We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this 'hotel'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tourist Hotel to your Saves list
The Tourist Hotel
49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this 'hotel'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Upon arrival, we were bombarded with questions about plans, when we told them that we like to explore for ourselves, we were met with a cold reception, curiously, for the duration of our stay. We were told we were 'upgraded' which was great, however later that day were told if someone else books the upgraded room, that we would have to move rooms, which defeats the object of an upgrade really. Air con leaky and faulty. Walls damp and smelly. Bathroom dirty & smelly Very noisy as balcony door didn't actually close. Full days power cut, were told to "go for a walk" during thunderstorms (ridiculous) Female staff very disinterested - one in particular only smiles when trying to sell you something. No sense of customer service whatsoever. Avoid this 'hotel'.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khanh D, Owner at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review for Hanoi Marriotte Hotel. Being a mini hotel in Old Quarter of Hanoi, we always try our best to bring our customer good service. And, we have been always pursuing our outlined commitment.
Firstly, about the staff, we have a young team with enthusiasm for serving guests. There may exit misunderstanding here. Anyway, We really sorry about your feeling of staff's attitude. Mini hotel like us can not control electricity supplied, it is managed by local electricity company. When power was cut off, it is hotter inside the hotel so the girl recommend you to go out for better condition.
Secondly, about our room and facilities, there were some problem like damp walls... mainly affected by thunderstorm. Absolutely, We would like to appologize for your inconvinience. We always look forward to hearing all complaints from you during your stay so we can support you prior to your check-out. There was a guy get trouble with his room and we were willing to bring up a fan and discount his room price.
As some reviews you can see in Tripadvisor, rooms with bacony are a litter bit noisy because the old strest is crowded. Someone likes that but others not. We recommend the room toward the back for one who like quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
20
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Österreich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before leaving Vietnam, I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in Hanoi. Located in the centre of old town everything you need is within walking distance. The stuff is young and really motivated to help you with all your problems. The rooms are really big with aircon, in mine was also a fridge and a TV. More than I needed. And all that you get for a really fair price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a great basic find! We booked with booking.com prior to arriving from the airport- please be aware of the airport taxi hotel scam! We hopped into a branded taxi with a meter and all was fine until the driver took us to a random Travel Agency and not our hotel. A guy with a clipboard saying 'Hanoi Marriotte' came out and told us our hotel was booked out but not to worry as they would take us to another Hotel "No problem". We knew of this scam and refused to get out of the taxi until they took us to the correct hotel which of course wasn't booked out!
Once we arrived we were greeted by the Hanoi Marriotte team- a lovely bunch of young Vietnamese people who are very happy to help with any travel arrangements. Our air con in the room didn't work, but they brought up a fan and discounted our room price. They allowed us to leave our bags and to shower when we returned for the day before getting on the night train to Sapa. Really good breakfast included. Basic facilities but clean and comfortable. Great location right in the hub of the Old Town-- you can walk to the Water Puppets, night markets, HoChiMinh Mausoleum etc etc. All in all - a great budget option in Hanoi.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are their deluxe rooms as they have a balcony facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here twice a year for past ten years its been over a year since last visit
used to be classic 2 now a new name better as there are at least 6 other classic+ hotels in hanoi can cause confusion.
great central location right in middle of old quarter
positive - great staff always helpful some need to improve their english but they try
small hotel so book ahead only 12 rooms but ones at front fantastic (102/202/302 ect) huge two double beds with asian furniture very atmospheric can be noisy as there are 2 beer hoes on the corner but generally fairly peaceful considering proximity to street hotel could get double glazing but OK noise is expected . Very light and a view
On the negative no lift rooms long walk to room 502 / internet good
Old hotel could use a paint and also maintaince can be a problem . We were with friends so booked six rooms and when room 202 took a shower it ran down into 102 light fitting this took week to fix also aircon in 302 has always been not the best.
Tour desk in foyer for Sapa or Haloing bay tours
Breakfast Ok bread and eggs and coffee but many local restaurants near by
Overall still consider this hotel very fondly and a good place to stay in Hanoi

Room Tip: rooms starting with 2 are at the front by far the best huge and light doors to balcony starting wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In our opinion the best hotel in hanoi based on these criteria: location, price and staff.

We stayed here for 8 days, our room was nice, clean and had a balcony towards the street. The staff were impeccable, simply the best.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Included breakfast with a few options to choose from. The staff were quite friendly and even upgraded us to a quieter room the second night. When booking ask to sleep facing off the street as it is busy and horns are going all night! Would stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this hotel is very good
pro
-valuable price
-good location
-friendly receptionist
-near market
-near a nice crossroad with cheap beers

con
-no elevator, use stair only

if i have a chance to go to Hanoi again, i'll choose Hanoi Marriotte Hotel first!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tourist Hotel, a new beautiful Oriental downtown hotel in Hanoi, blends oriental luxury accommodations with intuitive service. Discover the many fun touches setting us far, far apart from the other boutique hotels in the Old Quarter neighborhood of Hanoi. At the ideally location, nestled between the 36 Hanoi Old Street and the center of Hanoi Tourist attraction, the Marriotte hotel offers guests a true city experience without the hassle. Our guests can enjoy most of famous attractions just close by the hotel, such as: Hoan Kiem Lake (2 minute-walking); discover the Opera House, Water Puppet Theater, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex, the War Museum, and Temple of Literature; look for bargains at the Dong Xuan Market and experience shopping in the bustling atmosphere of the Old Quarter or spending the afternoon strolling along the shores of nearby lakes.The tourist hotel is Hanoi Old Quarter's luxury boutique hotel featuring 16 uniquely lavish designed with oriental stylish. Located in the heart of the Old Quarter, being close to all famous attractions and near to all travel hot spots, the tourist Hotel provides all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business, for pleasure, or for both. The tourist offers guests a true outlet to relieve the stresses of life.Just let our engaging staff know what you'd like to do or see, eat or drink, what you need in your room for work or play, or how you'd like to spend your time in Hanoi-----, and we'll handle the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic 2 Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.