We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Street Hotel

Hanoi Street Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Street Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Street Hotel
1a Ngo Hang Bong Street, Hanoi +844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Central, clean and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hanoi Street Hotel for three nights at the beginning of our Vietnam holiday. Family run by some lovely friendly people, the hotel is in a great location, on a laneway full of great little food places and Puku Bar nearby for an early evening cocktail or nightcap. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the lake.

Our room was on the top floor so it didn’t have a small balcony like the ones on the other floors. The place was spotless and the beds comfortable. We had a family room with three single beds which we reconfigured into a double and single. Bathroom was again spotless.

Noise wasn’t too much of an issue for us, but there are a few things to look out for: the hotel is near the train line so you get the occasional loud diesel train passing by. On the top floor we could hear the water pump on the roof from time to time, although after the first night we barely noticed it. If you are sensitive to noise I suggest you ask for a room on a lower floor, although then you might get a bit more street and traffic noise. The hotel is actually next door to a huge karaoke place but we never heard a peep from that. Every morning a loudspeaker system gets going around 7.30am, with a public announcement in Vietnamese that goes on for quite a while. But I can’t imagine any of this would be any better elsewhere.

Breakfast was served from 7.30-9am downstairs on the street, or in the lobby if it is raining. A mixture of Vietnamese and Western food is available – I highly recommend the pork noodles (“my tron”), a delicious breakfast including dumpling soup which will set you up for the day. They get most of the breakfasts from the little eatery across the street, but they make the coffee and tea themselves. Their coffee was pretty much the best I had in Vietnam!

You can arrange tours at reception. We shopped around quite a bit and found that the hotel prices were pretty good, so we organised a couple of tours through them. It’s also a bit more convenient because you can put the tours on your bill and pay for everything at the end.

Service was fine – it is family run and they are all friendly and cheerful. There were a few minor things like forgetting top sheets for the bed one morning, but that was fixed quickly and with a smile.

The free airport transfer if you stay five nights or more is only applicable if you book the hotel directly, and not through Agoda, Expedia etc. However they will arrange a pickup for you at a reasonable rate, and you can also book your taxi back to the airport with them and put that on your bill too.

When we were checking out we had a bit of a problem as they said they could not take our credit card and asked us to go out and get cash from an ATM instead. When we insisted, it turned out that they had just run out of paper in the credit card machine so we waited until they went and got some. Just give yourself an extra ten minutes on checkout in case the same thing happens!

Room Tip: Top floor will be quieter but if you want a little balcony get a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

While the hotel may not appear on the map as being close to the down town core, it is an easy 10 minute walk to the lake. In addition, there is a food street market with lots of tasty food. The staff Srebrenica super friendly, rooms clean, internet is fast, tv, air....it is great! A perfect place to relax in busy Hanoi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for almost one week. All in all we enjoyed the stay. In the beginning we did not get the twin room we booked, so we had to change the room after 2 nights. The reason they gave us was made up for sure, but we were not in the complaining mood. The family that runs the hotel is nice and helpful. They even invited us to join them for Lunar New Years party and fireworks at Hoan Kiem Lake.
Here is one advice of mine: don't let yourself be hold off by the outer appearance of the cookingkitchen right next door - we had the Laù with seafood and it was great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hanoi Street hotel is a very nice familyhotel in the old quarter of hanoi.
Very spacious rooms, very clean, including a nice breakfast and affordable.
The family who owns the hotel is more than friendly! Although the hotel is in the old quarter you still have to walk aprox 10 minutes to the Hoan Kiem Lake. Just around the corner you will find one of the best streetfood of Hanoi (seafood)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here when I visited Hanoi in December last year. I love the location, tucked away in a laneway full of eateries. The owner and her family were welcoming and made you feel at home. She invited me to eat breakfast with the family every morning, and when I was sick one day made me rice porridge and orange juice at no extra cost. Also booked the Sapa tour for me.

Rooms were clean, well-maintained. Like the quiet location, woke up to the sound of birds chirping. Only slight hitch was power went out a couple of times on the first night. Overall highly recommended at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here a few nights in April, and we were impressed to say the least. The family were so nice, and did everything to make sure we were happy.
I noticed a few comments saying it wasn't a central location, but my impression of Hanoi was that there wasn't really much of a centre anyway. It's just a few minutes from the lake on Cim Chi st which is pretty amazing, and we found ourselves walking in a different direction every evening to eat so location-wise, it couldn't have been better for us.

I think they did try to sell us a tour at some point but they weren't pushy at all and it actually did seem pretty good value to be fair!

Bringing back such happy memories writing this!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hi everyone in Hanoi Street Hotel, I write this review to express my biggest thanks to you. I have had a great holiday with my family. The room is very clean, good breakfast, thanks for free drink and fresh fruit after our long trips to Halong Bay, and Sapa.

I would like to highly recommend for people to stay at this hotel. Come to stay and feel the hospitality of staffs at Hanoi Street Hotel, they are extremely friendly and helpful. Ah, They also provide very good tour programs with flexible prices.

If I have more chance to go back to Hanoi, definitely I will come to stay here again. :)
Lots of love from Finland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Street Hotel

Address: 1a Ngo Hang Bong Street, Hanoi +844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Street Hotel just opened on March 1st, 2007. It is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels in the center of Hanoi's Old Quarter. Surrounded by the central business district, major non - governmental offices, temples and shopping areas. Coming to Hanoi Street you will be satisfied with the best services provided by our professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.