We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Embellie - CLOSED

L'Embellie
49, Trieu Viet Vuong, Hai Ba Trung, Hanoi 99999, Vietnam
+84 4 3943 0717
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An oasis of peace and silence, right in the heart of Hanoi, L'Embellie offers its patrons the very best of Parisian cuisine and art de vivre. The fully renovated colonial building in the French district proves to be a perfect venue to provide a unique experience, from healthy & light to the wallet lunch to a romantic exquisite diner, from quiet business a-la-carte treat to special occasions celebration.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

The place is closed. One of my friend recommanded this place for me. The outside looks nice but inside nothing!
The pictures of the food looks so great, like french classic cuisine. What's the pity!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding presentation, good food, quiet environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The presentation is outstanding and the staff extremely attentionate. The restaurant has a Japanese-style touch: there's a bilingual English+Vietnamese sign poster outside, and the boss obviously aims at Japanese standards of quality of service, including cleanliness. Quiet atmosphere, very relaxing.
The food is good, though a colleague said the beef was a little tough.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Recommended!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

What's great is that restaurant changes it's set lunch menu every week, I keep on trying new things and I've never been disappointed!

Also, wine by the glass list is rather impressive, with seven different wines to chose from (though only French wines) and Stephane is always happy to give us advice.

The building is beautiful, food is delicious, ideal for a peaceful diner!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our great experience at L'Embellie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Following the great reviews posted by my fellow Australians, the four of us had dinner at L'Embellie.

We were looking forward to it after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! The place is fantastic!

Genuine French food, cooked to perfection by a French chef and served by smiling young staff (knowledgable and who spoke english very well).

The highlight of the meal was the Foie Gras consommé. It was incredibly delicate and subtle. The beef Rossini was also perfectly cooked (tender and juicy, and it was no surprise that the meat came from Australia).

Deserts looked rather tempting, but we were so full by then that we will surely pay another visit to test them ...

In regards to the wine, Stephane, the French maitre d', convinced us to try a Bordeaux which was a lot more affordable that the Burgundy which we were considering... A rare surprise in a restaurant that the sommelier doesn't try to up sell, but rather gives you sound advice on the right pairing.

We were in a culinary heaven for the three hours we spent at l'Embellie, a real rarity in Hanoi.

Obviously, we highly recommend the place.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ate there with friend who wants to eat french food. The starters were good if not more. The main in comparaison were almost tastless. When the dishes come you can tell there's been work behind our dishes were cook to perfection but the lack of taste killed it. Stephane the maitre d' doing a good job. To sum it up. Good atmosphere, great service, nice presentation but not much flavours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Embellie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Embellie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.