We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room, Unhelpful Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tourist Hotel
49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 490 hotels in Hanoi
New York/Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dirty Room, Unhelpful Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Our room was not yet ready when we arrived, so we dropped our bags and they told us it would be cleaned. When we returned, there was a blood stain in the tub, and hair and dirt all over the shower curtain. And the floor in the room itself was still dirty.

The staff was only helpful to the point that they could profit from it. At first they tried to avoid giving us information about vans to the airport, so that we would buy a taxi radi from them. Later, when we had convinced them that we would not take a taxi, they gave us the wrong van timetable and my friend almost missed her flight.

And the breakfast was terrible.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The people.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine_hotel_group, Manager at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2008
After the house-keeping clean a room, our front desk staff will check to make sure it is cleaned before let our customers check-in. I am surely say that our staff are very friendly and helpful and they have never had bad action as you said. Please check again if you have stayed in a right hotel because our hotel is quite popular in Hanoi so taxi driver usually bring you to another hotel but still tell you that is Classic hotel and that hotel staff even sometime make a copy name and stick on their hotel's door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

I stayed for five nights at the Classic 2 while travelling in and around the north of Vietnam. I booked a deluxe room which was huge and really beautifully decorated with high ceilings and heavy teak furniture. It also had a big balcony overlooking the admittedly noisy street. The staff at the hotel were really nice and always helpful. Anytime a problem did arise, (the cable tv went at one stage), they sent someone up immediately to fix the problem. Overall I found the hotel really good and much better than alot of the other hotels in the old quarter. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

We stayed here for our time in Hanoi and were rapt with the place. The staff were very friendly and nice. Rooms were large and clean. The tour booking service in the foyer was spot on. They organised our Halong Bay and Tam Coc tours as well as transfers to Hue and accom in Hue.

Going back to Vietnam and staying there again.

Location in the Old Quarter was great. 50m to the Bier Hoi corner!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed at Classic 2 Hotel November 25th; on our way to the Airport the next day my wife discovered she left her ear rings in our room. The hotel staff sent out a second Taxi and delivered the ear rings to her well in time before our flight.

This is very safe place, friendly staff, very big room, lighting with luxury Chinese style furniture. We would recommend you to this hotel. They have only 10 rooms so you should book ahead.

Fritz and Louise
Banff, Alberta Canada

  • Liked — Clean room and big balcony
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

We didn’t take the Ngoc Minh Hotel room booked and prepaid through a travel company in Hanoi in Dec 2006, so we walked to the one next door which was the Classic 2 Hotel at 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen Street in the Old Quarter.

The room we viewed was acceptable. We asked how much. The staff asked “How much do you pay over there?”

We said “US$17”.

The staff said “This is $17, too.” We happily checked in.

Our room was on the 1st floor (room 101) so the fact that hotel had no elevator didn’t bother us. From our room we heard the sound of people talking on the ground floor where the Reception Counter was.

The room size was 5m x 5m. After cutting 2.7m x 2.1m for toilet, the remaining area was an L shape which was spacious.

The air con worked well. There was no carpet but 2 pairs of plastic slippers could help our feet from being cold. The double bed was small with old style blanket. My spouse felt itchy the next day but I didn’t. There was a tea table with 2 chairs, 1 writing table near the window overlooking the lobby, 1 separate standing clothes hanger, another tall furniture set for you to hang clothes, TV, refrigerator, bath tub, 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, 1 hair dryer, soap, shampoo, cotton buds, 2 toothbrush sets. They printed in English “Push up for hot water” in the switch in toilet.

The staff was showing interest when we asked for information. They told us how much we would pay if we took a taxi to Gia Lam Bus Station for going to Thai Nguyen Province. There were 2 computers near the entrance for free internet for hotel guests. Next to that was the Tour Desk. Around 5am guests came in and out so the staff woke up. His mattress was placed in the middle of the Reception room. After serving he came back to sleep.

Breakfast area was surprisingly nice compared with the tired room. There was air-con, fan, a big mirror on wall, table cloth and glass, flower vase, tissue. Free simple breakfast.

We checked in by chance and later we remembered we read not positive comments about this hotel in the Vietnam forum. Our stay was ok. The room was old but clean. The biggest problem was a small cockroach was seen at night when I sat in the toilet.

Many hotels are around here within this budget. If you have to stay at this hotel I think you can do better than $17.


Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tourist Hotel, a new beautiful Oriental downtown hotel in Hanoi, blends oriental luxury accommodations with intuitive service. Discover the many fun touches setting us far, far apart from the other boutique hotels in the Old Quarter neighborhood of Hanoi. At the ideally location, nestled between the 36 Hanoi Old Street and the center of Hanoi Tourist attraction, the Marriotte hotel offers guests a true city experience without the hassle. Our guests can enjoy most of famous attractions just close by the hotel, such as: Hoan Kiem Lake (2 minute-walking); discover the Opera House, Water Puppet Theater, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex, the War Museum, and Temple of Literature; look for bargains at the Dong Xuan Market and experience shopping in the bustling atmosphere of the Old Quarter or spending the afternoon strolling along the shores of nearby lakes.The tourist hotel is Hanoi Old Quarter's luxury boutique hotel featuring 16 uniquely lavish designed with oriental stylish. Located in the heart of the Old Quarter, being close to all famous attractions and near to all travel hot spots, the tourist Hotel provides all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business, for pleasure, or for both. The tourist offers guests a true outlet to relieve the stresses of life.Just let our engaging staff know what you'd like to do or see, eat or drink, what you need in your room for work or play, or how you'd like to spend your time in Hanoi-----, and we'll handle the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic 2 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.