We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel to your Saves list
La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel
86 Ma May Street | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sunshine Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I booked via the web based on Tripadvisor reviews. Mrs. Moon was great in answering questions via email. I checked-in, stayed briefly, did one of their booked Ha Long Bay tours, returned, visited the south for a week and returned for New Years. The staff was great. First room given was a bit noisy from the traffic and the second was noisy from the perpetual construction noise adjacent, but the rooms were fine (bed soft enough and pillows almost soft enough). No tub but shower and hot water were fine. Phone with no dialtone but TV and minibar were fine. Safes only in some rooms. Five floors with a lift. Minimalist breakfast on ground floor with custom eggs, fruit, juice, some meats and bread.
Nice neighborhood with easy walk (faster than driving) to lake (Ho Hoan Kiem). Lots of restaurants and bars in vicinity. Internet PC in the room helped with local research.
What makes this place stand out is the personal and professional service of Mrs. Moon and her staff. You can plan a multi-stop visit around Ha Noi and she will help make it come together for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
21
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed at the Sunshine Hotel 2 for one night only (we had planned to stay for many more but decided against it after our first night). There are many better value hotels in Hanoi than this one.

The staff were surly and unhelpful (we paid more for our pickup the airport than quoted as well as more for the drinks in the fridge), the rooms did not seem particularly clean (and the free fruit provided was over-ripe and attracting insects), and there was no hot water in the shower. There was no wifi or computer access, and the room was incredibly noisy. We change hotels after this first night, and were not bothered by the noisy in our next hotel at all (and the room was the same price).

There are better deals in Hanoi than this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We booked the Sunshine 2 over the net on the recommendation of one of my wife's work mates when our all-inclusive private tour of Vietnam wanted to change our Hanoi accommodation to a property out of the old quarter. Mrs Moon promptly answered all our emails and assured that no deposit was necessary. Her attention to detail was faultless. It was also good to hear we would be saving A$350. We arrived to find a friendly, family atmosphere and received all the good advice we required as first time visitors to Vietnam.
The hotel is surrounded by plenty of great restaurants to suit any budget. We simply chose the busiest ones and weren't disappointed.
We walked to most of the places we wanted to visit and only required taxis a few times which the hotel had waiting for us.
The clincher was when we realised the night train from Sapa arrived in Hanoi at 4.30 in the Morning - I rang Mrs Moon the night before and a small room was waiting for us to rest and freshen up in before our booked room became available - The couple we shared the train compartment with were bemoaning having to wait in a park before their hotel would accept them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My mother and i visited Hanoi for 4 days we were dropped off in the old quarter and decided to walk round and find a hotel that way. We came across Ma may street and found Sunshine 2 hotel. They kindly showed us a choice of 3 rooms we chose a deluxe room which was roomy very clean. Breakfast was wonderful every morning. At reception we were able to book any trips needed very professional very happy to offer advice on places to eat, shop and visit the room only cost 32$ a night which was great. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in total, two visits. Each time had a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Very clean and comfortable beds with soft pillows. Staff helpful and when we had a problem with the a/c and computer fixed it at once. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We spend 3 night in this hotel in May 2009 and we're very enthusiastic about our stay. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom is awesome (the shower!). A very nice extra is the pc in the room with superfast internet (24/24 and included in the room price (we paid 500 000 VND per night)). The staff was extremely helpfull, but not pushy (trying to sell tours etc). In addition we could leave our lugage there without a problem when we went to the Halong Bay (although we did not book through the hotel). Location on Ma May street (heart of the old quarter, very close to Hoa Kiem Lake) is also a bonus. The street hosts some excellent restaurants (cafe 69 was the best)..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Mrs Moon is the star of this hotel, she is so accommodating, helpful and a pleasure. The hotel is basic by western standards, but that is Vietnam. If you are prepared for this then you wont have a problem. If there is a problem, just see Mrs Moon and she will do her up most to correct it gracefully. The Sunshine 2 is right in the middle of the old Quater which is great. Shopping and food just outside your door. Mrs Moon organized a trip to Halong Bay for us and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel, 6 of us. The trip was average but that was mainly because we had a young tour guide that wasn't to helpful and we only paid $65US pp, so you can't expect too much for that price. Mrs moon is able to organize a wide range of tours, as we had friends travel to Sapa by train and they were very pleased with their trip.
I would definitely stay again if I knew Mrs Moons was still there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel

Address: 86 Ma May Street | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sunshine Plaza Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Citadelle De Hanoi hotel! This new 3 star hotel is centrally located in the heart of Old Quarter with 28 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 floors with elevator. Hotel is nearby everything you might need for your stay in Hanoi with local & Western restaurants, markets, souvenir shops, banks, tour agents ...And it takes you only 5 minutes walking to Hoankiem Lake, to Water Puppet theatre or Ngoc Son Temple and the night market at Hang Ngang – Hang Dao Str. All rooms are well & modern - designed for the most convenience and comfortable stay. Rooms have Air conditioner, PC connect to internet inside every room, free use of WIFI and cable internet are available throughout hotel, cable flat - TV, IDD phone, Hot & Cold shower, safety box. Our nice Vietnamese restaurant serving a variety of buffet breakfast with both local Vietnamese food, Hanoi typical food and also many Western Cuisine. Guest should try also our many kind of Rice Noodle soups and vermicelli noodles and a lot of kind of Vietnamese food made by our skilled chef and cook team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunshine 2
Sunshine 2 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Citadelle de Hanoi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.