We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful (and delicious) oasis among the hustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Embellie

L'Embellie
49, Trieu Viet Vuong, Hai Ba Trung, Hanoi 99999, Vietnam
+84 4 3943 0717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 939 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $14 - $60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An oasis of peace and silence, right in the heart of Hanoi, L'Embellie offers its patrons the very best of Parisian cuisine and art de vivre. The fully renovated colonial building in the French district proves to be a perfect venue to provide a unique experience, from healthy & light to the wallet lunch to a romantic exquisite diner, from quiet business a-la-carte treat to special occasions celebration.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful (and delicious) oasis among the hustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved this little restaurant! It was a great retreat from the hustle and bustle outside. We came across it when searching for lunch, and loved it so much we returned for dinner. The service was wonderful and the food absolutely delicious. Everything is crisp and clean, and the attention to detail was great (including little touches of adding lime to our water, and delicious crostinis at the table while we perused the menu). I would recommend this restaurant to anyone coming through Hanoi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Traditional French - like an average country auberge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Three of us went here for dinner. The service was somewhat over attentive as for a lot of the time we were the only guests. The menu is, as was repeatedly pointed out, traditional French and not fusion, but also it is not nouvelle. Food and tastes have moved on from the 1950's and whilst the food here was generally good quality, my tastes had long moved beyond it's relative stodginess.
We chose a rillette starter, one of the only dishes with salad, and goat cheese on toast. Both were reasonable but not outstanding. The mains were guinea fowl and tournedos Rossini. The guinea fowl was a little overdone and therefore dry and the medium rare tournedos more medium than medium rare. The vegetables were traditional and therefore overcooked, stodgy and fairly tasteless. I noticed that my companions never ate them. The desserts of Apple tart and profiteroles with ice cream were very good.
The lunch menu looked better than the dinner one and is maybe worth a try, but in my view L'Embellie is not in the same class as La Badiane or Didier Courlou's restaurants and for steak I would continue to go to Jackson's where the equally French chef is more delicate and modern in his food style.
Grandma, were she still alive, would love L'Embellie, as it is the traditional French food she grew up with, but I fear for many of us it is just too old fashioned, heavy and lacking in taste.
The prices are in the same class as those superior restaurants mentioned above and therefore added a bit to my slight disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Three of us had an excellent evening celebrating a birthday. The food and drinks were great, as was the hospitality from Stephane and his wife - from the start (great aperitif recommendations) to the end (patiently entertaining two of us while the other went back to the hotel for the forgotten credit card!). The building itself is beautiful with a lovely ambience. Highly recommended and we would love to return when we next visit Hanoi!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A new restaurant in Hanoi. I like La Badiane and L'Embellie is right up there! With the important differential that the cuisine is traditional French.

Decor and presentation is first class and the staff (owners) were the perfect hosts.
Portions are generous and absolutely delicious. The duck and profiteroles were to die for. Do yourself a favour and try. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Art of food and art of interior decoration with special Lacquer Ware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It took me sometime to come to the restaurant after being recommended by a friend. But when we came there (2 German friends and me), we were immediately impressed by how nicely the interior decoration was arranged: right from the entrance, beautiful art lacquer ware and cabinet with very special designs and quality (totally different from traditional lacquer ware I have ever seen) caught our eyes with elegant arrangement of the owner. It is really art! Everything fits so well in such a beautiful, quiet French style building which you can hardly find in busy Hanoi.
The food is awesome! Together with the professional yet very friendly service provided by the restaurant owner, we had a very nice and special evening there. It was worth coming!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Embellie also viewed

 

Been to L'Embellie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Embellie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.