with mango. The duck pho was also good but I actually think you'd probably be better off sticking to traditional phos. My husband loved his deconstructed spring rolls band and our son happily gobbled steak and chips.

All of the inside of this restaurant is air-conditioned which is a big plus in a Hanoi summer. The staff will also call cabs for you at the end of your meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When traveling I never ever eat in the same restaurant twice in a row.

Because of the wonderful food that was both beautifully seasoned and cooked to perfection, accompanied with fantastic front house service from Antonio and his team at Greenmango I have now broken this rule dining 3x at this establishment

The food and front house service was as good as our NZ top restaurant and would be worthy of Michelin star consideration

Thanks again, if I get back to Hanoi again Green Mango would be my first stop for dinner!!

Room Tip: Bookings can be made if you want the inside, air conditioned part of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Green Mango hotel for three days during our Wietnam trip in july 2014. It was an excellent hotel and restaurant. The staff was ever so friendly and helpfull with everything - from booking train tickets to Exchange money. The Room was nice, clean and quiet. Happy hour from 12 pm to 7 pm was a nice break from noisy Ha Noi. Ask for a Room with a street view.

We would stay here again...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If for no other reason you should stay at the Green Mango because they support the Cat Ba Langur Conservation project. Other reasons you should stay include proximity to the old quarter, friendly (and patient) staff, great cocktails and comfortable rooms.

A friend recommended the Green Mango and we booked it for the first night of our stay in Vietnam. And even the though the water pressure in the showers was appalling the location and staff greatly compensated, and we stayed another 2 nights. They have a good breakfast menu – both Western and Vietnamese selections, I had the Vietnamese option each time but the Western option looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel on a couple of occasions and found the staff was young, accommodating and enthusiastic. The food was great, rooms were spacious and the look of the hotel was sort of funky. We had great breakfasts (included) and our one supper was excellent.

Our first contact was to ask if they would store extra luggage while we were on tour though not a guest at that point. They only had our promise to return. I loved that they had an internship program to train young people and get them started.

Room Tip: 303 was large with a great tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in the large room, and wow what a treat! The room was spacious and had everything we needed included large, comfortable beds with linen you could sleep in forever! A flatscreen tv with all the sky channels, a fridge, couch, 2 desks, a lot of floor space, and the bathroom wow-a beautiful bath/tub that was well used every night after walking the nice roads surrounding Green Mango. We ordered room service, which was quick, super friendly and the food wow=delectable! The welcoming staff were there to greet and tend to any needs upon arrival with warm smiles and good English. The restaurant - inside & out is outstanding! All in all, the most pleasant stay during the trip!

Room Tip: If you can, get the large room 303! (3 flights of stairs, but worth the walk!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We dined here on our first evening in Hanoi, primarily because it was on our hotel’s list of nearby places. (The hotel was the Spring Flower – which is, by the way, excellent – see our review elsewhere).
My first impression was of tasteful decor and subtle (i.e. dim) lighting. It felt fake for Vietnam, somehow, rather designed to death, a reach towards “Fain Daining”. This is not, as James Bond would have said, a place to get seriously drunk (not that we were planning to get seriously drunk – I just like quoting that).
So we are taken to our table and sit down somewhere on the right, and a waiter with a speciality haircut and a very careful dye-job (half black, half red, in curtains) brings over the menu. I must mention the waiter because, as best as I can recall, he looked like a kind of Oriental version of Javier Bardem in Skyfall or No Country for Old Men, except for the effete hair and glasses.
The Menu is long and convoluted; however, when you strip out the burgers and steak and pizzas (if we wanted those things we would have gone to New York) and discarded the fish (don’t like) and shellfish (are you kidding? Stomach upset, anybody?) there are actually only two or three authentic dishes here. I chose something with noodles and Mrs M chose something else with noodles, we ordered a beer each and sat back to look around the place.
And the clientele is exclusively foreign, Americans and Europeans, which is not encouraging. The staff glide around, like they are at a religious ceremony, and we all speak in specially hushed tones so as not to be heard over the Muzak. I notice a strange little ritual going on at another table, whereby a pretty little Vietnamese girl brings the food over, the scary Javier Bardem guy (see above) then receives it and places it, just-so, on the table. He likes to re-align cutlery, in case the diner has, perhaps, lost the rotation in their wrists. He then backs away from the offering, inclining his body slightly.
When it comes to our turn to receive the food, the same palaver goes on. I try to stop him messing about putting my napkin on my lap (thanks, but no thanks). He backs away.
A European (French, perhaps) hovers over, who might be the Maitre, and starts explaining our food. There is a special concept here, apparently, which requires mixing it all together and – well, I long to say, I have been pretty much managing my eating on my own since I was four. The food gets put on the eating irons, then into the mouth. The teeth go up and down and occasionally sideways (called chewing) and after a bit, one is a bit less hungry. There can’t be much more to it.
So, is the food any good? Well, no, it’s fine. Really. No problem. Not the best dinner in Vietnam, but fair to good. A bit better than middling. It’s fine. No complaints.
The bill, however, is pretty expensive. That's why there are no Vietnamese here. European sort of level.
And there we have it. Service is full of faff and overly fussy, some of the staff are sinister and unctuous, food is a bit better than average, cost is too much for what it is, decor is nice if you like that sort of thing.
Would I go back? No, definitely not. Would I recommend? No, unless you like your dinner presented to you like a sacred offering. There are better, and more enjoyable, cheaper places in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Didn't use the hotel, only the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 18 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Mango Restaurant & Hotel offers a fine-dining Asian nouvelle restaurant. The open-air patio for semi-formal dining and lounge seating is a fine alternative to 'breakfast in bed.' Our lobby is replete with an exquisite bar, while the wine lounge and VIP rooms on the second floor await your intimate evenings, business dinners and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mango Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Green Mango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.