We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Quarters Walking Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Hanoi

Hidden Hanoi
Hidden Hanoi Garden | No. 56 Ngo 1, Duong Au Co, Nghi Tam Village, Ho Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam
091 225 4045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 410 Tours & Activities in Hanoi
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old Quarters Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I did this tour with 2 friends a year ago and I was really impressed. Went to Hanoi with family this time, and I booked the same tour with Ms. Anh, the founder of Hidden Hanoi, the same lady who did the tour for us the year before.

This tour is a MUST. If there is one tour that you should do, this is the one. You get to tour the Old Quarters by walking around, and the guide explains why houses in the area are so narrow and tall (it's because of ancient tax laws based on width of the frontage!). You get to see a house from the old days and how people lived then, AND you get to see a typical house today, where 5 to 8 families are cramped into such a tiny space. There is an explanation of how business is done in the Old Quarters and the tour ends by each of you riding a xich lo (the bike rickshaw) to have a tour of the Old Quarters.

Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My daughter-in-law and I took a market tour and cooking class through Hidden Hanoi. We had some scheduling difficulties, which Mrs. Van was gracious and accommodating about. The market tour was excellent and informative, giving us a way to negotiate Hanoi's markets that we were unsure about until this tour. The cooking class was excellent and well worth the money, in fact it was a great deal, we learned about all the ingredients, prepared them and ate like queens. Both days, the other people attending the class were interesting travelers. We can't recommend this place highly enough. The courtyard and cooking facilities were well organized, with lots of charm, and the information was invaluable to me.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Highlight of trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a wonderful time with Hidden Hanoi. First we went on a trip to the local market where knowledgable and friendly guide explained the different produce then went back to cook some delicious food!

The staff were all very friendly and gave us a good introduction about Vietnamese culture and food. We choose the seafood menu and cooked sweet and sour prawns, fresh spring rolls, fish soup and papaya salad. There was a teacher to show us the dishes and other staff to help clear things away and make sure everything went smoothly. Things were described well and even my husband who rarely cooks and a bit scared by the big knives throughly enjoyed it.

My husband is also allergic to nuts and even though we didn't tell them till the day they managed to keep nuts seperate for his dishes.

They have a lovely garden also which we were given tea and sweets in whilst all was being explained which was like a mini oasis from the busy city.

I wish we could have done another course the next day we enoyed it so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Vietnamese food culture and cuisine, then preparing delicious food with friendly teacher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked a Vietnamese street food class for $45/person and were greeted by a very nice lady who speaks perfect English. We were only people in the class, so service was pretty personal. She started by offering us some tea and candy, and told us a lot about Vietnamese food culture and cuisine, i.e. when, what and how local people eat, what are the reasons behind some food choices etc. Then we proceeded to the kitchen, where all food ingredients and tools were already prepared and waiting for us. In addition to the main teacher there was a team of 3 women working hard and supporting the process by preparing ingredients, washing dishes and taking care of all other "tedious" tasks. We made Hanoi-style deep-fried spring rolls with pork, shrimp and mushrooms, pork BBQ with very nice dip/soup and noodles, local salad and some vegetables. At the end of the class we got little presents like chopsticks and a recipe book.

I've attended another cooking class in Bangkok, Thailand, and compared to it I would recommend this one more. Kitchen and facilities were very clean and there was a certain home feel to this place, which is, as the name states, hidden in Hanoi. In someone's backyard.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“2.time, just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Came back, because I travelled with a friend, and it was her first trip to Vietnam. As good as last time, clean nice surroundings, with space enough, and enough service around, so the table always was tidy, and ready for the things we should do. We were 5 , but we all got to roll the spring rolls, witch was a good thing. And again it was the best springrolls on our trip, with the ix af minced shrimps, pork, mushrooms.
And the very kind and quick teacher, who did have the control of our class in a good way.
good experience on a very cold day

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Hanoi also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.