We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
18 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great staff but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a number of people including our hotel. We are a family travelling with 2 kids and thought the combination western & Vietnamese menu together with a happy hour would work well for us. The service was amazing, the food was good, big servings and fresh too, but just not quite worth the final cost in our opinion.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
57
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate here the first night in Hanoi after being recommended to eat here and we weren't disappointed!! The starter of spring rolls are the best I have ever tasted, good service (despite a wedding party)nice and air conditioned :) very reasonably priced considering we had 3 courses and a few drinks

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stopped at Green Mango for lunch. It was happy hour and so all drinks (minus wine) were 2 for 1. We had a nice lunch and didn't get to our second bottle of sparkling water, so we were able to take it to go. Great service and tasty food, get a spot in the back garden area for a relaxing and airy meal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went there for dinner as it was recommended to us by our hotel. I wouldn't go back. It was very warm humid and smelt musty when we got there. The menu is extensive covering both European and Vietnamese dishes. It looks like they have tried to be "innovative" with the menu but we thought a lot of it just sounded really random. To me it looked like they have put the menu together to appeal to Foreigners. We ordered two Vietnamese dishes and it was overpriced for a very very average meal. We didn't finish our meals. There is so much wonderful food to be had in Vietnam, my advice is not here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The music was spacey, got the title from waiter to download later, deco hip décor, the AC was on full - thanks, ordered and waited too long, then came the food in an amazing display, looked like art work and tasted good enough to forget how long it took to arrive. Rainstorm passed; tour map ready, keep walking through more chaos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant was just across the road from our hotel, Golden Sun Palace and had lunch here twice. The restaurant comes across as upmarket, with a security guard on the door, but the food was surprisingly inexpensive (mains 90-180,000 dong ~ £3-9). Their main menu is not especially extensive (& mostly western!) but the Vietnamese set menu was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Location excellent, in old quarter. Restaurant and toilets very clean. Service excellent. The menu is wide. There were 6 of us sharing 3 courses. All meals were excellent. This restaurant offered great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 18 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Mango Restaurant & Hotel offers a fine-dining Asian nouvelle restaurant. The open-air patio for semi-formal dining and lounge seating is a fine alternative to 'breakfast in bed.' Our lobby is replete with an exquisite bar, while the wine lounge and VIP rooms on the second floor await your intimate evenings, business dinners and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mango Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Green Mango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.