We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Gold Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Gold Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Gold Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Hang Manh Street, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICK UP/35% OFF ROOM
Ranked #26 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed here for the 2nd year in a row and was thinking we were looking through rose coloured glasses giving the hotel the rating we did last time. But it was the same excellent service we remembered. They remembered us the moment we walked in. We were on our honeymoon and they had arranged roses, balloons and a cake for when we arrived which was after midnite. What a surprise. The staff are 2nd to none. We bought 2 friends with us this trip and they were surprised at the service and friendly staff. When we went to Sapa Minh organised a staff member to go with us to the train station and actually find our cabin and cart our bags for us. Nothing is too much trouble.
Thankyou Nhung and your staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    195
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
312
136
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were very lucky to stay in the Holiday Gold Hotel in Hanoi. All the staff were extremely helpful and informative with-out being pushy or persistent. The location was superb with all the street food and attractions of the Old Quarter being walking distance. If anything was too far, the staff would order a metered cab and give instructions. This was the first port of call on a 6 week holiday and what a great introduction into Vietnamese hospitality it was.

Room Tip: We would of preferred the smaller rooms facing Hang Manh street but, as we were a big family, we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the moment my wife & I walked into the hotel to the afternoon we had to leave we were treated like a King & Queen. The girls at reception were just great, they answered all our questions about hanoi, booked all the tours we went on & could not have been more helpful & understanding, we cannot thank them enough, they even forecast the wheather for our ha long bay cruise & got it right. The Holiday Gold Hotel Hanoi is great value for money from when you check in you get a cool fruit juice drink & a refreshing towel while these golden girls check you in with no fuss or bother, the breakfast is very good to start your day off. Thank you to all the staff for there kind wishes the day we had to leave. Regards to the golden girls on reception from David & Carmelita.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor with no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Holiday Gold Hotel as the first leg of our Vietnam trip. We were warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived and the staff couldn't do enough to help us and look after our two kids (4 and 2). Jenny in particular and another guy whose name escapes us (he seemed to be on at nights?) were exceptional and loved the kids. Communication in English very easy.

The hotel arranged tours for us to Ha Long Bay and Ninh Binh with no problems. Breakfast downstairs was always excellent, with Western options included. We had a city view room which was not the room we originally booked - there seemed to be some mistake with the booking which was one of the few downsides to the hotel. As a result we were constantly getting short changed on towels, however staff sorted this when asked. We were content enough in this room (though it was a squeeze) and watching the city outside was fascinating. Rooms were reasonably clean.

Location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of the Old Quarter and there are a million options for dining and sightseeing within walking distance. Being in this location it is quite noisy, but we quickly adapted to the rooster at 5:30 am. Recommend trying weasel coffee in the place directly opposite - very handy to duck over when you have put the kids to bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hanoi holiday gold is probably the best in the area. Everybody is so warm and accommodating, and it's very affordable and accessible as well. Thanks to Mina, Jenny and everybody. We highly recommend Hanoi Holiday Gold to everyone who will visit Hanoi. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for the price. We had been staying in a higher priced hotel but ended up staying here when coming back early from Halong Bay cruise due to weather. As it was so good we decided to stay a further two nights until leaving Hanoi.
The customer service was outstanding. Front desk arranged anything that you needed and all the staff were very helpful, even down to helping us pack our bags when late to go to the airport !
There was a kettle in the room with complimentary tea and coffee, and the drinks in the fridge were priced the same as local shops.
We had the front twin room with balcony which was very big and bright. Although the room faced the busy street, this was very quiet at night when all the shops shut at 10pm.
I would have liked a more comfortable bed, but the previous review mentioned that these were in the process of being improved. Having said that it didn't prevent me sleeping.
The staff really make this hotel and I couldn't imagine that you could get better customer service anywhere.
There is no lift so the hotel would not be suitable for everyone.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are bright but do face a noisy road. However the road is quiet at night. Room 201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved the Holiday Gold Hotel - clean rooms, delicious breakfast choices, free Wifi, fabulous location, comfortable beds (new doonas, pillows and soft matress tops were put on the beds while we were there) but best of all were the wonderful staff. They were always smiling and friendly and went out of their way to help in any way possible - every time we returned to the hotel it was like returning home to old friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Gold Hotel

Address: 24 Hang Manh Street, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#19 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Gold Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, the hotel is a short walk from shopping towns and Hoankiem lake, the symbol of Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Holiday Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Gold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.